We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usual Hampton Quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio - Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio - Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio - Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8902 Jones Maltsberger Road, San Antonio, TX 78216 (North Central)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #21 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Bussey, United States
1 review
“Usual Hampton Quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I found the usual Hampton quality that I have come to expect and love. The location was great for me to fly in and out and breakfast amazing as always. Great parking which can sometimes be an issue as well as easy access to the elevator from the front and back of the property which I always appreciate from a parking standpoint as I travel with a couple 50 lb bags. The room was nice and cool upon arrival which was much appreciated in the San Antonio heat. Apples were available at the desk which was nice as I usually arrive way to late in the evening to catch any leftover cookies lol

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    63
    33
    10
    3
See reviews for
103
42
25
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wagoner, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

It was not a bad place. We asked for a roll away bed and the staff accommodated us. There was a lot of other teenagers staying in the hotel due to a convention that was in town for youth group- they were kind of irritating making the breakfast area crowded but that was not the hotels fault. The worst thing about the whole stay was the hot tub. Sounded like the pump was going out and it was WAY over chlorinated.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The staff was very polite. Sophie and Lettie (both at the front desk) did an awesome job. Sophie upgraded my family into suites due to my one year old grandson and his need to have warm milk. The regular rooms didn't have a microwave. I'm impressed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel is excellent for the price and the staff went above and beyond to ensure my stay was pleasant. I love Hampton Inn hotels and will always stay at one if I have the choice. The room was quiet, clean and spacious. The staff assisted me with getting to the airport on time without hesitation. Hampton Inn always has excellent breakfast complimentary with even breakfast on the go.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver CO
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I love the perks at Hampton Inns, and I read the great reviews here. Then I checked the hotel's official web site, which promised refridgerators and microwaves in standard rooms. So that's what I booked.

When I arrived at the room, no fridge. The manager on duty first claimed I was looking at another Hampton Inn's description, then said it was a "corporate" error and painstakingly, repeatedly explained the difference between standard rooms and suites as if I'd just fallen off the turnip truck. I felt cheated and misled by that web site, and it left a bad taste in my mouth for the rest of our stay.

Trying to look at this place objectively, I guess it was okay. It never felt like a stylish, swank Hampton Inn, but I guess it was okay.

Benefits:
* Inexpensive, relative to the metro area
* Very good internet, wifi and wired (if you supply your own cable)
* Two elevators and two waffle irons - both prevent delays
* Evening cookies
* Three restaurants within walking distance (Applebee's, Cracker Barrel, and Logan's Roadhouse)
* Very short drives to Walmart and Trader Joe's

Drawbacks:
* Very noisy air conditioner, bad enough to disrupt my sleep
* Very slow computers in the business nook
* Breakfast had some meat and attentive staff, but the overall spread was weak enough that my family requested we eat somewhere else on the second morning
* South-facing rooms have a view of a tall highway interchange
* Little help when I asked for nearby pizza place. Turned to Google and found a good one (Grimaldi's) about a mile south by the Trader Joe's.
* That lingering bad taste

An hour after check-in, I was ready to give this place one star. Now it's almost a week later, and I think three is more accurate. Oddly, if this had been a Best Western or local place, I'd be more likely to give it four. Instead, it's a Hampton Inn, and for me, it failed to live up to the expectations that go with than name.

Room Tip: Exit US 281 at Jones Maltsberger Road on either side of the hotel. It's much easier to get there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Center, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Awesome staff. Great place to stay! Suites were an outstanding value. I would reccommend this hotel to business colugues, friends and family. Central location to the airport and an easy quick ride to downtown. Numerous restaurant within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Although business for me was downtown, I typically stay at airport hotels for 1 night trips. I did research all San Antonio hotels within the Hilton selections and settled on this hotel due to the previous high reviews and price. Hotel was easy to locate. I rented a car but they do offer airport shuttle service on the 1/2 hour. Front reception was professional and friendly and gave me detailed directions for my meeting downtown. Hotel undergoing renovations but did not interfere with any areas I was in. Room was large, clean and modern. I asked front desk if they had umbrellas to purchase and they lent me one on the spot. Sleep was very comfortable and quiet. View on back side of hotel was of a large water tank but I wasn't there for the view. Breakfast was great with lots of options. There's an Applebees across the street.

Room Tip: Room 208 was on the back side of hotel away from the elevators. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio - Airport

Address: 8902 Jones Maltsberger Road, San Antonio, TX 78216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > North Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#30 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio - Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Airport hotel is situated near the San Antonio International Airport, about five minutes from the convention center and in easy reach of dining, shopping and major San Antonio attractions. Relax in comfort at the Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Airport hotel. Stay connected with free high-speed internet access and curl up in front of the cable TV. Enjoy an invigorating work out in the exercise room and plunge into the swimming pool. Host a meeting in the professional meeting spaces and use the business center with copy and fax services. Lastly, start your day with us each morning with a free hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, AAA Travel Services, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Airport Hotel San Antonio
Hampton Inn And Suites San Antonio-Airport
Hampton Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio - Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.