We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright but needs some improvements” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites San Antonio Airport

Save Saved
You added TownePlace Suites San Antonio Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Northeast Loop 410, San Antonio, TX 78216 (North Central)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #35 of 352 hotels in San Antonio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Alright but needs some improvements”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here in July, The overall experience was wonderful, I didn't like that when we arrived we had to wait a while to check in it was a little after check in maybe 45 minutes before we could go into our room. Once in the room I noticed that we only had 2 towels in our room, even though I had booked 2 adults and 2 children. Our room was a smaller than my sister's room who stayed with us in the next room. We paid the same price and our rooms should have been identical however they weren't. She also booked 3 adults and 1 child in her room and they only had 3 towels in their room. I guess children don't need towels!?!? There was dinner available on the day we stayed and it smelled wonderful but there was not enough tables or chairs in the dinning room to accommadate everyone in the hotle so we took our food to our room. Other than that the pool was great and the area was a little sketchy but still felt safe when walking to my car at night.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    36
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
22
11
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Hotel is well located on the north side of San Antonio, close to airport with shuttle service. In spite of high congestion and being within flight path of airport, the hotel is very quiet...great soundproofing. The rooms are well appointed and the kitchenette has most of everything you'd need to be comfortable for a long term stay. Breakfast was okay; some stale bread and soggy yogurt containers should be addressed. Pantry in lobby is very convenient. The staff is fantastic.
Hotel is very, very clean. Biggest complaint would be the mattress in my room was like a rock. I like a "firm" mattress but holy cow, somebody else needs to choose the mattresses next time in stead of the "Princess and the Pea" designer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I'm here now and have been for a week I'm here with a friend here for school. You cant beat the free breakfast seven days a week and Diner M-Th. They also have red and white table wine and I think its Amber Bock beer too. Clean place nice helpful staff and since this was the last leg of the road trip Thankful for early check in since we got her super early around 7:30am. But they let us right in and took full advantage of the free breakfast too, it was great. Make your own waffle love it. Since they all have full kitchen its perfect they have a 24hr Walmart walking distance away. You can look at other places to go in my post to come. Enjoy!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed here with my husband and two kids (2yrs and 2mos) for three nights over the holidays. The customer service here is hands down the best I have experienced. The gentleman (Steve?) who answered my questions over the phone before check-in was the same person who checked me in was very pleasant and accommodating. I called to request an early check-in. The hotel was fully booked the night before but Steve said to come in and he assured me a room would be ready and sure enough there was one :)

We had a king size room with a pull out couch which was a good size. There is 3/4 size fridge, dishwasher, sink, stove, microwave, cabinets with dishes and utensils. It's really perfect for a family traveling with small children. Overall the room was clean and in great condition. My only negative was that there was an odor in the room. It was not foul, it seemed more like a chemical type of smell, perhaps the carpets were just treated or maybe some type of pest treatment was recently done and the smell lingered? It was somewhat bothersome but for the short amount of time we were there it was not worth repacking and requesting a change of rooms.

There are laundry machines on the first floor which we used. They are in good condition. In one instance our clothes did not dry all the way and one of the employees noticed and provided funds to complete the dry. I thought that was very nice and accommodating. Just one more example of their service philosophy.

Finally, the food. The free breakfast was great and just adds to the great value this place has to offer. they have texas shaped waffles, eggs, sausage, potatoes, pastries, cereals, and biscuits and gravy which were my favorite. They also have coffee and tea avail 24/7 which was nice too. They also offer an evening appetizer along with red and white wine and beer which is also free.

I would def recommend this hotel to others, especially families. We had a great experience here and will stay here again in the future. Thank you for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed at the TownePlace Suites for 8 nights as I was working a short term assignment at the airport. The location couldn't be any more perfect. Far enough not to hear the planes, but only 5 min. away. I felt very safe there.

The hotel itself was nice enough. They provide continental breakfast and make-you-own-waffles in the morning, and they serve appetizers in the evening. The rooms include an upscale little kitchenette with granite counter tops, nearly full size fridge/freezer, and most everything you would need to whip up something after a long day. The room was decorated fairly nicely and kept immaculately clean.

I had 3 complaints: one was the bed, which, personally, I didn't find comfortable. I asked some of my colleagues also staying there, and they agreed as well. The mattress felt more like a hard futon. My second complaint was the a/c system. Incredibly loud. Lastly, but rather petty..... the warm water took about 3 min. to finally come out warm/hot for a shower.

The star of the show here however is the staff. They couldn't be any nicer and accommodating. There is a Wal-mart about a 1/3 mi. away. (perfect for getting food and munchies for the room!) The hotel was more than happy to drive or pick you up...in fact, they let me know that they would take me/pick me up anywhere within a three mile radius of the hotel up until 11PM. This was a really nice and appreciated perk. I suspect there are nicer places to stay, but from a chain hotel, I doubt you will find one as gracious, welcoming and hospitable as the TownePlace Suites.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in back away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We routinely visit SA for business and stay at this property. The hotel is clean, safe, well appointed, the breakfast and nightly reception is great, but most importantly the staff are great! They learn your name, your needs, your preferences, and will always go the extra mile for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I am writing this comment from the lobby of this hotel. It is my third day at the hotel and so far so good! Everything is right with the hotel: clean and spacious rooms, very good breakfast, Free Highspeed internet, Free Parking and helpful front desk. I got a good deal and I am really happy with my decision.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to TownePlace Suites San Antonio Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites San Antonio Airport

Address: 214 Northeast Loop 410, San Antonio, TX 78216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > North Central , Shearer Hills / Ridgeview
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
#45 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#69 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — TownePlace Suites San Antonio Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in San Antonio offers a free hot buffet breakfast served daily along with an evening social Mon - Thurs 5:30p-7:00p. Although we are near the Airport, we are a short drive to many attractions like the Riverwalk, The Alamo, Sea World and Six Flags Fiesta Texas. One of the premier San Antonio Airport hotels that offers an outdoor pool with fountains, BBQ grill, and a covered patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your TownePlace Suites San Antonio Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites San Antonio Airport Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Towneplace Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites San Antonio Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.