We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Refined atmospehere, courteous waitstaff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Room Restaurant

Colonial Room Restaurant
204 Alamo Plaza, Menger Hotel, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)
210-225-6196
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 3,892 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Late Night Food, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Buffet, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Built as an addition to the original hotel and later remodeled by San Antonio architect Atlee B. Ayres in 1912, the Colonial Room Restaurant reflects the prevailing neoclassical style of its time. Decades of elaborate balls and parties have been hosted in this room.Among the celebrities who have dined here are Presidents Grant and McKinley, Robert E. Lee, and French actress Sarah Bernhardt. The Colonial Room Restaurant's famous mango ice cream was served at both of President Clinton’s inaugurations. Open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, the Colonial Room Restaurant features a fabulous noontime brunch and traditional entrees such as prime rib au jus and lamb shank with linguini. Don't miss the popular Sunday brunch buffet, which tastes even better at a table in the garden courtyard.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Refined atmospehere, courteous waitstaff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

This was just what I would expect in a historic hotel.The waitstaff were so courteous and polite and the hotel is a must see. We had lunch and although they had a lunch buffet which looked delicious, we ordered off the menu. Although I should add that even though the buffet was due to close in five minutes, we were told if we wanted, they would leave it open for us until we were through eating. The tortilla soup was different than I'm used to and definitely delicious. The lunch menu leaned toward simple salads and sandwiches so if you're looking for fusion go somewhere else. But if you want a taste the atmosphere there and to be waited on with every thought of your comfort, eat here!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    44
    22
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Meals are delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have eaten both, breakfast as well as dinner meals and has been quite pleased with the services of the waitresses as well as the food is extremely tasty.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Turn of the century charm, pleasant lunch buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I had read about the historic Menger in the reviews before my first visit to San Antonio, and made a point of going for lunch

I was not disappointed by the turn of the century lobby and vintage feel of the Menger.

The subdued antique elegance of the Colonial dining room reminds me of similar older dining rooms at The Greenbriar and Mackinaw Island. There is something about it which is reminiscent of the old Plaza in NY before its conversion to Condos

The restaurant is away from the riverwalk crowds, so it was fairly empty. However the choices for buffet were plentiful and tasty. The day we went the choices for main wereTilapia in garlic lemon sauce and boeuf bourguignon. Sides included garlic mashed and brown rice, macaroni and cheese and many vegetables and salad mixings.

There was also an omelette station which made custom eggs with any choice of ingredients

Given the low $15/person charge, I thought the Menger was a very nice, non-touristy choice for lunch when visiting the Alamo square.

It is probably even nicer when it is cool enough to sit outside in the gardens off the main dining room.

I would definitely return

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alvin, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012 via mobile

We ate here for their Thanksgiving and the food was so good. Not your usual Buffett. There were so many choices for entrees, sides and desserts. The service was excellent and they wetre constantly refilling water glasses, coffee or juice. I took my parents and they couldn't stop talking about it. We would do it again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“brunch and history together”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Had the Sunday brunch...good selection, the food was good and the service was excellent. On today's menu was soy marinated salmon, roast beef, ham, chicken with grilled vegetables and linguini, and a great bread pudding. Also had a waffle station, an omelette station, selection of bread/bagels/biscuits, bacon/sausage, eggs benedict, garlic mashed potatoes, rice, carrots, broccoli, salad bar and dessert bar with pecan pie, carrot cake, and pumpkin pie. A little more than we usually spend for breakfast at $18.95 but worth it. The waitress says the choices change weekly.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Colonial Room Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Colonial Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Room Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.