We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect setting, great rom” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A Yellow Rose Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added A Yellow Rose Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
A Yellow Rose Bed and Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   229 Madison, San Antonio, TX 78204 (Arsenal)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 48 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect setting, great rom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We have stayed in many B&Bs and so I think we have a pretty high expectation. We were so pleased with the room we had at Yellow Rose. It was SO big it felt like home! We were impressed at how well we could travel around San Antonio and look forward to a comfortable night back at the Yellow Rose. My wife has difficulty sleeping at times when we are on the road but she was very pleased with the bed - firm enough to allow a great night sleep. Walking around the neighborhood was one of the highlights of our trip. Beautiful blooming flowers all around the house added to the warmth of this B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    20
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
7
79
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

A Yellow Rose B&B is located in a lovely neighborhood within walking/ super short ride to everything you want to do in San Antonio. My room and service were exceptional and I highly recommend this spot. Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I travel to San Antonio 1x or 2x a year. When possible I stay at the Yellow Rose. I love the quiet elegance and the reprieve from the River Walk crowds. The location is perfect. It is a short walk to the convention center, a shorter walk to the "trolley" system that will take you several popular spots, and in the charming King William district with all the galleries and eateries. The separate entrance and free parking are just frosting on the cake.

Why stay in a "cube" when you can in a room that is full of charm?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Fabulous location by the River Walk with great little restaurants nearby. Other reviewers have commented that this is a nice walking neighborhood; that's right. Innkeeper Deb aims to please. Quirky rooms, decor and facility wise. On and off street parking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights. Located in the King William neighbourhood the surrounding streets contain so many great Victorian mansions that most visitors to San Antonio probably never get to see - yet it's an easy stroll into downtown along the Riverside Walk. There are also some great little gems to eat in round the neigbourhood - Feast being the highlight - as recommended by our hosts. Really one of the best meals we've ever had on our travels. The Yellow Rose provided comfy accommodation - nice bedding and ensuite. Great little base for the City.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed just one night here before flying out of San Antonio. What I liked best about the inn: 1) We had an early morning flight and knew we would have no time for a B&B breakfast. This inn offers the option of no breakfast, a continental breakfast in the room, for a little more money, and a delivered full breakfast at a higher price. I can't speak to the breakfasts because we didn't partake. The rooms do have mini-fridges and they provided a french press pot, ground coffee and milk, (nice touch). 2) I loved the porches overlooking the little urban courtyard garden, and that was another reason I chose this inn. I believe each room has its own private entrance, and I loved sitting on the porch outside our room listening to the birds. 3) The King William historical neighborhood is great, with wonderful houses. You are also quite close to picking up the RiverWalk, and it's a really nice walk along there to downtown. We enjoyed the Friendly Spot Ice House, an outdoor bar just a few blocks away.

With the private room entrances, this is a good inn for independent minded guests, and it makes you feel a little bit like you just live in the neighborhood, which I like. Our room (Bordeaux) was large and comfortable. A spare blanket would have been nice (I'm sure they would have provided one had we asked, but this occurred to us fairly late), but the room was well heated so it turned out not to be a problem. I could hear a little noise from the room above, but generally the inn was quiet, and if that is bothersome (it was not to me), I suggest selecting an upstairs room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We found our recent stay at the Yellow Rose B & B to be quite nice. The location is GREAT. We opted out of breakfeast due to pricing and impersonality. Our room was a good value at $120 per night, but a continental breakfast (yogurt, juice and lemon bread) was not. We found a delightful tea room right around the corner that was much better and more filling (THE MADHATTER) or opt for GUENTHER HOUSE, which is about two blocks away. We stayed for five and got no break on our room. The host, Deb, said they offered several breakfast options delivered to your room (at additional costs). We are used to breakfast being included, thus the name B & B, and look forward to speaking with other guests in the dining room at an appointed hour. With interaction of others, one gets an idea of what to do, where to go, eat, attractions, etc., which we have always found helpful. I will say the room was comfortable and King William Historic district is the place to stay. We walked ALOT, but that was okay! I would recommend maybe 2-3 days in San Antonio, 5 is really too many, at least without a car!

Room Tip: We stayed in a downstair room and heard every footfall upstairs, all night long! An upstair room may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to A Yellow Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Yellow Rose Bed and Breakfast

Address: 229 Madison, San Antonio, TX 78204
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Arsenal , East Side
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — A Yellow Rose Bed and Breakfast 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of the rooms have the same rate choices. Rates are based on breakfast. We offer a full breakfast delivered to your room or a continental breakfast. Rates are competitive with those offered at other inns in the area. A discounted rate is available for guests who do not want breakfast. This rate does include coffee, tea and juice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your A Yellow Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A Yellow Rose Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.