We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Quick Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch to your Saves list
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9700 West Military Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251 (Far West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Quick Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Decided to stay at the Hyatt for a few days during Spring Break. Unfortunately my daughter got sick so we didn't get to take advantage of all the amenities/activities but they were plentiful. I liked the fact that there were daily/nightly activities planned everyday. I also loved the nice spacious room and the extra large jacuzzi tub. We stayed in a one bedroom suite (3 adults / 1 kid /1 infant) and it was ample enough space to stretch out and relax. We had our own private balcony as well. There were also plenty of food options/shopping nearby. My only complaints were the lack of food options at the resort and the parking. We came back around 9-10 nightly and couldn't find parking near our building. We had to park at another building area and walk. Didn't like that much but overall it was a nice stay and a great clean property.

Room Tip: Try to get a 3rd floor room so you won't hear the overhead noise and beautiful skylights in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    108
    28
    13
    15
See reviews for
288
66
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had a wonderful time! It was a bit chilly during spring break, and we were really thankful that they heated the pools so perfectly. The beach entry, Rattlesnake River, and slides were awesome. Our children had a blast doing crafts at Camp Armadillo (Thank you Dariela, Riley and CJ! Our daughter could barely stop talking about how nice everyone was). They had an awesome Parent's Night Out Special, so we were able to enjoy a lovely dinner at The Antler's Lodge across the street (highly recommend the wedge salad, 5 oz filet, jalapeno potatoes au gratin and asparagus). The fam also enjoyed the nightly S'mores, mercado fiesta, outdoor movies and Zoomagination. We wanted to catch the magic show but it was during nap time. Landscaping was pretty, but not as green as it was at the Hyatt Hill Country. Our room was excellent, except for the abnormally uncomfortable sofa sleeper. I don't recall this problem at the Hyatt Coconut Plantation. The Ice House was well stocked...the only things missing were breakfast tacos and cinnamon rolls! JB's was yummy, but I would love to see some daily breakfast/lunch/dinner specials to add a little variety. The evening JB bartender and Rattlesnake River bartender rocked. Service was really superb all around!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland, texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We enjoy going to SA and prefer to stay @ resort hotels and have always been pleased. However, this was our 1st trip To Wild Oak and it will be our last. For the price you would be better off staying at any other resort hotel. My family is really not hard to please. I am still confused why this place gets so many rave reviews.

Pros: Heated pool for kiddos during cooler months-my boys had a blast. Clean outdoor property and friendly staff.

Cons: Paper thin walls! We were kept awake by our neighbors every move and the bed was one of the most uncomfortable ever. The comforter on the bed had a blood stain!! How did housekeeping miss that? Gross! Carpets stained and filthy. Bathrooms were lacking and ammenites were nothing special. It does have a coffe maker but they leave you one oacket which only makes one cup of coffee-really. Seemed more like a motel than a resort hotel...hate to say it.

If i were you I would stay at the Hill Country, JW or La Cantera. All have pools, way more plush, clean rooms & you seemed pampered.

Room Tip: If you stay, bring your own coffee, and ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This place has all. The rooms are spacious, clean and nicely updated. There is endless activities for the kids.. Pools, water slides, lazy river, ping pong, volleyball.. Too much to list. Beautifully landscaped property winding paths with swings and benches along the way. I can't say enough about this place. We were there for our sons graduation from boot camp. I would fly back to San Antonio just to return here! I'd give it 10 stars if I could!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed for a few nights at the Wild Oak Ranch. Our primary objective was to use the place as a base from which to explore Sea World. We were looking for an apartment and this place is perfect. The rooms are great and all come with a well equipped, nice balcony, and a very comfortable bed room.

There is a great restaurant on the property and I would recommend the Smothered Chicken. The Pizzas are not too good though.

There are two pools one of which is a lazy river.

We had one issue with the plumbing and the noise from the plumbing which woke us up at night. The staff were however very responsive to our complaint and did what they could to remedy the situation.

All in all, great place, and I would strongly recommend this property to families looking to explore the San Antonio region.

Room Tip: Given the plumbing issue, make sure you mention this as check in and get a room which does not allow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

While it is slow season at this Hyatt (at 50% occupancy this weekend), I don't think the hotel was prepared for all 50% (probably exaggeration here) to eat/drink at JB's restaurant. The only service professional, Robert Bearbower, the bartender turned waiter turned bus boy turned cashier, etc. provided excellent service and always had a smile on his face. Kudos for a great job. The restaurant manager who has only been there a month also did a great job.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

after 7 yrs of multiple stays @ the hyatt wild oak ranch, we can honestly say, we love it there! located right across from seaworld, adjacent to the hyatt hill country resort, lots of shopping & restaurants--the w.o.r. is our freq getaway. the staff is wonderfully accommodating & friendly, the grounds are lovely, the rooms are beautifully furnished & equipped & the amenities top notch. water slides, indoor/outdoor heated pools and a floating river, hot tubs, sauna, steam rm, workout equip rm, game rm, big screen & computer rm, shuffleboard, volleyball, horseshoe areas, cloistered cabanas around the pool, sand beach, kid camp, nature trails, enclosed kid playgrounds, golf course, restaurant, store, firepits, bbq & picnic areas, outdoor movies and more! and there are activities for adults, as well as for kids thruout the day and at night. the front desk, concierge, housekeeping, engineering, activity staff & waitstaff are all friendly, prompt and helpful. highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: 2nd & 3rd floor rooms are quieter. corner studios are larger than inner studios. 3rd floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Address: 9700 West Military Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt Wild Oak Hotel
Wild Oak Ranch Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.