We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location for a reasonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crockett Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Crockett Hotel to your Saves list
Crockett Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Fall Savings, Save 20%
Ranked #56 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
FL USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Convenient location for a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

We booked our trip with hotel and air through AAA, for a lower price than I found advertised elsewhere on the internet. Our only extra travel expenses were the luggage fees and the ground transportation (Airport Express, great job). The rate included a breakfast buffet - nothing fancy, but it was more than adequate and kept us from buying another meal each day. We loved the Texas Wafflemaker on the buffet, and almost bought one in a River Center Mall store. The room was comfortable, had a nice view of the rear gate of the Alamo, the nearby Emily Morgan hotel, and some other Alamo Plaza skyline. The room did not have a safe or a refrigerator. The hotel offers free internet access, we just had to request the password at the front desk. The lobby also has a computer with pay access, but you can log onto the airline sites and print your boarding passes free. Ernie's bar, on the lobby level, is a relaxing place to have a drink and a quick snack. I think the hotel parking fee was rather expensive (one reason why we didn't rent a car); but the hotel is in walking distance to everything in and around Alamo Plaza, and the trolley and bus service was very handy for trips outside the immediate area. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and found the hotel to be a great value.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    245
    103
    33
    28
See reviews for
137
264
45
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010 via mobile

Great location, helpful staff, very nice room (although wasn't like photo on Internet). Would stay here again and recommend to friends & family

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Crockett Hotel. Special thanks for your kind words, for Eduardo's efforts to make your stay a special one. He is typical of the kind and caring staff that help operate the Crockett Hotel on a daily basis. A small, dedicated staff with our customers always top of mind.

As a historic structure, we have a number of room configurations and it is difficult to post a photo of every single configuration. What photos are available on our website are the most typical of the three bed types that we provide (double double, queen and king bedded rooms)

We look forward to your future visits to San Antonio, the Alamo City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

I stayed here with a friend to celebrate my birthday weekend and would recommend it and book a future stay. The location is fantastic, close to the Alamo and River Walk without suffering through the late-night noise you get from a river-front hotel. The price was great and two of my favorite things were the very nice continental breakfast (with Texas-shaped belgian waffles!) and the Haagen Daz room delivery. They will bring you a pint of ice cream and deliver it to your door - and in the heat of the summer it was a great way to cool off after a day of sight-seeing. The only minor disappointment was the pool - it's not much to write home about - but we weren't there to swim.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

We stayed one night at the Crockett Hotel and used Priceline to book the room. The rate was decent (especially considering the proximity to the Alamo) but the front desk attendant was shocked when we arrived with 3 small children because the reservation only asked for the number of adults. Like some others we were "upgraded" to a suite. The room was large but the fold-out sofa sleeper was the single most uncomfortable "bed" I've ever had the displeasure of sleeping on. A bed of railroad spikes would have been infinitely more comfortable.

If you're claustrophobic you'll HATE the elevators and if your key card won't work you run the risk of getting stuck in the elevator while you wait for someone else to summon it.

The continental breakfast was just slightly above average but the make-it-yourself waffle station causes the line to back up severely. It took us 20 minutes just to get our food and get seated. By that time the eggs were ice cold.

Parking is also a complete rip-off. You pay a handsome price to have your car parked in an easy-access surface lot adjacent to the hotel.

Overall I'd recommend the hotel - if you can get the room for less than $80 a night, otherwise look elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Crockett Hotel.

We use our customer comments in training our staff and to improve our level of service for our future guests. Also we know that many guests use these reviews to make their future reservation decisions. We will try to add some points of clarification so our guests have all of the facts when deciding to make hotel reservations.

We enjoy supplying rooms to Priceline shoppers. Their confirmations do stipulate that when buying a room on Priceline that the room will accommodate 2 adults. As such, we book Priceline guests in our rooms with 1 queen sized bed. We allow customers to upgrade to a larger double double when available, but this is always provided on a space available basis. Part of the price savings for customers from a Priceline booking is less flexibility on room type, etc. so we recommend if specific room requirements are needed, contact the hotel directly.

Our hotel is a 101 historic structure. It provides a great environment, with close proximity to all there is to see and do in San Antonio. We have two guest elevators which were completely modernized in our most recent renovation (2007). The one thing that could not be changed with them was the original size of the cars or elevator shaft. Many people find them an interesting feature of a 101 year old hotel. The key access in the elevators helps us control access to the guest floors to ONLY our hotel guests. This provides a high level of safety and security for our customers.

Parking in the downtown area is limited and virtually any hotel in our area will have a charge for parking a vehicle. We own our parking lot, a surface lot with limited access, and it is staffed 24/7 by our parking personnel. The charge for parking is not included in our rate as nearly 1/2 of our guests arrive without a car. Our current overnight rate provides unlimited in/out and is quite a bit less than most of our neighboring hotels (many are charging $25-30+ for this service). We continually review the parking prices in our market and are determined to stay at or below the average, providing a value to our customers that need to park a vehicle while staying with us.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We hope that your review and our additional information will help future guests to the Crockett hotel to thoroughly enjoy their visit to the heart of San Antonio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

we made the best decission to stay in this hotel,clean,excellent employees,good breakfast(for my family only,i dont eat in hotels)excellent location,we just park when we arrived and we never had to move our vehicule,everything is walking distance.in my opinion,the price was a little high,but i do recomend this hotel,and if i go to sanantonio again, i will stay there if they give me a discount,all family members loved it,(esta chingon)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

I went to San Antionio for a conference with 4 colleagues in March - we were all pleased with this hotel.

The location is superb - you really are close to everything. The Alamo is right in front of the hotel, and beside the hotel is the Rivercentre Mall which has a great selection of stores and an IMAX theatre. A wide selection of excellent restaurants are within a 5-10min walk of the hotel, as is the conference centre which we certainly appreciated. (Nothing better than going back to the hotel between keynotes!)

The River Walk is 5min away as well - just cut through the mall which sit on the waterway, or walk around the mall and go down the steps.

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful. Four of us stayed in two rooms with double beds - comfortable beds and the rooms were large enough. The bathroom was large enough too. My fifth colleague was lucky enough to get upgraded to a king suite on the top floor... he had quite the room as well!! It became our hangout area for the trip while at the hotel.

Breakfast was fantastic as well! They had the whole shebang and it was free. There's also a bar/restaurant (Ernie's) - we didn't try the food but the beer prices were pretty good.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2010

The locaton of the Hotel is great. However, the rooms have a very musty smell. The beds are not comfortable at all. the air conditioning is so loud that it wakes you up every time it comes on.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrockettGM, General Manager at Crockett Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay in July at the Crockett Hotel.

Your feedback is helpful to us in improving our hotel operations for all future guests. We get many many good comments about our housekeeping staff and the overall cleanliness of our hotel. We shared your comments so that the inspection process will discover and correct any such resports in the future.

During the month of July, we did replace the hotel cooling tower (on the roof) which modernized our room a/c units with a more energy efficient, higher capacity cooling system. Following this installation we have gone room to room to ensure all in-room units are functioning properly. We are always mindful of providing rooms with only a pleasant ambiance and scent, and correcting any 'noisy' mechanical systems.

Once again, thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crockett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockett Hotel

Address: 320 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#53 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#57 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crockett Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recommended hotel in San Antonio for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, AAA Travel Services, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crockett Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crockett Hotel San Antonio
Crockett San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crockett Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.