We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms, Slow WiFi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Contessa to your Saves list
Hotel Contessa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Rooms, Slow WiFi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our room (an executive suite with a city view) was spacious and beautiful, with elegant and sophisticated decorations and a comfortable bed. My daughter claimed the pull-out sofa was not as comfortable, however. The bathroom was also spacious and well-designed, however the shower head didn’t provide as much coverage as I would have liked, so I found myself having to move around a lot to get underneath it. Also, our hairdryer was missing its button (broke off) and we had to request a new one. This should have been spotted and corrected by the staff before we arrived. I was impressed that when I called the front desk I was greeted immediately by name. The WiFi service was EXCRUCIATINGLY slow. I do like how this hotel is on the quieter side of the Riverwalk. There is a very nicely equipped fitness room with a great view of the city (and per-unit television screens, if you prefer). The rooftop, heated pool is small and every time we went up there, both day and night, it was full of people (kids, mostly).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,430
    465
    128
    72
    64
See reviews for
528
677
55
491
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (597)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great experience; we stayed here for two nights. A little rough upon check-in; our room was not ready (and we were not too early), and we had to sit out in the lobby and wait for 30 minutes. They were apologetic and kind, I just thought that was a little weird. The suite was very nice, we had a river view on the 4th floor. Good layout, suite arrangement. One odd thing is that the bathroom has these double doors that fling back against the wall. Very attractive, but then when you want to use the bathroom, you must pull both doors closed, and there is no lock.
They had a nice little happy hour with $5 drinks and a decent assortment of tapas. Our teenaged sons immediately went to the rooftop pool (wonderful!) while we enjoyed the river with a cocktail. I used the fitness center both days, nicely laid out with a sweeping view of the city. We did not use the spa services. The location of the hotel is wonderful, you can walk to all the main attractions (well, we drove to Mission trail, and I would recommend that you do not walk this sorta icky stretch of road). We used the parking garage across the street, not the hotel's valet service. The hotel valets were great at helping us determine which would be best for us (in/out privileges, daily rate, and so forth).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We absolutely loved everything about the Hotel Contessa! We stayed for 3 nights. Great location on a quiet spot on the Riverwalk. Beautiful hotel. large spacious suite. We had a room with a river view and it was very quiet. Everyone we came in contact with was so pleasant and helpful, from the front desk to the valet. We had a wonderful breakfast in the restaurant, great food and service. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 weekend nights. Stay was very nice. Of particular mention are Patrick, the maitre 'de of Las Ramblas, George, our server at Sat. morning breakfast, and the morning bartender/barista at The Cork bar. They all provided great service to make our stay enjoyable. $30/day valet parking is steep, but car arrived quickly when called for. We have no complaints about noise from river or traffic; we slept fine. We're early risers (by 7 each day) so if you want to sleep in, traffic might be a problem, but for us it was no trouble. It is a short walk along the river to most anywhere, and it is definitely a quieter section of the river compared to vicinity of rivercenter mall. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The rooms are clean, you get a very good value for what you pay. All rooms have living rooms and two TV's. Some rooms are nicer than others just do the fact that they are located in a different space in the hotel and the "feng shui" is better. The service was great at the hotel but if they are busy the valet can take a long time. It is convenient to walk around the river walk at this hotel. Watch out not to spend too much at the bar!

Room Tip: It seems the corner rooms are bigger and there is more light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Right on the River Walk, beautiful hotel, with exceptional staff. A particular note was Eddie G, a doorman who excelled at his job. He learned our name on the first day and always remembered us. It made the stay very personal. The only surprises were the cost of the valet parking at $30/day (car was brought up promptly and courteously on request) and the fact they closed the pool for some maintenance for the duration. Nonetheless I would highly recommend this hotel, it is one of the best.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long beach, ca
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My daughter and I arrived at the hotel at 5:30 am after a two day train ride, needless to say we were looking very pathetic. The front desk was able to check us in no problem for a $40.00 surcharge which I was more than happy to pay and thought very appropriate. We then decided to eat breakfast before sleep and although the restaurant did not open until 6:30 Michael the manager offered my 8y/o cereal and anything off the buffet that was available. Everyone was so accommodating. Now the room, beautiful, large and oh so comfortable. Finally locaton, right on the Riverwalk. Thake a left and you are a 2 minute walk away from a whole host of restaurants or take a left and there is a nice Italian place associated with the hotel next door. Would stay there again without question.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#1 of 352 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 901 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#5 of 352 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#17 of 352 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 2,148 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk
#15 of 352 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,876 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk
Drury Inn & Suites Riverwalk
#22 of 352 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookIt.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Contessa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.