We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISCUSTING” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn San Antonio/Near Lackland AFB

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn San Antonio/Near Lackland AFB to your Saves list
Days Inn San Antonio/Near Lackland AFB
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6815 Highway 90 West, San Antonio, TX 78227   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Billings
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“DISCUSTING”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Find a diffrent hotel. Dirty Carpet, Chipped up furniture. Dirty bathroom. Flatscreen TV with out Digital or local stations that are clear. the A/C is comming apart. the staff is good and friendly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneveve V, Director of Sales at Days Inn San Antonio/Near Lackland AFB, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Gregory,

Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the cleanliness and condition of the room. We will personally work with our maintenance and housekeeping staff to create a more efficient preventive maintenance to help prevents issues such as yours. At this time, we are currently working to improve and update the overall appearance in our rooms within the next few months. We hope that you will give us another chance at our hotel in the future. Should you decide to stay with us, please feel free to contact me so that I can ensure you have a problem free stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    44
    43
    34
    19
See reviews for
135
11
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The staff was very nice and tried to make things right. I'm sure they are not responsible for the up keep of the property. We were there for Basic Training Graduation as this property is very short distance from the entrance to the Base. Yes, the room has flat screen and some updates like the bedding and shower curtain and rod. But maybe some new paint or clean the walls would be in order. The funiture was old and scratched up. We looked at 3 rooms, all about the same condition, except 1 smelled very bad. Carpet need to go to the dump, and install new.
As a gold card member of Wyndham Rewards, I haved stayed in several hotels/motels with a 3 rating. If this is a 3 then you need a new system.

Room Tip: Try; Best Western Plus Atrea Hotel & Suites Very close to the other entrance of the base. 36...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneveve V, Director of Sales at Days Inn San Antonio/Near Lackland AFB, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Ccinema,

Thank you for your feedback. We sincerely apologize for the cleanliness and condition of the room. We will personally work with our maintenance and housekeeping staff to create a more efficient preventive maintenance to help prevents issues such as yours. At this time, we are currently working to improve and update the overall appearance in our rooms within the next few months. We hope that you will give us another chance at our hotel in the future. Should you decide to stay with us, please feel free to contact me so that I can ensure you have a problem free stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

/We stayed here Nov 6-10th. jWe were greeted by the hotel staff. We opened our door and the room stank, we sprayed perfume al over the carpet. My friend went to take a shower because it was a long drive from Pa. No hot water. He husband went to complain, he said the guy got upset with him " I had put a work order for it." Then Why give us that room if it had no hot water? He gave a room key for next door so we could use the shower. wh should of mooved our selves into that room. We went out to eat and it was fixed by the time we got back. Next morning , No hot water again.! they changed up to a new room and everything was great after that.the night before I went down to talk to the 3-11 clerk. I could not hook up my tablet. I asked if he could try being young and more computer alert than me. We got to talking. His name is Jacobi. with his help got the tablet working. I explained my wanting to do the natural bridge canopy challange and need to find a way there & back as my friend will have the car on base. He offered to take me. we went on Sunday and he showed me iinteresting sight of San Antonio. I talked him into trying the challange with me. We had a blast

Room Tip: Make sure you have hot water first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneveve V, Director of Sales at Days Inn San Antonio/Near Lackland AFB, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Lisa H,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review about our property. We want to sincerely apologize for the issues you had during your stay. Based on your feedback, we will definitely work with our staff to address issues properly. With the weather change, our hot water does take a few minutes to get to the right temperature. We understand that it is an inconvenience to our guest and we will work on an action plan to ensure this doesn't happen. We would also like to thank you for your wonderful comments about our front desk staff, Jacob. It is great to hear when our staff is being recognized for his/her hard work. Thank you again for our feedback. We will take your comments and use it as training tool on ways we can improve at our property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zelienople, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Most everything was outdated. A.C. was ok but room was still damp feeling. Lighting wasn't the greatest. The breakfast was average. Pool was 'ok'.
The best part of our stay was Jacob that worked at the front desk--he was totally and completely helpful, considerate and went above and beyond to help us navigate around the area. We're from Pennsylvania and we were "ducks out of water" in Texas. If it wasn't for Jacob, we'd have been lost.
He is the definition of "customer Service".
p.s.--Warning: the gps shows the hotel on the wrong side of the road!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneveve V, Director of Sales at Days Inn San Antonio/Near Lackland AFB, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear DebReeb,

Thank you for taking the time write a review about your stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the issues in your room. We are currently working to update the condition and overall appearance of the rooms within the next few months. Until then, we will work with our maintenance to create a more efficient preventive maintenance. Aside from the room, we are happy that our staff was friendly and helpful during your stay. Being close to the base, we want to ensure our guest is well informed about the graduation ceremonies to make his/her visit stress free as possible. We feel honored that our staff, Jacob, was able to do that for you and your family. We hope that you give us another chance and stay with us when you are in San Antonio. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn San Antonio/Near Lackland AFB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn San Antonio/Near Lackland AFB

Address: 6815 Highway 90 West, San Antonio, TX 78227
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn San Antonio/Near Lackland AFB 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations in the Lone Star State at Days Inn San Antonio hotel near Lackland Air Force Base, Kelly USA and The Alamo, off U.S. Highway 90. Wake up to a call, then enjoy free Daybreak continental breakfast and a free newspaper.Check in with family and friends using free Wi-Fi Internet access, then swim in our outdoor pool, featuring a grilling area. We offer a business center, sundry store, and free parking. Non-smoking and handicapped-accessible rooms are available upon request, and refrigerators are included in some rooms. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our pet-friendly San Antonio hotel.LOCAL ATTRACTIONS No trip to San Antonio would be complete without seeing The Alamo, site of the famous 1836 Texas Revolution battle that has come to symbolize a heroic struggle for freedom against impossible odds. Stroll the historic mission buildings as you imagine the compound bustling with activity and purpose. With thrilling rides, entertaining marine mammal shows and other fascinating exhibits, San Antonio SeaWorld provides hours of entertainment for kids and adults alike. Check out the San Antonio River Walk, just 10 miles from our San Antonio hotel, a unique public space packed with bars, restaurants and shops, or head to the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center if you are here for a trade show or conference.DINING OPTIONS There are several fast-food restaurants just a block or two from our hotel in San Antonio, Texas, including Denny's next door, Arby's, McDonald's, Taco Bell, KFC and Wendy's. Drive just a few minutes to reach familiar family-friendly eateries such as IHOP, Red Lobster, Carino's Italian and Texas Roadhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, AAA Travel Services, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn San Antonio/Near Lackland AFB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Antonio-Lackland/Seaworld Hotel San Antonio
Howard Johnson San Antonio
San Antonio Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn San Antonio/Near Lackland AFB, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.