We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Contessa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Contessa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Relaxing Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersBronze level
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Awesome rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had a couple's getaway trip and we decided to go to San Antonio and we had an awesome stay at the hotel Contesa. Friendly staff and next to the river walk. You had an great bar and restaurant at the hotel and awesome roof top pool! Great view at night ;)

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Contessa, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Chinita4U,
We are so glad to know that your couple's getaway trip made for an awesome stay at Hotel Contessa. Thanks for taking note of our friendly staff and the great river walk location. We are also glad that you were able to enjoy Cork Bar and Las Ramblas. We also agree with you about the view at our awesome roof top pool at night ..........just incredible! Thank you for the great review.
Les Utley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,625 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,056
    355
    97
    60
    57
See reviews for
406
514
47
337
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Not only was the staff nice and courteous, but the were helpful and extremely friendly. Everyone I came in contact with was concerned if everything was meeting my expectations, from the cleaning staff all the way up. The food was excellent, the location was great and the rooms were excellent.
I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Contessa, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Judy H,
We are happy to hear that you found our staff to be nice, courteous, helpful and extremely friendly. It's also great to know that the food was excellent, the location was great and the rooms were excellent. All of these points are goals that we strive to deliver to each and every guest. Best of all, we are so happy to know that you would definitely stay with us again! We hope you do soon!
Les Utley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockledge, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Absolutely wonderful hotel! Everything about our stay was perfect. The perfect stay started with the friendly greeting by the staff when we arrived and continued throughout our stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is beautiful and managed superbly. The room was very plush and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable...just like home. My wife and I have traveled extensively throughout the U.S. and have traveled overseas. I can say, without reservation, the Hotel Contessa is one of the very best hotels we've ever stayed in.
I highly recommend staying there...I know we will stay there again when our travel plans take us to San Antonio. Plus, the hotel is on the River Walk and provides easy access to all the hot spots in San Antonio.
Thank you Les Utley for very enjoyable stay at your hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed on the ninth floor near the elevator which can be a problem for noise. Our room was so qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Contessa, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear LK4077,
We are so very happy to hear that you enjoyed a wonderful stay with us and that the staff was very friendly and helpful throughout your visit. We especially appreciate you highly recommending others staying with us. But, knowing that you will stay here again when your travel plans bring you back to San Antonio is the highest compliment of all!
Thank you!
Les Utley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and we have only good things to say. We had a great stay the last time we were in San Antonio (1986) at another hotel and wanted to make sure it was good this time, so we booked the best hotel we could afford and that was available on TripAdvisor. The reviews were right, this hotel is fantastic. Everything is immaculate ... beautiful, friendly personnel (all of them we met!) and romantic and clean and gorgeous. The pool and hot tub on the top floor (as well as the workout room with fantastic equipment) were amazing too - and not too crowded. San Antonio itself did not disappoint either - very nice place to go. To sum up - my wife told me many times during our stay - "Oh, thank you for taking me here!" What else needs to be said?!

Room Tip: We had a room on River side overlooking the Riverwalk - would recommend this if you are up a few flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Contessa, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear bstr03,
We are happy to know that you found our hotel to be fantastic, immaculate, beautiful, romantic, clean, gorgeous with a friendly staff. We think that you covered it all and we appreciate your high praise! Like your wife....we thank you for bringing her here too!
Les Utley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Show Low, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I would never stay any place else other then here when in San Antonio, the staff was amazing and the rooms are so beautiful. The food in the restaurant downstairs is awesome, I had their kobe beef and it was to die for. I could see the river walk from my room. The view from the room was nice to wake up to.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Contessa, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear CrystalE,
We totally agree with you and would never want you to stay any place else other then here when in San Antonio! We are glad that you found the staff amazing and the rooms so beautiful. We also agree with you about food in Las rambles being just simply awesome. Even though you thought that the kobe beef was to die for....no need to die...we'd rather you live to visit us again! Thank you for sharing your fabulous review with the others on TripAdvisor.
Les Utley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The staff at this hotel was exceptional. They followed up on and guaranteed anything I requested and were always cheerful and friendly. The room was very clean and beautiful. I will certainly return to this hotel any time I am in San Antonio.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Contessa, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear K10B,
We appreciate your short yet very positive review of our hotel. We appreciate you recognizing the staff as exceptional, cheerful and friendly while also noting the room to be very clean and beautiful. Most rewarding though is your intent to return to us next time you plan to visit San Antonio!
Thanks!
Les Utley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My first stay at this property, and, indeed, my first trip to San Antonio. The Hotel is impressive, comfortable, and, most importantly, very clean with staff who obviously care about their place of employment. I did not have an opportunity to sample any of their services beyond the comfortable beds and great location, but I do plan on coming back! Well done Hotel Contessa and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Contessa, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Racerike,
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your first trip to San Antonio and found our hotel to be impressive, comfortable, and, most importantly, very clean with staff who cares!. We are very pleased to know that you plan to return and we appreciate your supportive review!
Les Utley
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#1 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#2 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Contessa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.