We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stellar staff; OK hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites San Antonio Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites San Antonio Airport to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites San Antonio Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   214 Northeast Loop 410, San Antonio, TX 78216 (North Central)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #23 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Stellar staff; OK hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed at the TownePlace Suites for 8 nights as I was working a short term assignment at the airport. The location couldn't be any more perfect. Far enough not to hear the planes, but only 5 min. away. I felt very safe there.

The hotel itself was nice enough. They provide continental breakfast and make-you-own-waffles in the morning, and they serve appetizers in the evening. The rooms include an upscale little kitchenette with granite counter tops, nearly full size fridge/freezer, and most everything you would need to whip up something after a long day. The room was decorated fairly nicely and kept immaculately clean.

I had 3 complaints: one was the bed, which, personally, I didn't find comfortable. I asked some of my colleagues also staying there, and they agreed as well. The mattress felt more like a hard futon. My second complaint was the a/c system. Incredibly loud. Lastly, but rather petty..... the warm water took about 3 min. to finally come out warm/hot for a shower.

The star of the show here however is the staff. They couldn't be any nicer and accommodating. There is a Wal-mart about a 1/3 mi. away. (perfect for getting food and munchies for the room!) The hotel was more than happy to drive or pick you up...in fact, they let me know that they would take me/pick me up anywhere within a three mile radius of the hotel up until 11PM. This was a really nice and appreciated perk. I suspect there are nicer places to stay, but from a chain hotel, I doubt you will find one as gracious, welcoming and hospitable as the TownePlace Suites.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in back away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    41
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
47
25
11
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clemson, South Carolina
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We routinely visit SA for business and stay at this property. The hotel is clean, safe, well appointed, the breakfast and nightly reception is great, but most importantly the staff are great! They learn your name, your needs, your preferences, and will always go the extra mile for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I am writing this comment from the lobby of this hotel. It is my third day at the hotel and so far so good! Everything is right with the hotel: clean and spacious rooms, very good breakfast, Free Highspeed internet, Free Parking and helpful front desk. I got a good deal and I am really happy with my decision.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I had a temp assignment here in San Antonio for two months. This place is the best I have stayed at on long term assignments. Their staff all treat you like family. The managers go out of their way to make your stay great. One night I could not make it back for their dinner hour and they noticed and saved me a plate just in case I wanted it. That is amazing service. Lucky for me, as that day we had major problems with my project and I was too tired to go to dinner somewhere. I was so thankful.

As to the facility, it is very nice, clean and well kept. They have a BBQ grill that they will happily start up for you and a pool large enough that you can actually swim in.

If your business is sending you somewhere for more than overnight, stay here period. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. We had a group of 10 which stayed on different floors and areas and they were a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Fl
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Impressed yet again...This site is the best!
So far, I have never been lead astray using tripadvisor.com reviews to find a hotel whenever traveling.
Every review of this hotel was on point. It was a nice little quaint hotel out of the way. Not too busy area, but just enough going on around it to get what you need.
My son was graduating from the United States Air Force, and I really didn't want to stay near the base or in the downtown area, so this location was perfect.
The hotel suite was really nice, and the staff was just awesome! Breakfast was fantastic:) A little more offered than the usual fan fare.

Room Tip: 3rd floor room always seem a little more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast Megalopolis
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The hotel was quite satisfactory, clean, and well staffed. The desk clerk had printed maps for a road run or jog. Unfortunately the motel was not listed in the San Antonio airport hotel shuttle board, but the shuttle bus service was prompt once I made contact with them.

The breakfast was better than what I usually have for breakfast at home, and the evening hors d'ouvers were almost sufficient for dinner. Plus, they served Shiner Bock beer in the evening.

My only puzzlement arises from the Texas shaped waffle iron: why does the hotel feel compelled to remind me even while eating a waffle that I am in Texas? I know this is not limited to just this establishment, since this peculiarity appears in other motels and hotels across Texas. I did cook up two of these "Texas waffles" and brought them home to display in the office. One of my office workers - who is from Texas - plans on converting them into Christmas ornaments.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groton, Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I travel a lot, and have stayed at many chains, Marriott being my favorite, but THIS hotel had the very best overall experience ever! It may not be a five star, full service spa but I would choose this team any day! The suites are pretty standard, but functional and very clean. The key here is that EACH and every staff member was genuinely happy to be there, to be available to EVERY customer and made the environment so wonderful it was hard to head back home! From the welcome on arrival, to the "have a good day" as we left each morning for work, to the welcome back in the evening (complete with light dinner and wine) to the responsive shuttle service to local shops and restaurants I cannot say enough GREAT things about this facility and its team! They made you feel like you were their ONLY focus (and we saw this in how they treated others as well). You need to clone this team as their service model is stellar, their enthusiasm for what they do, and how they do it is amazing to behold and wonderful to receive. I will certainly be recommending this to anyone traveling to San Antonio....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TownePlace Suites San Antonio Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites San Antonio Airport

Address: 214 Northeast Loop 410, San Antonio, TX 78216
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > North Central , Shearer Hills / Ridgeview
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
#33 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#40 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — TownePlace Suites San Antonio Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel in San Antonio offers a free hot buffet breakfast served daily along with an evening social Mon - Thurs 5:30p-7:00p. Although we are near the Airport, we are a short drive to many attractions like the Riverwalk, The Alamo, Sea World and Six Flags Fiesta Texas. One of the premier San Antonio Airport hotels that offers an outdoor pool with fountains, BBQ grill, and a covered patio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your TownePlace Suites San Antonio Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites San Antonio Airport Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Towneplace Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TownePlace Suites San Antonio Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.