We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crockett Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Crockett Hotel to your Saves list
Crockett Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   320 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save up to 20% off room
Ranked #51 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
dallas, tx
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awsome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

Me & my GF stayed here for 4 nights. We had one minor problem. Seems that the smoke detector in our room was malfunctioning. I went down and told the front desk and with in 30 minutes, the maintenance staff had it fixed. Other than that we had no problems. Rooms were neat and clean. This did not bother me as much as it did my GF, but we stayed right across the street from the Alamo and it seemed that every a.m. @ 6 o'clock there were maintenance people using leaf blowers on the grounds blowing away leaves. They had a nice bar, which was cozy. i would definetley go back again

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    282
    116
    33
    29
See reviews for
160
303
49
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Granada Hills CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

The hotel is small by today's standards but that worked in our favor. The people at the desk were very friendly and from the first encounter the staff, especially Eduardo, always referred to us by name. The room was kept clean and the complimentary breakfast was exceptional. They provided scrambled eggs, waffles, wonderful fruits and juices and a variety of breads, cereal, etc. The location is across the street from the Alamo and a short walk from the picturesque River Walk. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2010

I spend the night before Thanksgiving at the Crockett Hotel. It is a very quaint hotel and the Manager Eduardo Alcantar was very personable, professional and friendly. The room was very nice. The only thing that could have made it better was the city cleans the streets after 12 midnight and the powerwashing was very loud....hard to sleep through that. But, the hotel food was very good and being in walking distance to everything was awesome! I am so glad I stayed there!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

The staff was very friendly and the rooms were very nice. We were able to walk to the Riverwalk and the mall is across the street. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin, tx
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

How can you complain about the location? Directly across the street from the Historic Alamo and a wonderful 2 block walk to the Riverwalk! Park and enjoy what San Antonio has to offer. The staff is very courteous, helpful and sincere. Breakfast is just fine, too. The bar (though smokey at times, which is usual for most bars in SA) is relaxing and staffed well. The rooms? Huge, clean and well appointed. A GREAT value for the location. You cannot go wrong!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

I WOULD DEFINiTELY RECOMMEND!! I was a bit hesistant when I booked this hotel, thinking it would be too much like a Holiday Inn. San Antonio was pretty booked up this weekend and our only other choices were in the $400 range. The reviews seemed pretty good so I decided to go for it. The rooms were simple, yet quite lovely. The initial starkness was probably due to the blinds, but I came to really like it for our four night visit. The staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful. Our first room was near the elevator, which was noisy, and knowing they were totally booked I was reluctant to request another room. Fortunately, it was early in the day and they were able to accommodate us. Both rooms were really very nice. Breakfast was OK, and yes, the waffles were very good!! They offer coffee all day, which was a very nice touch. The location is great, right across from the Alamo and mall, just a couple of blocks from the Riverwalk. We spent quite a bit of time walking the Riverwalk, but the restaurants weren't great there. Best eating secret - Morton's across the street w/$5 appetizer menu & reduced priced drinks 5-6:30 and after 9pm (Best deal anywhere)!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

I have to say I logged onto Tripadvisor.com and read some reviews prior to booking our wknd with them. There were mixed reviews but we thought let's stay somewhere that has a bit of history, so we did.
The hotel staff at the front desk was friendly enough. The location was great, close to all the major attractions.
We got to our room and was shocked to see how little it was, but not only little, it was totally plain; hardly anymore than a Motel 6, from their bedding to their drapes to the furniture, and I'm not exaggerating at all. The bathroom was so small that we didn't have enough room on the tiny vanity top to put our stuff; hardly anymore room to put a couple of toothbrushes and paste.
The complimentary breakfast was less than good. We got there about an hr before closing so they shouldn't have run out of anything. They offerred waffles which were adequate; they also offerred scrambled eggs that were cold. Even the new batch brought were almost cold, definitely not even warm. Their toasters took almost forever to do bread much less bagel that were, by the way, totally tasteless. The orange juice and coffee were good.
At $200.00 per night they still have the old type TV's rather than the LCD TV's. No DVD players either.
Their parking was totally unreasonable at a cost of $25.00 per night with parking offerred elsewhere in close proximity at less than 1/2 that.
We will not ever stay at the Crockett Hotel, San Antonio again!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crockett Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crockett Hotel

Address: 320 Bonham, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#39 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#63 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crockett Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recommended hotel in San Antonio for families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Odigeo, EasyToBook, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Crockett Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crockett Hotel San Antonio
Crockett San Antonio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crockett Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.