We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overly Aggressive Vendors” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rivercenter Mall

Rivercenter Mall
849 Commerce Street, San Antonio, TX
210-225-0000
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$28*
and up
Ranked #13 of 37 Shopping in San Antonio
Type: Malls, Shopping
Attraction details
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Overly Aggressive Vendors”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I don’t care much for shopping, but we parked in the mall parking garage to access the River Walk and did some browsing along the way. I didn’t find it to be a very pleasant experience, as the vendors in the kiosks were very aggressive in approaching us. I felt more like I was in a market in a developing country than in a U.S. mall. We ended up walking much more quickly through it than we would have if we’d been able to browse undisturbed. Other than some cookies at Great American Cookies, I bought nothing.

On the plus side, the mall has windows overlooking the river, and the view is wonderful. I got some good pictures of the river from that vantage point.

The food court is on the lower floor and looks like it has a good selection of food. Many of the restaurants were offering samples of their food and I tried some of them. I especially liked the teriyaki chicken I had at one location. The food court has tables indoors overlooking the River Walk and some tables outside right by the river. It looks like it would be a pleasant place to eat an inexpensive meal when it isn’t crowded.

As we exited the mall on the river level, there was a man playing Christmas music on a zampoña (Andean Pan pipes), which added to the festive atmosphere at that end of the river. We were able to conveniently board and leave the river taxi right outside the mall.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    40
    48
    13
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very disappointing for downtown”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This mall was full of stores with just 'stuff'!! Seriously the worst mall I've been at in a long time. Next time we travel to San Antonio will search for a mall with more substance. Just because it is on the Riverwalk doesn't make it great.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't Bother”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

I know indoor malls are not so popular now, but this is San Antonio's Rivercenter. For such a popular tourist area, I would expect the mall to be much better.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
509 reviews 509 reviews
179 attraction reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
358 helpful votes 358 helpful votes
“Close to the riverwalk and conference centre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The Rivercentre mall was completely built around the lovely catholic church of St Joseph, it is quite shocking if you see this on an areal photograph (go to the St Joseph reviews to see such a picture). Otherwise it is very much a standard American mall, conveniently close to the Riverwalk and the conference centre. It has a nice entrance and terrace on the Riverwalk side, also used for Quinceanera (15 year coming of age) photoshoot opportunities, see picture.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
278 reviews 278 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“A great mall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were told to park here when visiting the Alamo or the Riverwalk. It is 1 block from the Alamo & 2 blocks from Riverwalk. The parking is $4 for 1/2 hr and $2 for every 20 mins. $18 max. The mall has plenty of stores to satisfy your shopping needs. Macy's is the anchor store.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rivercenter Mall also viewed

 

Been to Rivercenter Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rivercenter Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.