We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, free parking, takes some work -” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Noble Inns - Aaron Pancoast Carriage House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Antonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Noble Inns - Aaron Pancoast Carriage House
102 Turner Street, San Antonio, TX 78204 (Arsenal)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 47 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Seattle
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good location, free parking, takes some work -”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The Carriage House has 3 bedrooms - don't rent any on the top floor as they take work on your part. The room was nice in that it had a fireplace, central a/c set at 72, small TV, antique furniture, and a ceiling fan - but being in a built out attic also meant you had to bend a lot, stoop, and when showering perform aerobics to not slip and fall. Overall it was a good value, we got a full breakfast across at the Oge house, the location next to the River Walk was fabulous, the staff was o.k. - definitely not 4 star - we left $5 for housekeeping the first & second night and also asked for a bar of soap and more shampoo conditioner - didn't get either and had to go to a local store to pick up some soap - not very nice....
Recommendations:
If you have any condition that makes it difficult for you to bend or balance do not get a room upstairs, or one with a claw foot tub unless you are taking a bath, as it is awkward to shower with the roof line cutting down into the tub.
Great if you have a family and want to rent the two top rooms, you would then have a nice area to yourself - with a small kitchen and stove top - note they do not let children eat at the other house.
Riverwalk is great - it;s just a short stroll to the center of activity, use it to get back and forth
Wander the neighborhood - beautiful Historical Homes
Ask for extra soap & shampoo on check in (if staying more than 2 nights) as this is not refreshed.
Special Diet - we didn't request any but now would ask for Heart Healthy as the food is good, but heavy on fat & sugar (i.e. grapefruit baked with brown sugar, baked egg dishes with lots of cheese) They did serve fresh fruit with yogurt which was great but we would of liked just a slice of toast with plain scramble or more fresh fruit -

The other houses would definitely give you more of a B & B feel, the Carriage house is just an extra area built around a garage - serves it's purpose but really very simple and plain.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms upstairs at the Carriage house if stairs are difficult for you, if you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    2
    3
    3
    9
See reviews for
7
13
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orchard Park, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I'm not sure who these past positive reviews were written by but do not, I repeat do not, believe them. The website pictures and the actual B&B in no way represent what this place actually is like. This place is both highly expensive and awful at so many levels. It is rated as 4-diamond ... I have no idea how that happened but as many of the reviews mention, this is a 1 or 2-star diamond at best. If you want to pay top dollar for what is basically college dorm room quality, then by all means this is the place for you. Where do we start? How about with the mold in these ancient showers? It is both disgusting and a health hazard. The B&B manager will minimize it and tell you it's not a problem but it is. Next up are the appliances ... everything is highly used, scratched, old, damaged, and overall dirty. The stovetop has scratches and holes in it. The microwave is a sewer pit. There are loose tiles in the kitchen floor and the refrigerator is about 40 years old. Next on the hit parade are the bed covers ... if you like stains on them you got 'em. All over, all different colors, disgusting and totally unidentifiable. You don’t even want to guess what they are. Next on the hit parade is the hot tub. The good news is they have one. The bad is it doesn't heat. Minor nit I guess if you like a cold hot tub. Next, the decor is atrocious and hasn't been updated in about 40+ years. Last is the manager herself. She was in no way service oriented, friendly, accommodating or helpful.

The disappointment is that this could be a nice place if the owner kept the place up ... which she has not. It needs a new floor, new appliances, updated kitchen, overhaul on the showers, new furnishings and a paint job. Also fix the hot tub. And hire a manager that has a sense of customer service.

Without being too negative, I would point out 2 positives … the B&B is conveniently located to the riverwalk (not on it as the website suggests, but a convenient walk which we didn’t mind). Second is the food. I know some of the reviewers based it but I think it has improved. Absolutely not 4-diamond level but acceptable breakfasts were served.

In summary, we have stayed at 4-diamond facilities before and in comparison the Nobel Inns Carriage House isn’t even the same universe. It’s a below budget facility that should be ashamed of themselves for gouging customers for 4-diamond prices and delivering a budget product of which I’ve not seen before.

Room Tip: Stay at another B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We just spent one night here but will definitely come back. The Carriage House has a common kitchen and living area with three bedrooms off of it. We had room 2 which was very well decorated and comfortable.

Breakfast was in the big house and was really good.

Can't wait to come back and stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed 3 nights and property conveniently located. However, this property is not of the same calibre as Oge & Jackson within Noble Inns. While the concept of having a shared lounging area and kitchen is good the property can definitely use some TLC. The stove has well outlived its' useful life and the stove top is unappealing in appearance. The television is antique. The bathroom is cramped due to the sloped ceiling and an old tub has been preserved but it results in a very awkward shower arrangement with a shower curtain that is literally wrapped around you. Also, the patio leading to the to the staircase is uneven and dangerous in the dark. The swimming pool was not usable due to leaves in the water.
The owner and innkeeper are friendly and helpful. The breakfast was varied each day and very good. As no children in the party we had breakfast with Oge and Jackson guests which was appreciated.

Room Tip: If you feel at all confined in tighter spaces this property will not appeal in view of sloped walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

For a quick Labor Day getaway weekend, we stayed at the Carriage. We loved it. The breakfast was wonderful, my sweetheart fell in love with the coffee! The location was perfect. We were able to get around on foot to many of the hot spots in the area. The Carriage house was nice and private with a pool in the back. We had a lovely weekend and plan to come back again in the spring!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The service at this private B & B was outstanding. Fresh orange juice and milk in the refrigerator every morning. We checked out on Wednesday morning but they let us park our car there all day Wednesday and let me sit up on the front porch and read while my girlfriend was in a class. The location is perfect, a quiet tree lined street with the Riverwalk out the back door so easy access into downtown San Antonio by walking. The amenites of a private pool and hot tub were wonderful after a long day. I simply cannot say enough good things about this place.

Room Tip: We stayed in the carraige house on the ground floor - great privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We love to stay at the carriage house when we head to San Antonio for business or a get away. The (almost) private swimming pool is decadent. We love the privacy and the quiet peacefulness of this place.
We also like to travel with gourmet food, wine and mixers and the convenience of having a full Kitchen is terrific. Also, parking your car in a private driveway keeps it handy without the constant tipping of valet service and day rate parking garages...this alone is worth it .

The carriage house is located in the historic King William District neighborhood that is a short walk to the Riverwalk and the best restaurants are all nearby.

The carriage house is not new and trendy. If you like the comfort of home away from home, you will truly relax in this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Noble Inns - Aaron Pancoast Carriage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noble Inns - Aaron Pancoast Carriage House

Address: 102 Turner Street, San Antonio, TX 78204
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Arsenal , East Side
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aaron Pancoast Carriage House is one of Noble Inns properties and is located across the street from the Riverwalk in downtown San Antonio's King William Historic District. It features three luxurious suites, all with private marble baths, including one with a jacuzzi tub. An outdoor swimming pool and heated spa are located in the garden. Guests with children of any age are welcome. All suites have a full kitchen and dining area, and sofa beds can accommodate additional guests or children. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Noble Inns - Aaron Pancoast Carriage House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Noble Inns - Aaron Pancoast Carriage House to your Saves list