We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sun Always Rises on Costco” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn San Antonio North-Stone Oak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn San Antonio North-Stone Oak to your Saves list
Residence Inn San Antonio North-Stone Oak
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1115 North 1604 East, San Antonio, TX 78258 (Stone Oak)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #120 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
dallas,tx
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The Sun Always Rises on Costco”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

The double paned windows in this hotel are the the thickest I've ever seen so being backed right up against Costco was not really a factor as far as noise was concerned. But we could hear our neighbor's TV which played all night long (and didn't seem to be turned up too loud). Although the entrance way and kitchen were a good size, the bedrooms were small and cramped and the living room non-existent when the sofa bed was pulled out (you had to crawl over the bed to get to the other side - there was no path around the bed). We also missed the managers reception which many extended stay hotels (homewood suites, etc) have Mon - Thurs, but this place only does Mon - Wed and we showed up on Thursday. The breakfast area was pretty small and crowded although we did get the last table. The attendant was trying very hard to keep up. The food selection was good and breakfast was probably the best part of the stay.

I think if you are a business traveler and had business in the area, this would be a great place to stay. As a family passing through, it really didn't stand out in any way, especially for the price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyardteam, Manager at Residence Inn San Antonio North-Stone Oak, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Your comments are truly appreciated.

Residence Inn by Marriott, prides itself in having larger suites than your regular rooms and we are still larger in size as compared to most or all hotels in our area so we feel the value is still there with the size of our suites.
We also cannot control guest located next door and noise factors but we will do our best to give you other options everytime, like moving to another section of the building. Our breakfast and Social hour is set to Marriott Standards and bring good value to our guest and competes with value in our area.

Although we try to please all our guest , we will give you options next time around to make it a better stay!

Regards,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    15
    17
    3
    3
See reviews for
34
8
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pearland, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

We had a two bedroom suite with one queen bed in each room separated by a living/room kitchen combo. There is a fireplace in the living room area. One bedroom had a desk. There is a pull out couch in the living room, not super comfortable, but a place to sleep if needed We housed five in the room.

There is a free hot breakfast which makes it economical.The dining area is very small but the breakfast offers something for everyone, including eggs, sausage and potatoes, freshly cooked waffles and oatmeal. I thought their coffee was watered down.


The rooms are not completely up to date. The TV's are the old fashioned kind - The internet wireless connection was good.

We selected this hotel to visit Six-Flags Fiesta, TX - with family, but be aware Six Flags is ten miles away. They have a nice TV room with a game table and guest computer with printer if you need one. We did not use the pool or hot tub. Service was adequate. There is a big restaurant book in the main lobby where you can check menus and prices. There are many restaurants in the area and a WalMart within walking distance if you want to stock your pantry. The hotel will shop for you also.

Highway 281 is a straight shot down to the Riverwalk and the Alamo. It is a freeway. Be aware that parking at the Riverwalk is expensive. We paid $10 for a couple of hours.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

We recently relocated to San Antonio and stayed at the Residence Inn at Stone Oak. The accomadations were great. Monday-Wednesday they always had free snacks in the evenings with drinks. Every morning we had a free breakfast with many items to choose from. We could even have pancakes, egges and sausage and biscuts. We also loved how we could use Lifetime Fitness for free while staying there. I would totally recommend this hotel to everyone. The location is excellent for shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

Stayed at the Residence Inn Stone Oak for one night and had a comfortable restful night. No Complaints! The room was clean, spacious and modern with a full kitchen. The location is awesome close to anything you need or want and safe. Nice upscale area of San Antonio.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Island, South Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

I left another local hotel to come here after a really horrible experience. The staff at the hotel offers phenomenal customer service. The room is superbly cleaned every day and the rooms are very nice and the amenities are comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

We were two families with kids a total of 6 people and we had reserved a 2 bedroom unit. We were staying for a night on our way from Schlitterbahn Waterpark.
The stay was ok overall but it had its share of problems which is usually not expected from a Mariott hotel. I will come to the problems later but first for the good parts.
The check in was a breeze and the front and the lobby area was very clean and the library area with the TV and the computer was elegant. The location of the hotel was also very nice with nice restaurants (Romano's Macarono Grill) and stores (Costco, Walmart) within walking distance and the highway access was also convenient.
The room was nice with clean carpet and with separate rooms with attached restrooms and a living area. Enough space for the kids to play around a bit. The blackout drapes and the bed was nice. The complimentary breakfast was one of the best I ever had with eggs, sausage, waffle, bagels, donuts, cereal, fresh fruits, juices, yogurt etc.

However we did have few issues which diluted our otherwise wonderful experience.
Here are the concerns which we faced:
1. We had requested for a rollaway/air bed during our reservation online which was made couple of weeks back. But on arrival we were told that there were none available and also that they were out for the last couple of days. This created a problem for us since the sofa-bed was not that convenient for the kids.
2. In order to avoid the problem of the sofabed and to make it more comfortable for the kids we asked for additional pillows in order to cushion the sides. But we were told that no additional pillows were available. Eventually they continued like it and one of the kids did end up bumping her head against the sides of the sofa.
3. The fireplace in the living area had a small fire lit in it even though the controller knob was turned to "off" postiion. Even though it was not much but the glass infront of it was heating up and even the area around it and we were concerned about it, with the kids sleeping close to it on the sofa bed. On called the services we were told if it was not smoking or anything it should be fine and also that there are no maintenance guys available to fix it and there are no other rooms available to move us. On further insistense she told me that she will check with the management and call me back but she never did.
4. The trash can in the kitchen area was not cleaned from the earlier stay, even though we checked in as late as 10 pm.
With these mixed experience I am not quiet sure whether I am going to come back here or not but apart from the flaws in service the hotel was very good.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2010

First off we had a double. They are spacious, TV's in each room and clean. The STAFF was OUT of this WORLD! I was there 31 days and the staff and management were so helpful and friendly, I felt like I had the greatest neighbors ever. I almost did not want to go back home.

As for person who wrote NOT to say here because of CostCo. I had a room on that side. I never heard any sleep distractions whatsoever. Who knows? Maybe he had his window open and he's a very light sleeper. I am sure if he/she asked they would gladly have given him another room.

I HIGHLY recommend the Marriott Stone Oak.

Di Haman

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn San Antonio North-Stone Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Antonio North-Stone Oak

Address: 1115 North 1604 East, San Antonio, TX 78258
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Stone Oak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Antonio North-Stone Oak 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott and Orbitz so you can book your Residence Inn San Antonio North-Stone Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Antonio North-Stone Oak Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn San Antonio North-Stone Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.