We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Truly Fabulous Experience on San Antonio's Riverwalk!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Contessa to your Saves list
Hotel Contessa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Truly Fabulous Experience on San Antonio's Riverwalk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Where to begin? I recently stayed at Hotel Contessa on business, and from the moment I walked in to the moment I left, it was a great stay all around. The property was gorgeous! The guest rooms were lovely and spotless; the food in the restaurant was stellar. But the most outstanding thing about this property was the service; I cannot say enough about how amazing the staff was. On our very first day, Jaro recommended Acenar for some of the best Tex-Mex I have ever had. James, George and Maria made our restaurant visits something to remember, and most of all, Ismael's service on the conference floor was nothing short of stellar. There was not a single staff member that was not friendly, warm and accommodating throughout our entire visit. To top all of that off, when I answered their post stay questionnaire, the general manager responded to me personally...who takes the time to do that these days? Amazing.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. If I ever return to San Antonio, I'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,333
    441
    118
    69
    64
See reviews for
487
645
54
446
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

This stay could not have been any better! The staff is very professional, very friendly and accomodating. The rooms are very nice, comfortable, clean and roomy. Excellent location on the Riverwalk. This was our second time staying at Hotel Contessa and it will not be my last. I totally LOVE this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thicket, TX
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

My wife and I cannot say enough good things about The Hotel Contessa! I knew nothing about this hotel when I was booking our trip to San Antonio, but decided to give it a chance. I'm certainly glad I did. From the time we arrived until we departed we experienced wonderful service by the entire staff. The room was very nice, with a great view of the Riverwalk and Marriage Island, but most of all it was roomy, cool and quiet. We really enjoyed their breakfast buffet. We will definently stay at the Contessa anytime we are in San Antonio.

Room Tip: The 4th floor overlooking the Riverwalk is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola Beach, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Hotel Contessa was my home for 4 nights and they hosted a hotel software users conference. I certainly was not sure what to expect from San Antonio, the riverwalk and the San Antonions. I must recognize a few employees everyone was EXCEPTIONAL but if you can believe me some were extraexceptional from sweet Luis who was always there to open the door and helped me escape the wind( didn't expect it to that windy in the city) to Ishmel (I hope I spelled that correctly) who is genuine in his concerns for your comfort to Jesus the warm maintenance man to the funny bellman/porter who helped me at checkout and the entire Las Ramblas staff servers, managers, cooks. Everyone seemed...not HAPPY to be at work but PROUD to be of service and an employee of such a beautiful establishment. The service far exceeding my expectations. That is ALWAYS the goal.
The rooms- all suites, all gorgeously rustic in decor, comfy, quiet and from faucets to lamps to linens---good stuff. Views were..city...I love views of water(that river does not count) ...no marks for that...
Food- O.M.G delish. The bead pudding was heavenly and the sweet pastry chef even went out of her way to give us the recipe and some secrets! The braised beef, Cornish hens, fruit, EVERYTHING was fresh and unique. I believe the restaurant management slept there..I always saw them. Texas as a whole needs sweet tea...not the hotel's fault but I was homesick by lunch on day two.
The Hotel- beautiful
Location- close enough to enough things. Plenty of food, bars, attractions within a short walk but you get lost in the beauty of the city's history which is apparent in the architectural designs.

side note.....The staff treated each other almost as well as they treated guests. Managers to staff, staff to staff. It was nice to see.

So in a nutshell, as a hospitality professional I am always processing my industry experiences and don't rave often and rarely return to a place as I love to try new things. I am appreciative for my experience here, will return and highly recommend the Hotel Contessa.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Where do I start! We had a conference for 120 people - a jam packed week with educational sessions, events, lunches, breaks, dinner, and lots of audio/visual needs! It was a huge success! Both our staff and guests were treated like Royalty from day 1 till we left. The property was beautiful, rooms were huge, location was minutes from everywhere.

The team here is incredible! Patricia (PJ) was gracious and patient with us and had great suggestions for events! Richard is the go to guy for everything! Ismael made us feel like Royalty and was the star of the conference with his big smile greeting everyday! Chris handled all our technical and A/V needs and is a guru - nothing stumped him! James went above and beyond to provide personal attention and helped us with our special requests!

There were so many great folks here the list is long - but was by far the best conference and experience we've had in all the years we've been doing the conferences!

Thanks all! Highly recommended\

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Just had our conference at Hotel Contessa. The banquet team was amazing!!! Specially Ismael. He was always happy and very friendly. The food and rooms were also outstanding. The location of the hotel was perfect - right on the River Walk!

Everyone left with a smile ;)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Clean property, comfortable beds, good service and great food what else could a traveller want ?
We are here for a conference and the arrangements are impeccable. Have to mention Ismael who is always there to great and serve the hotel guests...a wonderful person who I would love to take back to my resort !!!!!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, EasyToBook and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Contessa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.