We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably Priced Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bin 555 Restaurant and Wine Bar

Bin 555 Restaurant and Wine Bar
555 W Bitters Rd, Ste 110, San Antonio, TX 78216-7972 (Far North Central)
210-496-0555
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #831 of 4,090 restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Far North Central
Baton Rouge, Louisiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Reasonably Priced Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

A friend and I had lunch at Bin 555 and, believe it or not, I had the grilled cheese and soup. I really enjoyed it-better than I expected. The restaurant is kind of hard to find since it is tucked away in a shopping area called "The Alley" which is, realistically, and alley! I think it is worth the hunt and will go back for dinner.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    9
    11
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good service, food good, value fair”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The menu was unique, but the food didn't quite live up to the expectation. The pumpkin pizza was supposed to have a "subtle" pumpkin flavor, but I didn't taste it at all. The pizza was good, but no pumpkin flavor. The other food we had was also good, but not exceptional for the price. Therefore, the issue is more with value than quality.

Service was great. Our server was very patient, was knowledgeable about the menu and the wines. Wines by the glass were good. Price for wines was a much better value than the food.

The ambiance was much more casual than I expected after reviewing the website. Parking is tricky, but signage is good, so it's not too hard to figure out. I would go back again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Christmas Eve set menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We opted to dine out for Christmas Eve and had a lovely meal. Cozy bistro setting with delicious food. Unlike regular nights, it was a set five course menu. Every course was beautifully presented and the flavors did not disappoint. Delicious. We did not opt to o the wine pairings, instead opting to order a bottle. Wine selection is fantastic.

We brought our five year old daughter and they made her a special child's meal. The staff were very accommodating and very attentive.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Tucked away in the back corner of The Alley on Bitters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

A wine bar bistro with a unique menu listing very few items. The portions were small but very good. We had the Salmon and enjoyed every bite. For dessert we had the Taste of Citrus which was a variety of all things citrus with lemon pound cake toasted in butter, Yum.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful selection of wines and wonderful, tasy, unique food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We attended during an afternoon to enjoy a nice glass of wine and some tapas. The scallop and potato cakes were so delicious; fennel sauce topped off a great dish. We also enjoyed a wonderful cheese plate. The atmosphere is really nice and relaxing; would be nice for a romantic dinner or group dinner party. I love this place!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bin 555 Restaurant and Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Bin 555 Restaurant and Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bin 555 Restaurant and Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.