We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a Great Day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio - Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio - Airport to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio - Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8902 Jones Maltsberger Road, San Antonio, TX 78216 (North Central)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Park, Stay & Go
Ranked #31 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
houston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always a Great Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel is ALWAYS clean and the staff is always very friendly. Our last stay we had a leaking air conditioner, they moved us to another room across the hall and them refunded 100% of the night's stay. Extremely impressed

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    82
    39
    14
    3
See reviews for
118
54
30
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

I am a long time traveler staying at Holiday Inn Express. About 6 months ago I was traveling with colleagues that all stay at Hilton properties and we landed at a Hampton. It was so nice ( not this location) that I started booking at Hampton Inns. The service and rooms were consistently good. Until this San Antonio location. The front desk was careless about shuttle times - in case they don't tell you it runs twice an jour - every half hour on the hour and half hour. I asked twice and was never told that and ended up missing a shuttle. To their credit, they did come back for me. The AC in the room emitted a smell of oil, or something that smelled like it was burning. Pretty disconcerting for a anyone to get a good sleep. The fitness center has working equipment- but you have to get the front desk to let you in if you are before 6. I ended up waking the halls and stairwells for 30 minutes as the person with the key was on a shuttle run when I wanted access. I guess there is only one key? With a few sweeps of attention this Hampton Inn can be like the others that encouraged my decision to switch brands. I am hopin this is a lone example of substandard and not becoming a norm....

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southeastern US
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We had a flight that arrived too late to make going to our hotel downtown on the River Walk all that practical. We decided to stay at the pretty highly rated Hampton Inn and Suites near the airport. If you stay there, be aware that the room rates vary TREMENDOUSLY. I originally reserved the room at a 149.00/night rate, and when I checked the HiltonHonors website for a phone number, I saw that the rates had been dropped to 89.00/night. I called the hotel itself to ask for the lower rate, and they gave me no problem with changing it, but I imagine that I'd have been charged the higher rate had I not called. The rooms were reasonably decorated and appeared clean, but they are aging and it's time for new carpet and draperies. It was quiet, and the breakfast attendant was very solicitous, but the variety of breakfast items was smaller than usual at a Hampton Inn. All in all, it was OK, and for the price...not too bad. That being said, I'd probably not stay there again if I could find a place that was newer, if not, I'd be ok with the place for under 100.00/night. I'd not be at all happy with the 149.00 rate, tho...too much competition in the area for the age/condition.

Room Tip: Be aware that the elevators are noisy, and that they are small and slow. There is no beer/wine avai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waco,tx, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were late checking in tired and too exhausted to wage conflict with the staff over the "upgrade" they gave us into the Niagra Falls like constant runninh water in the low flow toilet. finally my wife put put a towel over the toilet and another in front of the bathroom. when I toke the desk clerk the next day she either did not speak English or did not care

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

As a Diamond Hilton Member I cannot provide a favorable review of this property. Upon arrival the desk agent did not address me by name, let alone politely or professionally. If an agent is not going to address a guest by name they should, at a minimum address a guest as "sir" or "ma'am". This was not to be. My status was not recognized, there was not required appreciation for being a Hilton member, no mention of room upgrade and no description of amenities other than breakfast starts at 6. The rooms are adequate although do not be fooled by the amenities lists for this site. It appears limited or no rooms have fridges or microwaves. When it was discovered the rooms my team were occupying did not have fridges we requested to have a packaged for travel food product stored in their kitchen unit and were denied. No offer of sending a portable unit at an additional charge, no offer of anything. The rooms and bathrooms were in fact very clean, the work space more than adequate although the WiFi lacked bandwidth. This location is rather close to one of the main inter city highways though the noise was minimal. The Cable selections offered a vast selection of channels but the TV volume had to be near maximum to hear it across the room in bed. The best part of this Hampton experience was the proximity of the airport ( less than 5 minutes) and the great personality of the airport shuttle driver. He was engaging, professional and of great assistance with bags. All in all this Hampton is good for one night coming in or leaving town. I would not recommend it for any other purpose.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great Staff, Clean Room, Good Location from Airport, Free Shuttle, Close to Restaurants & the Mgr. Delma Luckey was super. Was our 1st time here. A great one night stay on the way to Cancun, Mexico. All we needed for a nice stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, Georgia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Upon walking in we were very impressed with the large sitting/breakfast area. Clean, bright and fresh. The room and bathroom were both very clean. Very close to the airport. Staff was courteous but I would not call them overly friendly. The breakfast is good and plentiful with hot and cold items-good selection. I was disappointed that for each AM of our 3 day stay the egg selection contained ham. I noted this on my exit survey they requested and I have to say I was impressed the manager responded and stated they will at least consider other options for either vegetarians or those that do not eat pork. Only other quirky thing was their eletrical situation. When we got into our room, our lamps were unplugged and the clock was wrong. We could not figure out how to set the time and the front desk didn't know how either. Minor but an annoyance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio - Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio - Airport

Address: 8902 Jones Maltsberger Road, San Antonio, TX 78216
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > North Central
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#25 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio - Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Airport hotel is situated near the San Antonio International Airport, about five minutes from the convention center and in easy reach of dining, shopping and major San Antonio attractions. Relax in comfort at the Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Airport hotel. Stay connected with free high-speed internet access and curl up in front of the cable TV. Enjoy an invigorating work out in the exercise room and plunge into the swimming pool. Host a meeting in the professional meeting spaces and use the business center with copy and fax services. Lastly, start your day with us each morning with a free hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio - Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Airport Hotel San Antonio
Hampton Inn And Suites San Antonio-Airport
Hampton Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio - Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.