We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Contessa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Contessa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Relaxing Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 352 hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I stayed at the Contessa Jan. 17 through the 20 and it was lovely. The room was huge with a nice layout. There was a door to close off the bed"room." It was very clean and well maintained.
We stayed on the top floor and at the north end. There were some noise issues. We could hear garbage trucks in the morning and the ice machine was very loud.
The roof top pool was heated and the hot tub was great. We used them every morning.
The location was very convienient

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,092
    367
    99
    61
    60
See reviews for
425
529
49
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

There are some things we've come to appreciate in our first year of being parents. Not least on the list is a comfortable hotel suite - that's right, suite. With experience comes the realization that it's not much fun lying on the bed in the dark at 8 pm, killing time on our phones and laptop, trying to be absolutely quiet while our restless baby tries to sleep in the pack and play a mere 6 feet away. It's now a requirement that our room have a separate living area so that we can tuck the baby into bed, close the door and enjoy some adult time. So we were absolutely pleased that Hotel Contessa offers just that - a spacious bedroom, a large bathroom, and a separate living area with chair, couch and tv. The hotel also has a well-equiped gym and a lovely rooftop pool and hot tub. We also enjoyed the comfortable lounge/bar area on the main floor, and the complimentary morning coffee. Location is fantastic as well - directly on the riverwalk. I would highly recommend the Hotel Contessa, and hope to be back again soon!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Riverwalk
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel and good value for your money, the rooms have a living area and bedroom, although not a very large bedroom. Our River View room was nice except the traffic noises and the loud bus stop at the street level. The service from the concierge was great. Also I would recommend the Woodhouse Spa at this facility. Overall, very nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

When my daughter and I first walked into the Hotel Contessa we were very impressed. The staff was friendly. The decor was very fancy and our room looked very inviting. The pool was great. Night swimming was fun because you could see the city around you.
The biggest downfall was when I tried to get some sleep. Even though I was way up in floor levels I could here everything going on on the street below. The night club, the people walking and of course the cars stopping and going. I even tried to go into the adjacent room to pull out the sleeper sofa to see if it would be any quieter. Then I found I could here everything going on in the lobby downstairs. So, even though this hotel has the appearance of being a very nice comfortable stay, the only way you would get any sleep here is if you were dead to the world.
They really need to work on insulating the place to make it quieter for their guests.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississippi
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The staff at the hotel are very good. They go out of their way to open doors, speak to the guests - both the doormen and the front desk staff. These are the friendliest group I have encountered in a while.
The rooms are extremely nice with a suite layout. There is plenty of room for a family stay. The location on the riverwalk is just a little secluded - which makes it quiet. I found it closer to get to the restaurants via street level rather than riverwalk.
The free internet service was inconsistent. When you first log in, it worked great. After a few minutes, it slowed to non-functional. During rush hour times 7-10pm it was poor. Several of the other meeting attendees had similar experiences.
Two nights in a row, many of the TV channels stopped working at night. The first night - I just let it go. On the second night - I had to call the front desk and they re-set my tv from there and it worked again. The front desk said they would let the manager know - but, I never heard anything back.
The air conditioning was extremely quiet and functioned well.
The maid service never replenished soap or shampoo. I know this is a simple call to the front desk - but, should not be overlooked by the maid. By the end of the week, it was a close finish.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Concierge, Kathryn Allison was amazing! She worked for weeks prior to my husband & my arrival helping to research & plan days of surprises for my husband on our 14th Anniversary, including a special private dinner, in Las Rambas Restaurant. Darren Nichols, the Food & Beverge Manager coordinated a private dining room & a Mariachi Band serenaded us with ballads while Marciello, our waiter provided us with excellent service. We received very prompt attention from Aaron at the front desk whenever we needed any help. Eddie Mando is absolutely the best bellman that we've ever met. We even met Les Utley, the General Manager who personally wished us a happy anniversary. The Hotel Contessa is beautifully situated on the River and has a fantastic rooftop pool that overlooks San Antonio. My husband and I plan to stay at the hotel, again, this year.

Room Tip: Request a king suite with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel on the Riverwalk. It was centrally located and an easy walk to most everything in downtown San Antonio. Lovely patio on the river and fantastic suites, ours overlooked the river. Very helpful and friendly staff as well. All thumbs up! Valet parking was $30/day but you can park across the street (not hotel parking lot, just public) for $15/day.
Pool, work out room and spa on top floor. Great view of downtown from the pool.

Room Tip: Overlooking the river is certainly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#2 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, Priceline, TravelClick and Venere so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Contessa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.