We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel within walking distance to everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Contessa

Save Saved
You added Hotel Contessa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205 (East Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 347 hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersBronze level
East Windsor, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel within walking distance to everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

A great stay. Only issue with the room was the slow draining tub, and the stopped up toilet. Overall the room was large and clean. Also note this particular room did not have a price list for the mini bar. A bottle of water will cost you 4$ which is complimentary in many hotels. I will definitely stay here again over some of the bigger branded hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    976
    331
    89
    60
    55
See reviews for
379
478
44
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband, my daughter, and my other daughter and son-in-law spent the weekend enjoying San Antonio. It was made all the nicer because we stayed at Hotel Contessa. All the rooms are two room suites and very comfortable. The staff was wonderful too! They really aimed to please. We enjoyed the cocktail lounge one afternoon and we ate breakfast our last morning in the restaurant which overlooked the Riverwalk. Our waiter was wonderful as was the food! We only had one problem. We stayed there 3 nights. After the first night, our 2 rooms were not made up until almost 6PM the next day. We informed the front desk and they promised to fix that the next day. The next day, our rooms were made up at 2:30 (still a little late since we were gone all day). However, we really like the hotel and will stay there again when we visit San Antonio.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel seems small and quaint with charm. It has a great restaurant and bar with outdoor seating overlooking a quiet area of the river walk. The room was quite nice and bed very comfortable. This hotel is now our first choice for a stay on the river walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lago Vista, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We came for volleyball tournament and could not beat the price, the rooms are all suites, so a very large living area, hall way with counter space, coffee maker, no acces to fridge :( then seperate bedroom. Very large space and the bathroom is very nice.

ALL of the staff was very nice!

We would stay again for sure!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Clean, comfortable, quiet, accommodating, and personable. Cannot say enough. And, it is right on the river-walk. The room was more like a suite. Two TVs, a sitting room, excellent mattress, and good coffee.
I would stay again and again...
Gary

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were only able to stay for one might, but wish we could have stayed longer. The accommodations were spacious and comfortable. Chris at the front desk, graciously switched our room in order to satisfy our request for a different room location. We loved the pool and jacuzzi on the top floor. And we enjoyed the sangria served in the bar, as well as our dining experience in the restaurant. The buffet breakfast was wonderful, as well. Also, it was included with our room.. All the staff throughout the hotel were gracious and helpful in every way. Elisa, the front desk manager, was very personable and handled our check out very efficiently. We definitely would choose Hotel Contessa the next time we return to San Antonio.

Room Tip: Our first room was dark when we walked in and there was no way to really brighten it up because ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen, Texas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

The Hotel Contessa is so centrally located, that it does not mater where you are going or what you are doing, in San Antonio, this place is home. My daughter’s first concert was splendid, my wife went with her and I was able to retreat to all the great hotel amenities at my fingertips. The valet service was great and well worth the small fee. The room was clean and spacious and the view priceless. The Staff was friendly but not over-ambitious. For business or pleasure I highly recommend this hotel. The people here really care about your stay and it shows.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio
Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#2 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Contessa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.