We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn San Antonio/Near Lackland AFB

Save Saved
You added Days Inn San Antonio/Near Lackland AFB to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Days Inn San Antonio/Near Lackland AFB
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6815 Highway 90 West, San Antonio, TX 78227   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #174 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Winona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not good.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Days Inn in Lackland, TX was not very clean. I had to ask the front desk to come and clean the bathroom because the toilet was quite gross. There was not any coffee in the room. It felt like the cleaning crew did half the room and then forgot to come back to finish. The room seemed damp all the time, our swimsuits did not dry overnight hanging up on the rack. nor did our beach towels. The carpet was old and dirty, going barefoot made your feet very dirty on the bottom. I will not stay there again. The employees were very nice and pleasant. Breakfast was fine except for the scrambled eggs, not sure what they were made from. I think the hotel needs a BIG makeover. I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    34
    39
    25
    16
See reviews for
106
8
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while visiting San Antonio for my brother in law's graduation from Air Force boot camp. We chose the hotel for its price as we were on a tight budget and for its close proximity to Lackland Air Force Base (3 miles away).

My husband and I are both in our 20s and not particularly picky about our hotels- so long as it appears to be clean with no obvious grossness (i.e., bug infestation or remnants from previous human occupants such as hair, body fluids, etc), we are usually satisfied. This particular hotel was definitely in need of some updates; everything seemed worn and faded. There were chips in the sink, cracks in the plaster in parts of the wall, but it wasn't so terrible as to make us leave. The air conditioning worked like a champ, which was critical for the June heat! And it appeared as though the cleaning crew did their job adequately; everything seemed to have been scrubbed, vacuumed, dusted and cleaned before we arrived. The beds were not uncomfortable, but average for the class of the hotel.

This hotel does have a pool, which did not appear to be very well maintained, but the chlorine smell seemed to be strong enough to satisfy any qualms about sanitation problems.

Overall I would recommend this hotel only if you need something close to Lackland without breaking the bank. There certainly are nicer hotels in the area, though.

Edit: We visited in June 2012 but TA won't let me select that far back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming, United States
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Pros: Beds are comfy, staff is nice, check out is at noon, fridge in room, flat screen TV.

Cons: Bathroom walls look like they need some work, loud bi-polar AC, and saw 1 cock roach.

Would be good for a single nights stay without the bug -.-

sheets and floors are clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Rooms stink. My mother in laws room smelled rotten. Mine has the lovely odor of pee. Shower is gross. Pool is supposed to be open til 10 but people swim all night. Not good when your here for bmt grad and gotta be up early. Its close to the base but so are a ton of other hotels. Choose wisely as I did not.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Overall, it was a poor stay. The price was good, but I thought that the DaysInn signature would prove better. The bathroom had a stinky smell and its floor was in poor condition. The carpet was not clean. It seemed to be clean, but if you walked bare feet you would feel it was not that clean. The breakfast space was too small. It did not have room for everybody. People needed to wait for a vacant table or go to the pool area. And there was only three bath towels for four people (as I did the reserve). One of the towels was not totally white, it had one stain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Will definitely not stay here again. Rooms were dirty & although it was a "non-smoking" room it sure smelled like a giant ash tray. Furniture was old & bad shape, bathroom was filthy. It was obviously an old property that had not been maintained very well over the years. Our bathroom door would not shut when we arrived & the maintenance man had to come back no less than 5 times...he ended up just putting about 9 nails down the side of the door jam so that we could get the door shut. Not a good experience...a shame...never felt so "icky" staying at a Hotel before & definitely not a Quality Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killeen, Tx
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This was admittedly a bad weekend to need a hotel in this area. That being said, I paid nearly double the normal rate for a non-smoking room, where the smell of cigarette smoke was obvious in the air despite the "non-smoking" signs in the room. Chairs in the room were frayed and appeared stained. The wife didn't want to touch or sit in them (or the kids) for fear they were vomit stains. I know the weekend was a busy one, but for the money I should have just driven 30 miles out of town for a place to stay. Would have been more healthy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn San Antonio/Near Lackland AFB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn San Antonio/Near Lackland AFB

Address: 6815 Highway 90 West, San Antonio, TX 78227
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn San Antonio/Near Lackland AFB 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy comfortable accommodations in the Lone Star State at Days Inn San Antonio hotel near Lackland Air Force Base, Kelly USA and The Alamo, off U.S. Highway 90. Wake up to a call, then enjoy free Daybreak continental breakfast and a free newspaper.Check in with family and friends using free Wi-Fi Internet access, then swim in our outdoor pool, featuring a grilling area. We offer a business center, sundry store, and free parking. Non-smoking and handicapped-accessible rooms are available upon request, and refrigerators are included in some rooms. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our pet-friendly San Antonio hotel.LOCAL ATTRACTIONS No trip to San Antonio would be complete without seeing The Alamo, site of the famous 1836 Texas Revolution battle that has come to symbolize a heroic struggle for freedom against impossible odds. Stroll the historic mission buildings as you imagine the compound bustling with activity and purpose. With thrilling rides, entertaining marine mammal shows and other fascinating exhibits, San Antonio SeaWorld provides hours of entertainment for kids and adults alike. Check out the San Antonio River Walk, just 10 miles from our San Antonio hotel, a unique public space packed with bars, restaurants and shops, or head to the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center if you are here for a trade show or conference.DINING OPTIONS There are several fast-food restaurants just a block or two from our hotel in San Antonio, Texas, including Denny's next door, Arby's, McDonald's, Taco Bell, KFC and Wendy's. Drive just a few minutes to reach familiar family-friendly eateries such as IHOP, Red Lobster, Carino's Italian and Texas Roadhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Days Inn San Antonio/Near Lackland AFB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Inn And Suites San Antonio-Lackland/Seaworld Hotel San Antonio
Howard Johnson San Antonio
San Antonio Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn San Antonio/Near Lackland AFB, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.