We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bonner Garden Bed and Breakfast

Bonner Garden Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Antonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bonner Garden Bed and Breakfast
145 East Agarita Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78212 (Midtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 48 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Alto
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We really enjoyed our visit to Bonner Garden B&B. The place was just beautiful and the hosts were amazing. The breakfast was great, the bed comfy, and it was definitely worth every penny. I must say, if we return to San Antonio, we will stay on the River Walk. I hated the traffic and driving in SA, and the river was very relaxing and I liked the idea of not having to drive. Depending on what you are going for, this place is a really great place to stay. Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    9
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
33
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

In planning our trip to San Antonio we decided to avoid the crowded Riverwalk area and find a comfortable B&B a short distance north of downtown. Are we ever glad we did!

We have stayed in many B&Bs in our travels, but Bonner Garden provided our best experience ever. The classically beautiful building is located in a quiet, safe neighborhood, between downtown and the airport. The hosts, Margi and Jim, provide many amenities, including an excellent full breakfast, a pleasant garden, a rooftop deck, a cozy covered patio, and a large swimming pool (in season). They are welcoming, attentive, and helpful to their guests, and possess encyclopedic knowledge of San Antonio and vicinity.

There’s no need to venture downtown for dinner, either, as the superb La Fonda on Main is just a few blocks away, serving fine Mexican cuisine, with seating indoors or in a lovely courtyard. Caution: La Fonda’s from-scratch frozen margaritas go down very nicely, especially on a warm evening after a day of sightseeing.

We highly recommend Bonner Garden and its hosts, and will certainly return there on our next trip to San Antonio.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

This was our first experience with a B&B and still three weeks later I am missing the ambience and the genuine caring of Margi and Jim plus the great breakfasts. The rooms are lovely and have a selection of antiques.
We found that we met such interesting people over breakfast who were always ready to share their experiences. Since we were two senior ladies from Canada we did not bother with a car and found the bus system excellent to get to all the museums, missions etc. Lovely polite drivers always ready to help.

Room Tip: Each room has it's individual style but we chose the Bridal suite since we were staying for two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobbs, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We chose to stay here based on the food which is found among the information on their website but we found that the Bonner House is so much more than just great food. Excellent hosts who pride themselves on making your stay a memorable experience, Jim and Margi are an absolute pleasure to meet and interact with.
We've found our getaway spot in San Antonio and can't wait to get back and stay with them again. This historic home is well-appointed and comfortable with modern facilities but still charming in a way that only a turn of the century home can be. Prepare yourself to be pleasantly pleased by staying with them.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Bonner Garden B and B is a lovely, historical home, beautifully kept, very quiet, comfortable and clean. It is a pleasant "eye feast," inside and out. Margi is much more than a mere innkeeper. She is a caring, charming and interesting lady. My last visit was the end of a delayed connection from an international trip. I was exhausted but found myself, once more, in good care. Now a stay at Bonner is more like visiting my good friend who cooks my breakfast, and this time, providing me with a most interesting dining "partner," an archaeologist with a project in Greece from the time of Augustus Caesar. I shall return!

Carol C.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011 via mobile

Fabulous innkeepers, friendly, on top of everything, good social hosts.

Artist Mary Bonner built the house at the turn of the century with a detached print studio and her art still hangs in the home as well in fine art galleries in the city. The home also later belonged to the Grose family who were pioneers in area banking. The grounds are beautiful, organic and typical of this historical wealthy neighborhood with a 40 foot lapping pool on one side.

As for location, techinically this is Olmos Park, Texas, not San Antonio and has its own fire, police and city council government making it a far more safe area than other parts of the greater city environment.

The historical part of the city, San Antonio de Bexar settled by Spanish land grant immigrants in the late 1700's is located just down the street a mile or so from the Bonner Garden B & B and certainly is time well spent there. Highly recommended are visits to the Alamo and a driving tour of the six area restored Spanish missions south of the city. Be sure to photograph the famous Rose Window at one of the missions.

Just a few blocks north on McCullough Ave, which the facility faces, you will find hair and nail salons, the French Bistro Bakery at the Olmos traffic circle as well as the McCullough Grill, the French Bisro Vatel, an Italian cafe Caio and a handy gas station. It is just a great home base area to stay in here.

Of course the rooms are historically furnished in period, some large with fireplace and jacuzzi, some small and cozy. All rooms have wifi internet and cable tv and interestingly a vcr with a great video cd library of movies and a decent print library.

I should also mention that on the roof there is a deck with a buena vista of downtown city and the environs Grab an always available glass of red or white wine the hosts provide and get up on the roof deck and chill with the view!

There are other b & b areas in the city but none with the sophistication and hospitality off Bonner, thanks to Margie and Jim the host inkeepers. Incidentally Margi deserves the title of Baking Chef! The girl is fab.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylor, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

If you are looking for a nice, clean, & quiet place to stay in San Antonio, this is the place! Margi the owner is very nice. It's definitely a nice place to stay if you are on your honeymoon or want to celebrate an anniversary. My husband and I have stayed there twice now and plan to go back again eventually.

Room Tip: The Bridal Suite does contain a two-person Jacuzzi tub which is nice after a day of sightseeing arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bonner Garden Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonner Garden Bed and Breakfast

Address: 145 East Agarita Avenue, San Antonio, TX 78212
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Midtown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Monte Vista Historical District is a magnificent two-story, award-winning Italian Villa surrounded by lush gardens, a 45-foot swimming pool and a full rooftop patio which overlooks downtown San Antonio. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonner Garden Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bonner Garden Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list