We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Family Destination” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9700 West Military Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251 (Far West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 351 hotels in San Antonio
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A Family Destination”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were here for spring break 2013, the first few days with another adult couple and the last 3-days with our daughter and 2 grandsons. This was an Interval International exchange for us. We had a 2-BR villa in the Live Oak building on the 3rd floor and it was a very good room, though we had a few minor issues that were resolved via calling the front desk. We quickly learned that the beds are not "heavenly" but do provide a decent night's sleep. The safe in one of the Master bedroom closet's is one of the largest we've had anywhere, definitely suitable for a laptop and large SLR camera. One thing that drove us nuts was the faucets. In the bathrooms and kitchen, they all turn on/off in the reverse of what we are used to, which caused a lot of splattering until we learned to go slow with turning them on or off. The towels were pretty basic, not the plushy kind we experience at other time share villas. Nevertheless, we give the room a solid 4 stars.

The grounds are delightful, park like places to hang-out, playgrounds for the kids, the lazy river and the swimming pool. By our standards, the pool is small and once you get the older kids (and adults) in the pool it becomes very dangerous for the younger set. A couple of pre-teens had a hacky-sack kind of baseball and a bat and were pitching and batting in the pool. Let me tell you, when that hacky sack got hit by the bat, it zinged!! I asked the boys to take their stuff elsewhere and got kissed off. Oh, well...

The lazy river is really neat. It was heated and for the three days that I was in there with the 4 year old grandson, I have no complaints. Paul at the bar is jovial and a good mixologist.

JBs Restaurant is the onsite eating establishment and it gets mixed reviews from us. The standard burger and pizza menu items were very good. The salad was extremely over dressed. That was the first night. We met Ryan, the new manager, who seems to be a high energy type of guy. He was checking out the customers and helping the wait staff both serve food and clear the tables. We think he will be able to kick the quality of the entree offerings up a notch as he gets into the job. Speaking of entrees...not good. The menu choices are good, but the end product leaves a lot to be desired. The Ranch Sirloin ordered medium rare came out barely medium. The redfish...terribly overcooked and the accompanying spinach way too salty. The salmon, just barely overcooked and again, the spinach was over seasoned. We had planned to have all of our evening meals there but after that...HEB is just a short drive and we cooked in for the remainder of our stay.

Jamie, the resort director is a sweetheart and we think she can bring this property up to another level.

Overall, we would go back, but only with kids. This isn't a place for a couple of adults.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    262
    100
    26
    13
    14
See reviews for
272
61
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colleyville, Texas
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My family just stayed here for Spring Break. We have stayed here many times and this trip was better than ever! We have four kids and so it is so nice to have a condo with a full kitchen. Lots of fun activities on site. Staff went above and beyond to make this stay great. Kids loved the water slides and lazy river. Pools were heated and well maintained. Thanks for another great stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We used our timeshare to stay here for a week. Plenty for kids to do. Loved the Zoomagination- kids got to see and pet live animals like a skink and wallaby. Loved the s'mores nights and the fiesta was a blast!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is a part of Hyatt Vacation Club with Condos available to the public too. Staying there also affords access to the adjacent Hyatt Hill Country resort with Golf Club.
Great condos, kept in top shape. Could use more convenient activities and a good on-site restaurant, and is a little far out from City Center. However it is adjacent to Sea World, near top quality shopping and just about any type of restaurant and shops. Highly recommended for families or a get away. Plenty of Privacy, and the Adjacent Hotel seems to be building a great water feature which will be ready for summer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Family Vacation. Had a blast. Loved that we could visit 2 different resorts during the same vacation. The Hill Country Resort is next door and we went back & forth between the 2 locations. Our kids ages 14,12,5, & 3 all enjoyed the trip and there was something for each age group. Smores were the biggest hit. Movies on the lawn was fun, 2. We had fun floating the "rivers" and resting under the shade. We enjoyed the Hyatt Wild Oak so much that we ended up buying a week there. Low pressure sales. They do not hound you to go to a sales meeting. We just had an interest. Being that the resort is 2 hrs from us- we thought it was a great place to vacation. We felt like we were out of state and a very fancy resort, all with the convenience of being a close drive from home. I highly recommend the Hyatt Wild Oak.

Room Tip: We had a corner unit on the ground floor. We were happy with our room. They are adding new buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Decided to stay at the Hyatt for a few days during Spring Break. Unfortunately my daughter got sick so we didn't get to take advantage of all the amenities/activities but they were plentiful. I liked the fact that there were daily/nightly activities planned everyday. I also loved the nice spacious room and the extra large jacuzzi tub. We stayed in a one bedroom suite (3 adults / 1 kid /1 infant) and it was ample enough space to stretch out and relax. We had our own private balcony as well. There were also plenty of food options/shopping nearby. My only complaints were the lack of food options at the resort and the parking. We came back around 9-10 nightly and couldn't find parking near our building. We had to park at another building area and walk. Didn't like that much but overall it was a nice stay and a great clean property.

Room Tip: Try to get a 3rd floor room so you won't hear the overhead noise and beautiful skylights in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had a wonderful time! It was a bit chilly during spring break, and we were really thankful that they heated the pools so perfectly. The beach entry, Rattlesnake River, and slides were awesome. Our children had a blast doing crafts at Camp Armadillo (Thank you Dariela, Riley and CJ! Our daughter could barely stop talking about how nice everyone was). They had an awesome Parent's Night Out Special, so we were able to enjoy a lovely dinner at The Antler's Lodge across the street (highly recommend the wedge salad, 5 oz filet, jalapeno potatoes au gratin and asparagus). The fam also enjoyed the nightly S'mores, mercado fiesta, outdoor movies and Zoomagination. We wanted to catch the magic show but it was during nap time. Landscaping was pretty, but not as green as it was at the Hyatt Hill Country. Our room was excellent, except for the abnormally uncomfortable sofa sleeper. I don't recall this problem at the Hyatt Coconut Plantation. The Ice House was well stocked...the only things missing were breakfast tacos and cinnamon rolls! JB's was yummy, but I would love to see some daily breakfast/lunch/dinner specials to add a little variety. The evening JB bartender and Rattlesnake River bartender rocked. Service was really superb all around!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Address: 9700 West Military Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz and Despegar.com so you can book your Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt Wild Oak Hotel
Wild Oak Ranch Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.