We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk

Save Saved
You added Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 S Saint Mary's St, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 352 hotels in San Antonio
kansas city
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Hotel is conveniently located on the Riverwalk. We went there by taxi from airport and arrived early and were able to check in then. Very friendly personnel at front desk. This was one of the biggest hotel rooms we've had and quite nice. King bed, couch, recliner and ottoman plus a table and two chairs. Large bathroom too. We did eat the breakfast there and went to 5:30 kickback w/drinks and food. Both were good w/variety of food. We got on the water taxi at the back of the hotel and was very convenient since hotel is directly on the Riverwalk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    971
    397
    103
    35
    20
See reviews for
509
563
41
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geoje, South Korea
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Receptionist friendly when we first checked in but told our room would not be ready till 3pm. When we went back to the front desk at 3.30pm we were told by a different receptionist that our room would not be ready for another hour. When we questioned this she was very rude.
The room itself was dark & very dated. Carpets were extremely dirty & stained & looked as though they hadn't been cleaned for a very long time. Corridors noisy because of the tiled flooring...made it feel like a old school building or hospital. However bed was comfy.
The hotel has 6 elevators but only 2 seemed to be working......most people were very frustrated by this (especially at check out time)including us & some people ended up using the stairs (from 18 floors up)! On leaving we were approached by 2 managers asking if we had enjoyed our stay. We told them about the elevator problem & instead of addressing the problem they denied it...not good customer service.
Don't go for the free drinks/nibbles....lines are long & the food awful.
This hotel is not really on the river-walk as you have to walk through a basement corridor to get there.
We were disappointed.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the elevator as you can hear the bell all the time & all the disgruntled gu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We apologize that one of the elevators was out of service and we will work with our elevator service company to ensure that our elevator systems are working at full capacity to handle our busy crowds. I realize that we are very busy during our evening kickback and complimentary hot breakfast time. We are fortunate to have a lot of happy, hungry family members dining with us. We do value our guests input and will take action to improve our services.

Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you in the future.

James Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on a Friday and Saturday night. The hotel offers free snacks and drinks in the evening. The continental breakfast is very good. The rooms have been renovated and look very modern. I highly recommend this hotel in order to enjoy the Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas. You can get good rates from the hotel’s web site: http://druryhotels.com/

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived we were told to come back at 3 and that our room would then be ready, we turn up at 3.30 to be told at least another hour, lady at front desk extremely rude and unhelpful. Carpets in rooms disgusting, dusty and stained. Corridors are tiled and looks like a run down hospital and could hear every little noise. They do free dinner and drinks, don't even bother, unless you want Mac and cheese and awful looking cheap hotdogs. Line up for this was huge so we left. Only one lift working and heard numerous ppl complaining about this, ppl were waiting 10-15 at elevators just to get in as most were not in use. The front desk denied this but all the guests were saying it so they can't all be wrong! Waste of money and dirty.,

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We value our guests input and will take action to improve our services. We do have many different room types and strive to have all rooms ready at check-in time. We also apologize that one of the elevators was out of service and we will work with our elevator service company to ensure that our elevator systems are working at full capacity to handle our busy crowds. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you in the future.

James Robbins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel is conveniently located on the Riverwalk. Do note that there is another Drury property, the Drury Inn and Suites, about a block away, so make sure you are going to the right one (but if you don't, at least they're close!). This property is in an old bank building, and the lobby is very cool. Although we were not traveling with children, it was clear this was a child-friendly property based on the number of families we saw. The hotel's complementary meal and drinks seemed like a good opportunity for families. We did not eat anything but did have mixed drinks, which admittedly were about what you would expect for free. There is also a free breakfast but we did not try that. The room was quite large. The bed was unfortunately not very comfortable. I liked the shampoo/conditioner/body wash dispensers in the shower, and the shower itself had good water pressure and a good shower head height. Although other reviewers complained about noise near the elevator, we were right next to the elevator and had no problems. The WiFi worked fine. We went up and looked at the rooftop pool and hot tub; did not use either but note the pool is quite small. We did use the fitness room, which was not large but had treadmills, which were what we used. The property does have direct access to the river, which is nice. The staff was all very friendly. Valet parking is the only option and it is $19 per night, but that was fine with us as I prefer not to have to hassle with finding parking. Overall, it was a pleasant one-night stay and I would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Pros:
Check-in was relatively smooth, due to fact we came in late in the night. No other traffic.
Front desk help were efficient and friendly. Very helpful with information.
Room was average, but very comfortably spacious, but with mediocre furnishings and somewhat lumpy matress on king size bed.
Nice to have a small kitchenette with microwave and almost full size refrigerator with freezer, table and 2 dining chairs. Bonus to management for this nugget!
Powder Room:
Very nice vanity area. Plenty of space, nice granite countertops and with lots of room for your items plus plenty of electrical outlets (when you have girls this is a must!)
Tub was mediocre and same as any hotel. Hot water and shower were nice and hot water was plentiful!
Morning KickBack breakfast was OUTSTANDING! Food items were plentiful, hot, well prepared and plentiful in selection! Best breakfast in town for price!
Nice LCD tvs in bedroom and small sitting area.
Room was very well cleaned and maid service was exemplary each day.
Valet parking was pretty good. A bit chaotic on checkout, but for the amount of people leaving, not a suprise! The valets were on the ball and did a great job!
The pools are amazing and well kept, as are fitness rooms and guest personal laundry rooms.
Snack and guest ice machines for guests are well stocked, easy to find (NOT ON ALL FLOORS THOUGH!).
Good central location to Riverwalk, Convention Center and Alamodome.

Cons:
Reserved a 2 room suite with terrace and whirlpool tub in room. Stayed in an oversized room with regular tub and no terrace.
Filed complaint with front desk, not once but twice. I had printed my own confirmation with room details, and it was, as I stated, a 2 room King Suite with jacuzzi and terrace with a promotional e-saver rate. When I checked back online for my confirmation after speaking with front desk lady, apparently someone had gone back and erased my reservation. Hmmm. I then went back downstairs and tried againto rectify situation with front desk and still NO remedies. NOT the ACTIONS OF A SUPERIOR. STAR HOTEL.
NO ONE RETURNED MY CALLS NOT OFFERED ME ANY EXPLANATION FOR MY MIS-HANDLED INCIDENT. I WAS STILL CHARGED THE RATE FOR a 2 room King Suite. So this issue is still in progress of being disputed.
Loads of families with small kids. If you don't enjoy kids and animals, military people and lots of activity and minor noise, DO NOT STAY HERE then.
Towels were itchy and scratchy. Poor quality. Shampoo and Soap were in dispensers. HATE THIS. BUT for those with budgets this is great.
The evening kick-back was loud, obnoxious and completely OUT OF CONTROL. Nasty food left everywhere and nothing good about food that is old and/or other folks have touched. YUCK!

Recommendations:
GREAT PLACE FOR THOSE WITH KIDS, pets AND A BUDGET, highly recommended.
NOT A PLACE FOR A WEEKEND GET AWAY AS A COUPLE, HONEYMOONS NOR FOR A QUIET VACATION IN SA.
Get better towels for the quests. Cheap = awful!
Overall middle of the road experience. Some great things which were cancelled out by the random completely horrid issues.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you very much for letting us know of your past experience with us. We appreciate your honest feedback to help us become better. We do pride ourselves on clean, well maintained rooms and friendly people. We are very proud of our historic hotel and put a great amount of care and attention into it. We appreciate the positive comments regarding our staff as we strive to give outstanding customer service. I apologize for the lapse in attention in taking care of the room type situation and can only use it as a training tool for future guests. We hope to have the opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future. Thank you again for choosing Drury Hotels.

James Robbins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Had a wonderful stay large spacious room,arrived in time for the afternoon kickback,free Wi Fi great rooftop pool and hot tubs with great views.
Morning breakfast also pleasing only short walk to The Alamo , location right on the RIverwalk Definatly would be our base if ever returning to San Antonio

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk

Address: 105 S Saint Mary's St, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. Best of all, our riverside doors offer direct access to the beautiful San Antonio River Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Tingo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.