We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Howlin Great Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howl at the Moon Saloon

Howl at the Moon Saloon
111 West Crockett Street, Suite 201, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)
1-210-212-4770
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 107 Nightlife in San Antonio
Type: Bar/ Clubs, Bars
Attraction details
Centerville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Howlin Great Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent a week in San Antonio and spent most evenings enjoying the Riverwalk, a short walk from our hotel. Besides the great food we wanted some night life since this was our first empty nester trip.

We found Howl at the Moon and decided to look into it. We found the web site and became members that gave us free entry for one and a guest so we didn't have to pay the cover for the first visit. What a great promotional idea.

This is a dueling piano bar where they play requests for the most part and have a very eclectic mix of pianoists and songs. There wasn't one request that at least one of the pianoist could handle. The artists kept it so much fun teasing each other and at times the crowd especially for the birthday celebrants.

The drinks were reasonable and they had a few specials worth trying out. Their food came from Planet Hollywood but was good.

We spent over two hours there enjoying the music, antics and hi-jinks. We had so much fun we came back for once last night before we headed back home. I even wnet back when I came back to San Antonio for business and had to travel a bit to get there.

Since then we have tried a dueling piano bar in Columbus Ohio with some friends and while it was nice and fun it didn't have the same atmosphere. We are looking forward to gathering a crowd and travel to Howl at the Moon in Indianapolis soon

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    40
    11
    10
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

After dinner with friends, decided to visit Howl at the Moon. Overall it provides great entertainment. Not a bar to go to if you want to able to talk as it is quite loud. The location is excellent, right on the Riverwalk. Get there early if you plan to get a table. There are a few and they are either reserved or are taken minutes after opening. You may have to stand for the entire night. Also if you don't get there early you will have to wait outside as they can only let so many people in at one time. It is quite expensive, we had a $36 cover for 4 people and that was with 2 discounts. Drinks are a little high priced as well. So be prepared for $100 or more for a couples night out- that's without dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, NE
Top Contributor
369 reviews 369 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Packed house!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I've been to many piano bars and this location is among my favorites. The players were very good. The place was crazy packed but that's part of the fun I think.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiner,Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Always a blast....if you don't mind the wait”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place is always fun, but always crowded and the line is usually out the door and around the corner.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bringing down the house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great atomosphere. Fantastic live band and plenty of good alcohol. Fun and attentive wait staff. Great place to finish the night!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howl at the Moon Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Howl at the Moon Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howl at the Moon Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.