We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk

Save Saved
You added Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 S Saint Mary's St, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Arrived late Christmas night. Very friendly staff all around from bartender to our maid, Libby, to front house staff. Rooms were large and a bit worn but clean; huge bathroom. Enjoyed the outdoor hot tub after getting cannonballed by kids in the indoor. Breakfast filled the void; similar to Embassy Suites' spread but not the variety. Happy Hour reception was a feeding frenzy. Many families were downing hot dogs, baked potatoes, pasta and salad - I'm sure it was a free dinner for many. Not sure why people would prefer that to the offerings of this fantastic food town! Loved the architecture of this old building; have stayed at other Riverwalk and Hill Country properties for several times the price. Would definitely stay at Drury again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    938
    383
    96
    31
    19
See reviews for
481
546
41
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This was our 5th year to stay here with grandkids during the Christmas Holiday. We had three rooms and they were equally roomy but not very clean. Floors were dirty especially in the corners. Bedding looked like it had not been cleaned in sometime. Bathrooms were ok but again not up to previous standards. We will not be back as there are many other hotels in town that are cleaner. Rooms were on the 6th and 8th floors and traffic could be heard all night. This used to be a magic place for our family but the tradition has ended with this visit.

Room Tip: Choose the San Fernando Tower and get the highest floor you can obtain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great place to stay on the San Antonio Riverwalk. Get a room in the San Fernando Tower with a balcony/terrace view. It is worth the additional money - rooms are huge on this side of the Plaza Drury. Breakfast was decent, but the lines are long during holiday time. The Kickback Happy Hour - staff was friendly, and offerings are OK (carb city). This is supposed to be a snack, but there are some patrons who make it a meal. Hotel atmosphere is unique as the Drury Plaza is built in an old bank.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

we stayed as a family of 6 at the Drury, great location on the Riverwalk, very streamlined valet parking, and overall beautiful hotel. Central to all the activites around Riverwalk. The only issue was in the breakfast room, all mornings, it was very crowded, food runs low, no silverware, and the wait staff is pretty grouchy. Since it is free, it is acceptable.

Room Tip: You want to get a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We just got back two weeks ago from San Antonio. What a wonderful city! The senior volunteers at the information desk @ airport welcomed us and gave us pamphlets and tips. The people at Drury Plaza were nothing but nice. Desiree, Jonathan, etc. were all very friendly and courteous through our whole visit. All the restaurant workers on the Riverwalk were extra nice as well.
The Christmas Riverwalk was gorgeous and beautiful. Yes, it is a tourist attraction, but you can also venture out to the Alamo, the art museum, the market center, etc. The river which is very small is very, very long.
The hotel has an excellent view of the city at the top of the roof. Take advantage of swimming pool and hot tub. The view is incredible in the dark.
The breakfast buffet was fabulous (hot links, eggs, pancakes or waffles, cereals, oatmeal, snails (breakfast rolls), and drinks were complimentary. In the evening at 5:30, they had pasta, hot dogs, tossed greens for quick evening pick ups. Plus, free mixed drinks, coffee, tea and soda pop. All were served on real dishes and not paper plate.
This hotel has a wonderful art deco ambiance. It used to be an old bank. Our room was on the 20th floor and we had a great view of the city and partial river walk. I think we were in the old section.
Check out the bottom level. You will see the old vault and walk out to the Riverwalk.
We made our reservations in July for the December trip.
The other Drury (Inns and Suites)was not as fancy as this one. They are more casual and paper plates with plastic silverwares there. This one is on S. St. Mary's Street and it had real plates and silverware.
There are security police all over the Riverwalk. It is so secure when we were there that people were walking and filling out the Riverwalk at 8 p.m. If you plan to ride boats, it's $8.25. It's worth it to ride during twilight. Make sure you get Juan. He's a comedian and will make the ride worth it. We ate out at Casa Mia and United Republic of Texas (average but great desserts).
Check out Mi Terra at the Market Center for great sopapillas. The Mexican ambiance is overwhelming and the bakery is the largest panderia I have seen on the west coast.

Room Tip: Get the room above the 17th floor facing the cathedral. You will see all of San Antonio lights in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The ambiance of the Hotel is wonderful, and the staff is really helpful. It has a breakfast that is wonderful and a 5:30 pm "snack" that can make a meal. The room was a bit small by hotel standards, but really had everything we needed. The furnishings were good, and the bed was very comfortable.

Our only issue came up over the parking fee. I had a friend come and visit for the afternoon, and was told the fee would be $20. Then I was separately told $10. As I stayed 2 nights, and the friend only visited one afternoon, I was surprised to find a $40 charge on my bill! I finally got it adjusted to $10, but I never did get the same answer twice on the fee. The most logical was that the guest fee is $20/day, but a visitor is $10.....I still don't know if this is right, but that's ok.

I was surprised to find I had made my reservation through Expedia (my e-receipt never showed that name, and I thought I was on the Drury website), and thus I got no Drury points for the visit. I thought I was always careful on the internet, but obviously the search engines are getting sneakier each day. Obviously, this was not Drury's fault though I gathered it happens quite often.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I have absolutely no complaints about the Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk !! The service was great from the valets to the front desk staff to the staff in the breakfast/5:30 kickback rooms. Everyone ensured the guests were enjoying their stay. It is located right on the Riverwalk - in a quieter section of the Riverwalk, so you there wasn't a ton of foot traffic once you rounded the curve to get back to the Drury. It's an interesting walk on the basement level to get to the Riverwalk. You can see the old vaults & other regalia from the former bank the building used to be. The RiverCenter mall is within walking distance on the street level - about a 6 block walk down Commerce St.

The free breakfast & 5:30 kickback offered a variety of eating options & we ended up only having to buy lunch with those options. The breakfast included cereals, pastries, eggs, sausage, biscuits, pancakes, etc. The 5:30 kickback included 3 free drinks (very popular), baked potatoes, nachos, chili, hot dogs, etc. There is plenty of seating in the food areas.

The rooms were comfortable & spacious. Enough room for 2 adults & 3 kids. Quiet hotel. Couldn't tell there were other people on the floor till we checked out.

I'd definitely stay at the Drury again in a heartbeat !!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk

Address: 105 S Saint Mary's St, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#15 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. Best of all, our riverside doors offer direct access to the beautiful San Antonio River Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Amex, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.