We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best western - best hotel !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Garden Inn

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Garden Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Garden Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   11939 I-H 35 N, San Antonio, TX 78233-5312 (Northeast San Antonio)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #83 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Braintree, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best western - best hotel !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We thought this was excellent value for money. Clean. Friendly staff. Great breakfast. Would recommend highly? Easy to access. Wifi was speedy. Hotel was the best we had had since starting our trip and as we liked it so much we decided to stay two nights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGardenInnSA, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We thank you for taking the time to post your feedback as it truly helps so we can ensure the property and the staff are meeting your needs. I am glad to hear that you found the value of our hotel exceptional for the price you paid. We do try to provide our guests with as many free amenities such as breakfast, high speed wi-fi, fitness center, and business center. We hope you visit San Antonio again soon and that you remember to stay with us at the Best Western Garden Inn in San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    26
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
34
25
5
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The staff was extremely friendly and hospitable. The property was nice and the rooms were excellent. The breakfast was excellent as well. It was a little tricky to get to the property from the freeway but it was worth it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGardenInnSA, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you providing us with comments about your recent stay at our hotel and we are glad to hear that you had a nice stay with us. It is encouraging that you had excellent stay at our hotel, as we try our best to make sure everything is as perfect as possible from the cleanliness of the rooms to our breakfast each morning. In the coming months the hotel is planning many upgrades to the rooms. So we hope that when you are in the area again you will stay with us. Please feel free to call the hotel and we can provide exact directions to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We have stayed here many times over the years and we love the jacuzzi suite. We always get a smoking room and usually the smell is awful but this time it was hardly noticeable and that was really nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGardenInnSA, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We are very glad that you enjoyed the Jacuzzi Suite. We do have a few smoking rooms and we always air out the rooms so that they have a nice fresh smell to them. I hope to see you soon in the future. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the hotel. We appreciate the positive feedback and strive to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at the hotel while attending a Texas State Square and Round Dancing festival at Schertz, staying over three nights. When we arrived, the first thing we noticed was the lack of parking near the hotel because of the location of the pool. This made it a little difficult to get out bags and hanging clothing from the car to the second-floor room, but that's not too out of the ordinary. We were willing to take that into consideration because it was one of the few hotels .. and the only Best Western in the area that we were able to find .. that had any smoking rooms (for my wife).

The room itself, for a smoking room, was remarkably fresh and clean, with little trace of previous smokers. With the exception of the refrigerator, all of the appliances worked fine and the wireless internet was fast and easy to access.. It was after six o'clock when we discovered that the refrigerator wasn't working and called the main desk. In less than five minutes, someone came up and looked at the refrigerator and, after fiddling with it for a few minutes to see if it had been simply turned off, agreed that it wasn't working. Less than five minutes after that, he had brought in a new refrigerator as a replacement, and had it up and running and was out of the room with the old one. WONDERFUL SERVICE.

The location was fine for what we wanted, a smoking room within 15 minutes of the dance venue in Schertz. We also discovered that it was very quick and easy to get to Alamo Plaza. from there, as well as numerous eating establishments.

The continental breakfast was normal for Best Western, and was filling enough to ensure that it kept us going until brunch/lunch while we were out and about. We didn't use the pool .. about the time that we arrived, San Antonio got the brunt of a cold front and the temperatures plunged into the 40's and 50's at night, and only into the 50's and 60's during the day. So swimming was out. We didn't use the gym/workout room either because we were saving our strength for nights of square-dancing.

The beds were comfortable and the maids .. I guess they're still called "maids", aren't they? .. kept our room clean and amply stocked with towels, sheets, and the other necessities such as toilet paper, coffee cups, and coffee . They were very happy to give us whatever extras we requested, such as additional towels and coffee cups. Very friendly, efficient, and courteous, as were those at the front desk as well..

Overall, we had an excellent stay. My wife and I use these square-dancing trips to relax and, for the most part, just do nothing except for the evening square-dance events, that being quite a change from our normal weekeend rat-race of home and yard repair and maintenance. And this trip was very relaxing .. even considering that we had my sister-in-law along for the ride and sharing the room with us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGardenInnSA, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
I want to Thank You for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad to hear that you had a pleasant experience. The hotel staff tries to make each guest’s experience enjoyable and solves any issues that arise promptly. When reading reviews like yours it gives the staff the assurance that we are doing our job the right way. I see you enjoyed our breakfast that we include for every guest and we keep improving the breakfast set-up. Also, the hotel does have a fitness room and business center with a printer for every guest’s use. We hope that your next stay in San Antonio will be with us and hopefully in the summer time so you will be able to enjoy the swimming pool. Furthermore, the hotel does have limited smoking rooms, however, please call ahead of time and request a room closer to the parking area. We try to accommodate guests the best we can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I had reviewed TripAdvisor prior to a weekend trip. San Antonio hotels can still be pricey in August even with a 2-week advance purchase. Arranged a stay at BestWestern for it's 2-week advance price that I was comfortable with. This hotel is not a super quick drive to downtown attractions, you may hit traffic as well. But, for my party, we were very content with the drive. This hotel seems close enough to a waterpark in the area. No restaurants were close, but a quick drive down a few exits provided some commonly known restaurants.

The room was perfectly chilled the way I like it, the A/C was fabulous- I love it when hotel rooms let me choose my temperature--- I prefer 64-67. The rooms are supposed to be smoke-free, but my party could smell that a smoker had visited- it wasn't heavy, but noticeable. Room was small, decent Queen beds were clean with small fluffy pillows. Table & chairs included. Older TV in room, good reception. Split bathroom, sink countertop tiny. Tiny toilet/tub area. Plenty of towels & washclothes & handtowels. Toilets seemed really low. Maids were quick to tidy the room & refreshen our towel stock.

Breakfast was Texas waffles-only one waffle maker made for long lines around 9 a.m. Cereal & Juices well stocked. Hot biscuits and watery gravy were available. Nice to watch TV while eating. Small breakfast dining area. Friendly evening & day staff worked the lobby.

Pool was a nice rectangular, depth of 5 feet, entrances on all 4 corners of pool. Crystal clear, tidy, and made for decent lap swimming. Parking was limited, but an open dirt area was used by trucks & cars alike. Trees lined the parking lot though, and so your car could stay cool in the shade--very nice Perk while in Texas. Ice & Vending machines are well-placed.

Overall a good hotel for a decent price, I'd price the place at $70, anymore than that I would be uncomfortable. I gave extra in ratings primarily for the fabulous A/C in our room--my sleep & value ratings reflect this.

Room Tip: Shop in Advance--2 week advance purchase can save you 10-15% PLUS stay during the week, it can save...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWGardenInnSA, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience online. Our hotel is about 15 minutes from downtown, however, with August traffic it does take extra time. We are very close to Schlitterbhan Waterpark, Splashtown Waterpark, Natural Bridge Caverns and Morgan’s Wonderland. We do not have restaurants within walking distance but within two miles of the hotel there are about 20 to 30 restaurants. The hotel is improving/ upgrading to newer TVs along with other improvements. The hotel staff does appreciate the kind words and it helps us to know that we are doing a good job. The Texas waffles are very popular and the lines are long especially in June, July and August. Perhaps a second waffle machine will make a great improvement to our breakfast area. The hotel does have soda and ice machines located on both floors. We also provide coin washer and dryer for laundry on the first floor. I am glad you liked the value of the hotel and hope to see you next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We had a good experience staying here. We drove in from Kanas City. We stayed 4 nights in a double queen room & my parents had king room. No complaints from us. Rooms were clean and the pool was great. The staff was great. The breakfast was a typical free contenintal. We check out tomorrow, and would reccommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Garden Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Garden Inn

Address: 11939 I-H 35 N, San Antonio, TX 78233-5312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northeast San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
#43 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#45 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — BEST WESTERN Garden Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Garden Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Garden Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.