We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded All Expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk

Save Saved
You added Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 S Saint Mary's St, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 352 hotels in San Antonio
Atlanta
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Exceeded All Expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

The Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk exceeded all of our expectations. In the lovingly restored Alamo Bank building, the hotel is worth a visit just to see the lobby with its large stained glass window, beautiful light fixtures and other art deco features. Make sure you go to the terrace and pool on the top floor for spectacular views of downtown San Antonio.

Everything about the hotel was absolutely first class from the friendly service to the free food and drink (beer, wine and cocktails) at happy hour and the hot breakfast served on the mezzanine overlooking the lobby. Ask for a room in the new section overlooking the Riverwalk. The two-room suites there are spacious and nicely furnished with a wet bar, microwave, fridge and flat-screen televisions.

The only down side to a stay here is the $18 charge for parking. However the room rates are so reasonable that they more than make up for the parking charge. In my opinion the Drury Plaza Hotel's rates make it a real bargain considering all that it has to offer.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    971
    397
    103
    35
    20
See reviews for
509
563
41
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new caney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

we stayed for 2 nites and had a wonderful time, the hotel was located in a perfect locations for clubs.restraunts, alamo,riverwalk,and everything else that we wanted to see and do while we were there.the breakfast was very good and filling,had lots to choose from,loved the 3 drinks a nite just enough to get us started for a nite on the town,my all around stay was excelent will definatly stay again,and again

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2011

The hotel was convenient and comfortable. Free hot BFK, WiFi and light dinner, snacks, cocktails. Good beds. Very close to the Riverwalk. Staff friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Reasonable rates - former Art Deco bank building with plenty of marble and brass - cannot beat the location - short walk to Riverwalk with retaurants and boat rours - spacious rooms - very clean - great Happy Hour with free drinks, hot dogs, and baked potatoes - free full breakfast with cook-to-order eggs - only downside is $18/day valet parking fee but even so this is our favorite hotel in San Antonio

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

We recently took a weekend trip to San Antonio (1/29-1/31) and stayed at the Drury Plaza River Walk. We decided on this place over the Omni River Walk and decided to spend the extra cash saved on the room going out. That was a VERY good decision because there was so much to see/do/eat we were hardly in the room other than to sleep. The hotel had lots of perks- many of which we were not aware of- such as when we arrived it was happy hour and they gave us a coupon for three free drinks! That got us off to a good start. Additionally, in the morning they have a really amazing breakfast buffet (AYCE) for free as well! It really was great. The staff was very professional- and everyone seemed to know what they were to be doing. The hotel is ideally located right on the river walk and is across from this magnificent church and plaza- perfect for having a cup of coffee and people watching. The roof pool and spa were awesome- honestly everything was great!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, IL
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

Stayed at the Drury Plaza from 12/10/10 to 12/13/10. Great old place but room was kind of small and carpet was dirty. However, the amazing staff made up for the shortcomings. Without exception, everyone we came across was exceptionally friendly and helpful. 5:30 Kickback and breakfast were nothing special. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

We stayed at the Drury Plaza over the Christmas holiday weekend. It is a perfect location in downtown San Antonio, walkable to all parts of the Riverwalk. We actually walked down Commerce Street to eat Christmas dinner at Boudro's. It was an easy 10 minute walk, even with two 80+ year olds! The hotel itself is housed in a former bank building, with all of the original art deco architecture still intact. We did enjoy the complimentary breakfast each morning and the light snacks and beverages in the evening. The staff was always very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk

Address: 105 S Saint Mary's St, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. Best of all, our riverside doors offer direct access to the beautiful San Antonio River Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Tingo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.