We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, friendly and helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Contessa to your Saves list
Hotel Contessa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Beautiful hotel, friendly and helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I came here for our one year anniversary and are so glad we did! The great service started with our bell boy, Mando. We do not stay in fancy hotels often, but he made us feel very comfortable with his friendly attitude. We also had just come from a long road trip and had tons of camping stuff to take out before getting to our bags. Mando was very patient and helpful through all of that and he even helped us fill up our ice chest with ice. The room was beautiful with very comfortable beds. The food at las ramblas was delicious. Stay during the week, however, because the weekend got very busy and crowded.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,433
    465
    128
    73
    64
See reviews for
530
678
55
492
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (598)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tomball, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Awesome hotel in every aspect except one....daily parking fee of $30! This was almost a 1/4 of my hotel cost! The Contessa provides excellent service from the valet, front desk, dining, etc. Great location on the river walk, VERY cool vibe & comfortable bedding! In the evening at the pool you have 3 beautiful views of the city skyline. A couple of nice touches.......fresh apples by the elevator & 2 happy hours....yes, I said it, 2 happy hours, one early evening & one from 10p-11p. I've visited several riverwalk/downtown hotels in San Antonio this year and most of them are not very well kept---it's odd---it's not just one chain or one independent hotel, it's all of them (Hilton, Omni, Drury Inn, Marriotts, Tropicana, etc.); I can only assume it's the workers---BUT the Contessa must have the cream of the crop employees or great management b/c their hotel was by far the best maintained property. I highly recommend this hotel just be ready for the $30 parking fee.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RatherNotSay
Level Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

You won't be disappointed by this large-suite luxury hotel. It is directly in the heart of where you want to be, perfectly situated within easy walking distance of nearly everything you'd want to see or get to (including public transportation). The staff's helpfulness was off the charts. Your arrival and departure every day is a warm greeting, and you feel completely at ease as though everyone there just wants to make sure you have a relaxing, wonderful time. One of the bellman, Eddie, helped us on a number of occasions, from finding a bbq place to arranging our airport taxi and stowing our luggage for our last morning there. The Hotel Contessa's patio on the Riverwalk is the prettiest one I saw during our visit -- don't hesitate on booking here, it's wonderful! Rooftop pool and deck is fantastic as well!

Room Tip: We had a city view room which I think can be just as nice as the river view rooms - watching the cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Everyone was so helpful. Eddie G.was friendly and nice always willing to make the stay pleasant. The front desk people were very accommodating. Rooms were clean and neat. Rooftop pool was fabulous looking over the city. I look forward to coming back.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Friendly staff, nice rooms, and great location! We stay here every time we come to San Antonio!!! Workout facilities and pool are nice and great for the family. The river walk area is peaceful and a nice place to relax as well.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Great staff, great rooms and excellent location on the riverwalk. Will stay here again. The only improvement I suggest is to find a way to speed up the customers that chat in the valet area instead of hurrying to load their vehicles to allow for more cars to circle through. I experienced this during check out at the valet area and it was frustrating to see vehicles blocking the area for 30+ minutes while the rest of us waited for space to load our vehicles. This also tied up the guys getting the vehicles from the hotel too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
146 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

In town for business and have stayed here a couple of times. I think this is the only real choice for a 5 star stay downtown. Service is excellent and attentive. When I was there the one time, the phone system died and they made a point to inform me. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#1 of 352 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 902 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#4 of 352 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#18 of 352 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,152 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
#15 of 352 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,879 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk
#21 of 352 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Priceline, BookIt.com, HotelsClick, Venere, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Contessa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.