We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch to your Saves list
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9700 West Military Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251 (Far West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great for families!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed for a few nights at the Wild Oak Ranch. Our primary objective was to use the place as a base from which to explore Sea World. We were looking for an apartment and this place is perfect. The rooms are great and all come with a well equipped, nice balcony, and a very comfortable bed room.

There is a great restaurant on the property and I would recommend the Smothered Chicken. The Pizzas are not too good though.

There are two pools one of which is a lazy river.

We had one issue with the plumbing and the noise from the plumbing which woke us up at night. The staff were however very responsive to our complaint and did what they could to remedy the situation.

All in all, great place, and I would strongly recommend this property to families looking to explore the San Antonio region.

Room Tip: Given the plumbing issue, make sure you mention this as check in and get a room which does not allow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    107
    28
    13
    15
See reviews for
287
66
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

While it is slow season at this Hyatt (at 50% occupancy this weekend), I don't think the hotel was prepared for all 50% (probably exaggeration here) to eat/drink at JB's restaurant. The only service professional, Robert Bearbower, the bartender turned waiter turned bus boy turned cashier, etc. provided excellent service and always had a smile on his face. Kudos for a great job. The restaurant manager who has only been there a month also did a great job.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

after 7 yrs of multiple stays @ the hyatt wild oak ranch, we can honestly say, we love it there! located right across from seaworld, adjacent to the hyatt hill country resort, lots of shopping & restaurants--the w.o.r. is our freq getaway. the staff is wonderfully accommodating & friendly, the grounds are lovely, the rooms are beautifully furnished & equipped & the amenities top notch. water slides, indoor/outdoor heated pools and a floating river, hot tubs, sauna, steam rm, workout equip rm, game rm, big screen & computer rm, shuffleboard, volleyball, horseshoe areas, cloistered cabanas around the pool, sand beach, kid camp, nature trails, enclosed kid playgrounds, golf course, restaurant, store, firepits, bbq & picnic areas, outdoor movies and more! and there are activities for adults, as well as for kids thruout the day and at night. the front desk, concierge, housekeeping, engineering, activity staff & waitstaff are all friendly, prompt and helpful. highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: 2nd & 3rd floor rooms are quieter. corner studios are larger than inner studios. 3rd floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at this property. I want to give a shout out to the staff that work the cafe, coffee shop, convenience store called the Icehouse. We had a Starbucks caramel macchiato while shopping for some very nice souvenirs of our visit. Alejandra was especially helpful and pleasant... A lovely person. Our 2 week stay was fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My family and I enjoyed the pools, grounds, kid's club and restaurant while staying at the Hyatt Hill Country resort next door that was undergoing renovations. I have to say that The Hyatt Wild Oak ranch was fantastic in every way.
The grounds were beautifully landscaped and the pools warm. I enjoyed the water slides, as did my children, and I loved the three hot tubs and sauna.
The kid's club--Hyatt Armadillo was a great addition to this resort and well worth the price!
My two kids loved their counselor, Chris W. ! He kept them busy every minute of the day with engaging activities. I appreciated the fact that he kept them outside for most of the day. They swam, dug/buried treasure on the resort's new "beach" and searched for objects along the walking trail. Their lunch was included, and they got to choose from the menu at JB's restaurant on the property. They did not go hungry! My husband and I were well relaxed knowing that are children were well cared for. Thank you Chris! We
will never forget your kindness and the driving directions you gave us were dead on! We bypassed a lot of the heavy traffic because of your advise.

Delaine and Ann at the front desk were professional and friendly. They recovered my glasses that I had left in the bathroom and my husband's laptop bag he left poolside. They answered are many directions to places in town. Thank you Delaine and Ann!

We took advantage of happy hour drinks at JB's restaurant. The food and drinks were great. We ate twice at JB's and were quite happy with the service, food and prices.
The smores at the fire pit outside made our night spectacular. What a lovely ending to an enjoyable day!
We will be back again and for a longer stay because of this gem in San Antonio. The combination of hospitality by the staff and the wonderful amenities, prices and quality of the resort make this the number one retreat for families and couples!

Room Tip: Staying here in a condo room with a kitchen will save you a lot of money by allowing you to make you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

This spot is amazing. Great for family, friends or a simple getaway this Hyatt has everything you need on site from great food at the restaurant, golf,.pools, jacuzzis to a convenient store/icehouse...alejandra at the icehouse is a sweetheart, attentive helpful and can put together great sandwiches!!! Thank you Alejandra! A must stay...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen Park, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Thank you so very, very much Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch for a fabulous and spectacular seven day vacation at your resort! All of us truly enjoyed the excellent customer service, spotless yet unique rustic grounds and the pristine daily housekeeping results.

The ranch definitely meets the Hyatt Hotel and Resort standards which includes an extremely attentive staff, high quality toiletry products and a stylish motif consistent and maintained throughout the resort.

The two heated swimming pools, in which both have twisting slides, and the lazy river will provide your children a marvelous time without visiting a waterpark.

The highlights for our family involved roasting marshmallows at the fire pits, which are lit by the staff and include complimentary prepacked smore kits, an arcade filled with .50 cent games that even have loops on the prizes, so that kiddies have a greater chance in winning, the one mile nature walk, and the five minute drive to Seaworld!

Jami Champagne, the general manager, has an awesome staff that includes Travis, Theresa, Joey, Erika, Ruby and Heather, who all took the time to remember my name and converse with our eager family.

Don't miss out on this adventure!

Room Tip: The higher level floors have a better view of the hill country.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Address: 9700 West Military Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt Wild Oak Hotel
Wild Oak Ranch Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.