We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location ~ old bank converted to a hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk to your Saves list
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   105 S Saint Mary's St, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tampa, FL & worldwide
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great location ~ old bank converted to a hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

I spent six nights in one of the suites in the San Fernando Tower area of the hotel. My trip was for a week long photography workshop, so we also used the meeting area in the hotel. The staff kept the coffee bar and water well stocked and the room cleaned up each time we took a break. The lobby in the hotel is quite impressive as it was converted from and old bank. The comfortable couches made it a great place to lounge and people watch. The 1 king bed deluxe room itself was quite large with a nice sized living room with large sofa, leather ottoman and lounge chair, end tables, a great desk for working and kitchenette with full size dining table, microwave, fridge,2 large flat screen tv's, and more storage space. The oversized bedroom has a seating area, with a large walk in closest. The suite had more storage and closet space than my first apartment. Off the bedroom was a lovely little balcony that looked down on the city. Even with the windows closed there was quite a bit of noise that came through from the street below, but if you are used to city life that should not be a problem. The bathroom has a 2 person whirlpool tub and separate shower. AC kept the room nice and cool. The hotel has free wireless internet throughout, great if you are traveling for business. The breakfasts are good with a choice of breads, cereal, eggs, pancakes, biscuits with gravy and fruit. The cocktail hour is enjoyable with their daily "Kickback" selection. The menu rotates with a selection of hot food and a nacho bar. You also get a choice of drinks including beer, wine and mixed drinks. The "Kickback" does get PACKED with people, especially close to closing time ~ so go early. The free soft drink machine, coffee and popcorn during the day is quite nice. The staff at the hotel were always pleasant and helpful. They helped with direction around town, and other suggestions as well as being friendly and accommodating. The rooftop pool area is just gorgeous with lovely views of the city. There are 2 hot tubs on the roof and people do use them, even in the heat of the summer. The indoor pool has floor to ceiling windows overlooking the city and another whirlpool making it an attractive and inviting place to swim if you don't want to be on the roof. The gym is well equipped and a great place to exercise while on vacation. The office center in the lobby is well equipped with computers and prints ~ great for printing your boarding pass. The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring San Antonio as just about everything is within walking distance. I would definitely stay here again and hope to next year.

Room Tip: The San Fernando tower is the newer portion of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,134
    468
    112
    40
    30
See reviews for
582
642
45
233
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ayr, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

We visited this hotel on Labor Day week-end so it was full to capacity, it did push the staff and facilities, long queues for breakfast and drinks. We weren't too impressed by breakfast as it was poor quality, too much cheap carbohydrates! Coffee in paper cups (but that seems standard in US hotels) was drinkable.
We had a room in the older part of the hotel- very 'tired' room, could be cleaner! Housekeeping was obviously not coping with full capacity either!
The hotel is in a great location though- straight onto the Riverwalk, ten minutes walk to the Alamo and we loved the rooftop pool and Jacuzzi. The guest laundry room (near the pool) was very useful- sunbathing while I did the washing!
The reception was impressive with soaring ceilings and a vintage car! The reception staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for the new tower and a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We spent a 4 day weekend in one of the suites in the San Fernando Tower area of the hotel. The room was just massive...giant living room with large sofa, leather ottoman and lounge chair, end tables, hugh desk, kitchenette with full size dining table, microwave, fridge,2 large flat screen tv's, and more massive storage. You can get lost in the oversized bedroom, again with more storage than the average apt. The bathroom has a 2 person whirlpool tub. Rooms are certainly bigger and better in this Texas hotel! Great AC.

The hotel has free wireless internet throughout. The breakfasts are good. The cocktail hour is enjoyable. The free soft drink machine, coffee and popcorn during the day is quite nice. The staff at the hotel are like something out of Disneyworld. They are sooo friendly and accommodating.

The rooftop pool area is just gorgeous with lovely views of the city. The water is chilled so that even in 100 degree temps the water is cool. There are 2 hot tubs up there, and people use them...although I don't know how they stand the heat! The indoor pool has floor to ceiling windows overlooking the city and another whirlpool. Very attractive.
The gym is well equipped. You can print off your boarding passes in the free office center in the lobby.
There are far too many positives to this establishment to mention. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

had a really good stay at this hotel...room spacious and bed comfy.
right out the door onto the riverwalk FAB , also short walk to the Alamo

was not impressed with food even though it was free..very very basic.
The 3 free drinks were better.
we stayed in the tower rooms overlooking the cathederal, view was good you were also looking down onto the river walk

Room Tip: a room with a balcony is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Great for families and couples alike. food and alcohol from 5.30 to 7.30, breakfast, popcorn and sodas included in price. Lovely reception area and friendly staff made for a comfortable stay. Room and beds were really of high quality. Excellent value, great location. Recommend this hotel and wouldn't look for anywhere else if we visited again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

My friends and I met at this hotel for a reunion. We had so much fun. The hotel is conveniently located on Riverwalk. The breakfast and happy hours had very good food and it was free. We loved the rooftop pool and the area became our meeting place every afternoon. The lobby of the hotel is beautiful and historically restored. We were told the stained glass window of the Alamo was original to the building and they found the original lighting in storage a few blocks away. The ceiling and trim work is awesome. We were told at one time in the 60's someone put in ceiling tiles and lowered the ceiling and the new owners found the tin ceiling and ornate woodwork under the tiles. He said it took a lot of work, but they were able to fix the years of neglect. The price for a night's stay is very reasonable especially considering you get free breakfast and happy hour drinks and food. The front desk staff was great at directions and making suggestions. Be sure to see the country music show at the Aze Theater, tickets are sold in the lobby of the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Happy hour is the best, free breakfast also a plus. Highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk

Address: 105 S Saint Mary's St, San Antonio, TX 78205
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#45 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drury Hotel offers its guests a variety of free extras – take, for example, our free hot breakfast. At Drury, “hot” means scrambled eggs, biscuits & gravy, sausage and make-your-own Belgian waffles. In the evening, join us at our 5:30 Kickback® for free hot food and cold beverages. Our rotating menu features a variety of hot foods, baked potatoes, garden salad, beer, wine, mixed drinks and more! To burn off all of those free extras, Drury has a 24-hour exercise center and a parking lot to jog around. Lastly, Drury’s free wireless Internet and free long distance calls will ensure you can keep tabs on all of your posse back home. Best of all, our riverside doors offer direct access to the beautiful San Antonio River Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.