We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort close to a great city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch to your Saves list
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9700 West Military Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251 (Far West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Williamston, Michigan
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort close to a great city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Our family which included myself, husband, 20 month old son, mother and father-in-law, and 2 cousins and their daughters age 3 and 5 stayed here in April and really enjoyed the resort especially the beach and lazy river- we wish it was a little sunnier and warmer but it was still enjoyable- great location especially with Sea World minutes away! Would recommend this resort to any family

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    119
    29
    13
    16
See reviews for
313
73
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Calling this place a resort is a bit of a streth. We had a two bedroom, two bath unit which was great. It was updated, spacious and accomodated my family of four perfectly. Besides the room there is an indoor/outdoor pool, lazy river, one restaurant and a couple of bars. For this place to call itself a resort and only have one restaurant that closes at 9pm is a shame. At least one additional dining option is needed. There was also a schedule of activities each day that was somewhat limited. We were there over St. Patricks Day and there was not a single St. Patrick's Day activity planned for the kids. Are you kidding me!! How easy and obvious was that one! The pool and lazy river are wonderful and fun, and the staff are also excellent. The place just has a ways to go to get to resort status. If the room is the most important thing to you then you'll be happy here. Just don't come looking for many activities or dining options.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

This was the best resort/hotel we've stayed at in many years of traveling. The atmosphere is relaxing, luxurious, inviting, and warm. The place as many amenities for families including great pool, waterpark, horseshoes, putting green, volleyball, basketball, lazy river swimming with sand beach, and a great restaurant. This place is a gem in the West-Texas Hill Country. We're glad we found it. The staff was excellent. Our family of four, with restless pre-teens, found we could stay busy all day and never had to leave to find something else to keep everyone entertained.

Room Tip: We had a "suite" with a king bed and sleeper sofa. Was spacious and had a great balcony. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a couple nights with our infant daughter and five year old son. We were welcomed by very inviting staff that were quick to point us in the direction of hot spots, restaurants etc... in and around San Antonio. They even provided a small welcoming packet to ensure we had the details of all that the area had to offer, not just the Hyatt property. The property is fully loaded for families and adults. The indoor/outdoor pool has multiple hot tubs, pool side bar, up to date gym and game room for the kids. The game room has the old school quarter games with dollar changers inside. Blast from the past.....

It's a very diverse group that visits this property. Some groups were senior couples enjoying wine in the evening at JB's, while the next may be large families with young kids enjoying the pool until late evening.

My son and I used the "family express" golf course on the day of our arrival and were treated just as if they were accommodating two adult players, although I was with my son. The pro shop team was very professional and accommodating for us which was helpful because it was my sons first time on a real course. I went ahead and rented clubs and was pleasantly surprised with the quality of their clubs, Titleist.

The condo we stayed in with full kitchen, 2 beds (fold out couch), and bathroom with jacuzzi tub were above our expectations and were very clean and polished. There are two LED TV's, one in the living room and one in the bedroom separate from each other with local channels. While HD, they are fed by coax cables so that is an opportunity. The internet was blazing fast however, running at 40mb down and up which was awesome for helping when I needed to upload some photos to free up some space mid vacation.

The drive to Sea World (which we did not visit) is literally across the street and the drive to the River Walk takes about 15 minutes, which is not bad at all to enjoy a quality golf course and quiet night once the kids crash.

Room Tip: Higher floors get you better view of the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin, Missouri
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

This was our third stay here and it was still fantastic. We had a two bedroom two bathroom condo unit which offered enough space for our big family. The children enjoyed the heated pools and amazing lazy river. The adults loved the relaxing atmosphere and the attention given by the staff who wanted to make our stay comfortable and pleasurable. A shout out to Perry who greeted us daily with a smile and always asked what else Hyatt could do for us. The younger kids and teen viewed recent releases of their favorite movies nightly. The Ranch is centrally located close to restaurants and shopping. It is an easy on and off to major highways and also close to Sea World. We plan on returning again due to the area, staff, and lazy river.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

The Concierge staff at the Hyatt Wild Oak ( Elsa, Meagan, Rudy and Trisha) and Tiffany at the desk were very pleasant and most helpful during our recent visit to San Antonio, the Gulf and Texas Hill Country. Their knowledge of the local area was exceptional, recommending restaurants, convenient parking, local shopping and golf on site. They gave us maps and directions, as well as coupons to local attractions.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We just returned from this resort and had an amazing time. We had a one bedroom condo which was more than enough room for us with a nice balcony. The lazy river was fun to hang out at but the water was cold. The other pools were heated so that was a plus. JB's has the best burgers ever and John makes the best Southern Draw cocktail. Overall we had a blast and we'll definitely return to this resort.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Address: 9700 West Military Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt Wild Oak Hotel
Wild Oak Ranch Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.