We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, curtious staff, great room, great breakfast, very nice hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2861 Cinema Ridge, San Antonio, TX 78238 (Northwest Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #190 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Chesapeake
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel, curtious staff, great room, great breakfast, very nice hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Went to my sons BMT graduation. Booked two rooms. Stayed 4 days there. The staff was very polite and always greeted us when we entered the hotel. Service was great. Morning buffet was top of the line. Great food. about midway between the airport and the Lacland airforce base. Lots of restraunts close by. Even though their was a sign saying sorry for the construction going on. Never noticed any of it. Great place to stay at. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Owner at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World, responded to this review, March 31, 2011
Thank you for your response regarding the Holiday Inn Express SeaWorld. We are glad that you were able to see your son graduate and that we were able to serve you on your visit. We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service to our guests, especially our military families. Please consider us if you are ever in San Antonio again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    39
    18
    12
    13
See reviews for
76
16
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Templeton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Stayed here for my son's BMT graduation. Easy acess to the Base. Hotel was very helpful in giving directions to the base and back to the hotel. Upon returning to the hotel in the evening of the first day the clerk saw us walking in and immediately asked how my son was doing? Did you enjoy the graduation? showed a true interest in what was a very important time for us. Also, needed to do laundry one evening and in the laundry room the machine where you can purchase laundry soap did not have the liquid softner, so went and notified the front desk...went to the back and came back with some! The room was cleaned everyday of our stay and fresh towels everyday!(my friend stayed at another hotel which is newly built and they didn't she had to ask!) For the breakfast, the woman who prepares it makes sure to serve the hot breakfast early, before they are supposed to serve, as you have to be on base by 7am(get on base by 6:30!!) fresh fruit, cereals, eggs, bagels, toast, muffins, all kinds of coffee and teas. Also, one night I wanted a hot cup of tea, asked the front desk and the clerk was more than willing to make it happen made sure I had cream and sugar. Its the little things that stick in our minds! Thank you for making our trip to Texas such a rememberable one!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Owner at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World, responded to this review, March 17, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our Holiday Inn Express hotel! First of all, congratulations to your son on his graduation! We are glad that you were able to enjoy your stay here in San Antonio. As you said, it is the little things that make a big difference. We strive to provide excellent customer service to our guests, especially military families. We hope that if you are ever in San Antonio in the future, that you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2010

Holiday Inn Express is always good Hotel brand, this one was no different, a reasonable price for modest clean room. We had lots of hot water and towels, the hotel staff was great and very helpful. Our 5am wake up calls were right on time, we did not want to be late to Lackland AFB. The "free breakfast" was available earlier than the posted sign, it was good, it was hot meal and there were plenty of items to choose from. The "free breakfast" was very helpful and was perfect for Lackland AFB graduation, no time to waste in the morning. They even offer to let you "take it to go", we brought milk and muffins to our hungry Airman one morning he sure was very happy to have them.
This Holiday Inn is close to the "410" but not so close that you are bothered by traffic noise. Two quick turns and it is a "straight shot" to the Lackland AFB 24 hour gate at Valley Hi Drive. I would recommend the gate at Military Drive, it opens at 6am and their is very little traffic. Valley Hi Drive is the "Airman's Gate", so it has lots of traffic on Thursday & Friday mornings, trust me use the Military Drive gate (see Google earth) it much quicker if you are trying to get there for the 7am briefing. Don't worry if you are late, go to the Airman Run at 8am and catch the 9am briefing it's the same one. The manager let us take the blankets off our bed (it's cold in the morning, and the bleachers are metal) and we were glad to have them. We were gone all day Thursday so I can't tell you much about the hotel until after 7pm. It was quite and they did not mind that we brought dinner back with us (KFC right next door) We all ate well and fell fast asleep before 9pm. With the trusty wake up call, we were back up at 5am on Friday, down to the lobby for the "free breakfast" and back at Lackland for the bus ride to the graduation (yes we took the blankets again) after graduation we went out for dinner and then to a hockey game at the AT&T Center (yes they will let the Airman stay out later for an event) back to the Holiday Inn just before midnight. On Saturday we were able to sleep in (until 7am) picked up our airman and spent some time at the hotel, he used the shower and the pool for long periods of time. Sunday we were off early again, met our Airman for church at Lackland, we came back and check out at noon. This hotel staff is willing to go out of the way for parents of Airman. The business center was nice, free computer access, internet, printer (nice to print out local maps) checked e-mail just fine. Our daughter may join the USAF we will look forward to staying here then too. Thanks for making our stay very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Owner at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World, responded to this review, November 29, 2010
Thank you for your glowing review of our Holiday Inn Express SeaWorld location! We strive to accomodate our guests and make their stay as comfortable as possible. This is especially important for our military guests and their families. Thank you for your continued loyalty and we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed here for two nights over Labor Day weekend. We were in a suite with two queen beds and a king bed. Our party included three adults and two young children. First the positives: The staff was friendly; the room was large and nicely decorated; the bathroom was clean and well-stocked with towels; the location is great. The negatives: Our room wasn't exactly "spotless." There were multiple stains on the wall in the extra room (with the king bed.) Of greater concern was the fact that, oddly, we kept finding what appeared to be brownie leftovers all throughout the room. We spotted the first "bite" (for lack of a better word) shortly after our arrival. A small, round, brown substance on the floor by the bed... You can imagine what we initially thought it was! We later found brownie crumbs all over one of the phones. When checking the room one last time prior to our departure, I found a whole pile of the stuff under a bed! Very strange, and rather disgusting... A second negative was the fact that when our room was freshened after the first night, nothing was restocked... No new towels, wash cloths, or toiletries. The dirty towels were removed, but they were not replaced with clean ones. This was quickly remedied by a call to the desk that evening. Another negative: There is only one elevator, and it is very slow. If you're in a hurry, you're better off taking the stairs! And finally, the staff member managing the breakfast bar was quite slow. Granted, we were there on a very busy weekend. Perhaps, a second staff person would have been justified. All the negatives aside, we were actually quite pleased with our stay and would stay here again. The rates were very reasonable for a suite on a holiday weekend. If the hotel would tidy up a bit, this would be a perfect stay!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

This is the ideal place if your planning a trip to Sea World! It's just down the street, and even better, a free shuttle to take you to and from for FREE! Parking alone is $40 at Sea World. And the restaurant next to the Holiday Inn was great, perfect stay!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

This hotel was a great place to stay if you're going to Sea World or on that side of town. I was in town for the Final 4 which was downtown. I didn't mind the 20 or so minute drive into downtown because I didn't want to be around the crowd. It worked for me. It was quiet and the beds were SOOO comfortable. I was in a room w/ a view of the air conditioners - not a problem since I purchased for a very cheap rate on priceline. But it was still a fabulous room and did it's job - a good night's rest at the end of a long day.

There is local dining 5 minutes or so down the street in every direction but I was glad they had a restaurant onsite, very convenient. The food was Ok, your typical sports bar, TGIF type food.

THe hotel itself is very nice and well laid out and decorated. Don't hesitate to book this hotel. It is fabulous.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World, responded to this review, June 5, 2010
Wow----this review just made my day!!!
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Holiday Inn Express, with others.
I cannot wait to share your comments with our Staff.
We work hard to deliver the "most memorable experience" to our guests.
Please, call on us, the very next time you plan to visit San Antonio.
We cannot wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth County,NJ
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2010

I choose this hotel based on past reviews and I was not disappointed. The reason for my visit was to attend the graduation of BMT at Lackland AFB. I called to the hotel several times before I arrived with many questions, I was satisitied with all answers and pleased with the help that was offered. The staff is very friendly and the front dest was helpful as well. Nothing was a problem. The rooms were CLEAN, spacious, well maintained. There is a full breakfast offered in the morning and early enough that we could eat before heading out to the ceremonies. There was in indoor pool/hot tub, daily newspaper, huge movie center across the street, Texas Roadhouse (great meal) is on the corner and we walked there. This hotel is very easy to get to Lackland. All rooms have a refrigerator and micro wave. It is located right off of 410. I highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ttribby, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World, responded to this review, May 24, 2010
Wow! Thank you so much for the wonderful review.
We strive hard to leave each guest with a memorable experience of San Antonio & the Holiday Inn Express Seaworld.
Please contact us, the very next time you plan to visit San Antonio.
We would love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World

Address: 2861 Cinema Ridge, San Antonio, TX 78238
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Northwest Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Seaworld Hotel San Antonio
Holiday Inn San Antonio
Holiday Inn Sea World
San Antonio Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express San Antonio Sea World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.