We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for a Thursday.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howl at the Moon Saloon

Howl at the Moon Saloon
111 West Crockett Street, Suite 201, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)
1-210-212-4770
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 104 nightlife in San Antonio
Type: Bar/ Clubs
Attraction Details
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Ok for a Thursday.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We met friends here after convention. Very crowded not enough tables which I guess is a good thing for business. Drinks are very pricey. If you are looking for a place to dance I would go elsewhere. Dance floor is tiny.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    36
    9
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Grove, Utah
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A good piano bar”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Made it a point to visit and it was ok. Make sure you take your ID because they ID everyone no matter how old you are - no ID no admittance. Packed house. Lots of entertainers and they changed up often. Good sound and good variety of music. Very few servers so if you wanted a drink you went to the bar and got it yourself.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Go for New Years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I've been to various other Howl at the Moon locations and love it everytime. The music is always amazing and very entertaining. Got the New Years package and yes it is expensive, but having a table, early access to the bar, party favors and dinner was worth it. My boyfriend and I shared a table with a few other couples and had a blast. Drinks and the NYE packages are expensive, but its New Years!, Go all out!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A lot of fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Howl at the Moon is a FUN place for a date night.

We had an absolute blast here when we visited.

Cover charge of 7$.

Arrive EARLY! This place gets packed fast.

Some friends of ours had told us the name of the bar but not really what to expect. I'm glad they didn't.

The bar is arranged so that you have main stage along one wall, seating on the other wall and two bars at either side of the seating.

We sat down right before the show started. It's basically dueling pianos and several other instrument 'stations'. The musicians rotate around the stage, playing everything from drums, piano, base, lead guitar and even the fiddle. And let me tell you, these guys are talented!!! They know so many songs from several generations of music. And they are funny too. We were laughing and singing practically the entire time.

The bars have wide variety of beverages to choose from. If you want to have a really good time, get a 'booze bucket'. You'll want to share this with your date because it packs a punch!

We've been to the location in Houston too and love this place.

It's a little pricey but well worth it.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baytown, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beware of the nachos!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We arrived early on a Thursday. The cover is 7.00 per person. The show starts at 7:30. The entertainers are very good and seemed to multiply as time went on. They are each able to play multiple instruments, very well. The place filled up rapidly so we were happy we had scored a good table. The wait staff was very attentive. The mixed drinks were good but they have no beer on tap and the bottle beer is not that cold. However what ruined the night was ordering nachos offered by a waitress from the Hard Rock Cafe next door. We ordered the nachos which were $10.79....OK. But then the waitress asked if we wanted meat and guacamole. The wife said OK. About 20 minutes later she shows up with the nachos and says she will be right back as she has another order to get to a table. So we start eating. The nachos were good. She returns in about 10 minutes and says that will be 23.50 for the nachos, not including any tip!!!! Not good! Chopped fajita meat and guacamole is very pricey. Needless to say this shortened our time there. Eat before you go and enjoy the live entertainment and mixed drinks.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Howl at the Moon Saloon also viewed

San Antonio, TX
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to Howl at the Moon Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howl at the Moon Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Howl at the Moon Saloon to your Saves list