We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Contessa to your Saves list
Hotel Contessa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I've stayed in Hotel Contessa twice and had a wonderful stay both times. The location is great, rooms are HUGE with a separate living room and huge bath, and staff very friendly. Bed was very comfortable. I ate at the bar with half price tapas during happy hour. The bartender was very friendly and the caramelized brussel sprouts with pancetta delicious!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,333
    441
    118
    69
    64
See reviews for
487
645
54
446
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (541)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex,UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This was our fourth visit to San Antonio,but our first stay at Hotel Contessa. From the moment we arrived the service and the staff were all very friendly and helpful.
We had a king suite overlooking the Riverwalk and what can I say except this hotel has been our favourite so far,would not hesitate in staying here again and would certainly recommend it. In a lovely position being on a quieter part of The Riverwalk but no more than 5 mins walk to the bars etc

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithville, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I have had the pleasure of staying at Hotel Contessa in San Antonio, Texas, several times and I can honestly say it has ALWAYS been a POSITIVE Experience. The hotel is beautiful, nice spacious clean rooms and the staff is ALWAYS willing to go the extra mile. When I look for a place in downtown San Antonio, Texas to stay... it is always Hotel Contessa. Treat yourself... this hotel is "So Worth It"!!
Tammy Schroeder

Room Tip: They are ALL Good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel during a recent trip to San Antonio. We chose it because we didn't want to stay at a chain such as Hilton or Holiday Inn because we wanted something original. Luckily it worked out because this hotel was amazing. The curb appeal was fantastic and the location on the river walk was perfect. Our room was bigger than expected and the decor wasn't the typical 'hotel' style as you always see.

The staff and management were very helpful and the concierge knew everything about the city. She gave us great advice on what attractions to visit and which ones to skip.

All and all we didn't have ANY complaints about this hotel. We will definitely return the next time we are in San Antonio!!

Room Tip: We had a room with the river walk view. We did not have a balcony so it really wasn't worth it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aubrey, Texas, United States
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I visited San Antonio over Labor Day weekend, focusing mainly on the Riverwalk. We wanted a nice hotel that was directly on the Riverwalk so we could just walk to everything. After checking the prices on a lot of hotels in the area we decided to Hotel Contessa. Their pricing was very similar to the other hotels but they offered all suites and we tend to prefer staying somewhere that isn't the regular chain-type hotel. We got a great price for pre-paying too!
We had no idea what to expect. They do offer valet but we chose to self park across the street rather than have someone park for us. The hotel looked very nice outside, very upscale. We got checked in quickly and easily even though we were quite early. Our room was spacious and clean. I really liked the decor, not your usual hotel cheesy. The bathroom was sizable as well. We had a Riverwalk view which was also quite nice! We were very happy with our room.
The convenience to the Riverwalk was terrific, right out the back door and you're there. The hotel is located just out of the main drag so it's serene and quiet but takes no time at all to get to the restuarants and attractions.
We didn't eat at Las Ramblas but our last night there I kind o f wish we had so we could sit on the patio in candlelight. We will have to do that on our next visit! This will be our hotel of choice any time we visit San Antonio. It exceeded all of our expectations!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My wife and I utilized the Hotel Contessa for a three day reunion of 216 Vietnam veterans and their loved ones. Everything about the hotel from the doormen, desk staff, room and service was five star and we were treated like royalty. The location was ideal to visit many attractions in San Antonio simply by walking or utilizing the fantastic riverboats. Many of us had not seen each other in over 40 years so the Hotel Contessa provided the homecoming we never received after the war. We were honored to be among those warriors and would definitely recommend this beautiful hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Great place! Super service, very nice property, awesome location, great amenities (work out room and pool were used), very good food, and excellent rooms. My family and I had a great time, and would love to go back.

Room Tip: A view of the river was awesome; do not know about another view, but a clear of the city should also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Otel, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Contessa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.