We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value on the Riverwalk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk to your Saves list
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 S Saint Mary's St, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Hot Breakfast & Wifi
Ranked #13 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great value on the Riverwalk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

I'll be honest: even though so many people here on tripadvisor were enthusiastic about this hotel, I was a little tentative about booking it for our two-night stay in San Antonio during Christmas week.

Why? It's too inexpensive for all the love. The room rate was about $50 less per night than most of the other similar hotels in the neighborhood, plus parking was cheaper, no extra charge for in-room internet, and included breakfast and evening happy hour. What's the catch, I wondered?

We are usually happy to pay more for a comfortable stay, but it was hard to ignore the discrepancy in cost and service compared to the other riverwalk hotels. I'd rather spend the extra money on a nice meal or maybe a memento of the visit than on excessive parking rates or unnecessarily high room rates. Especially if I'm planning a trip where I don't expect to spend a lot of time in the hotel itself, as we were in SA, where there's so much for visitors to do.

I'm glad we did go for it. The Drury Plaza was just great for what we needed in San Antonio. Others have commented on the nice rooftop pool, breakfast and evening drinks/food. Even if you don't use those amenities, the Drury Plaza is a bargain.

The one thing I will say is that a rehaul of all the flooring in the hotel would go a long way towards spiffing it up. Hallways on the room floors are not carpeted, and the carpeting in the rooms is past its prime. A flooring upgrade would really improve the look of the hotel.

We saw two rooms. The first was right next to the elevators, so we asked to be moved. Though the desk clerk advised us that all the rooms at our rate were next to the elevators, she kindly gave us an upgrade. The first room had a nice kitchenette with microwave, sink, and full-sized refrigerator. The second room, where we stayed, was a two-room suite with two double beds in the bed room and a living room, but no kitchenette (with mini-refrigerator, though.) Both rooms were a generous size and quite comfortable. Our suite had the advantage of two TV's, so hubby could watch the evening bowl game, while kiddo watched a kids' movie on the other TV.

Room Tip: If you prefer a kitchenette, I would recommend you phone the hotel directly rather than try to navig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,212
    498
    121
    40
    31
See reviews for
628
681
47
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

This is our 2nd stay this year - we stayed here in April also. We stayed in the same type of room both times - corner 2 room suite with 2 queen beds. The room is nice size for the price we paid. And I like the fact that it has a full size refrigerator and a mini microwave. Came in handy. The free breakfast and 5:30pm kickback is a nice bonus also, although we didn't take advantage of it this time. The staff is very nice and friendly.

Great location - you come out right on the Riverwalk downstairs.

The only thing stopping me from giving them 5 perfect stars is the $19 per day parking fee. Despite that, would stay here again, especially if I can get the corner room for the right price. :-)

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

We loved this hotel. Stayed in a two room suite - queen beds - with terrace and jacuzzi tub.
While the beds were a little firm for my taste and the pillows soft, everything else was wonderful about this room. We will definitely stay there next year.

Little dissappointed in the 5:30 kickback. Baked potatoes were great, but only butter and liquid cheese - not so much. We didn't have the lines so many write about, but definitely didn't have enough to make up for dinner. That put a dent in the budget. I expected better from the reviews. Breakfast was great. Staff were extremely helpful and courteous. Walk right down the steps to the river walk.

We stayed in San Fernando tower. I like the view (and the room) but going up in two elevators and winding around became a pain after the first couple days. It won't stop us from staying in the same room, but it is something I can't overlook in the review.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

Amazing location.. right on the river walk.. Very amazing views.. we stayed at the 19th floor and the view was mesmerizing.. :) Free breakfast and snacks (including happy hour in the evening).. roof top swimming pool and fitness center.. The staff is friendly.. Parking is $19.00, but the service is quick.. Loved it and would definitely love to stay there again.. :) :)

Room Tip: try to chose a room above the 10th floor.. views are amazing..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pepper Pike, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Walking distance to most attractions (5-10 min). NO RESTAURANT but Ample fresh breakfast, plenty for lunch and dinner. Converted bank building makes for some funky room layouts

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

My family and I have been coming to this hotel for a few years now. This last visit was our third visit in a year. The hotel is centrally located between the Alamo and the Market Square with everything within walking distance. Did I mention it is directly on the Riverwalk? This hotel also offers free breakfast and an evening snack/finger food buffet with free alcoholic beverages. What more could you ask for? What about a rooftop pool/spa with an amazing view of the surrounding area and for cold days, the indoor heated pool/spa is excellent! Making this experience great is the very friendly staff. For a great resort style experience, I recommend the Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
128 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

The Drury family of hotels is always great but the location here as well as the building itself is over the top. The Drury took over the old Alamo bank building----a wonderful old building now housing another great Drury hotel---

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk
#24 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,069 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#4 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,209 reviews
East Side
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Riverwalk-Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk

Address: 105 S Saint Mary's St, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#7 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#34 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. Best of all, our riverside doors offer direct access to the beautiful San Antonio River Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Drury Hotels Company, LLC so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.