We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9700 West Military Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251 (Far West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 347 hotels in San Antonio
Houston, TX
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had requested a quiet room in august for a christmas vacation but were put with the 2nd bedroom facing the main road. We heard golf carts up until 11:30 each night-and this with a baby and 4 year old, both light sleepers. Finally, we couldn't take it anymore and requested a new room. They even let us preview a room until we were satisfied. For the trouble, they also comped us a meal at the restaurant and sent us a basket, which was really unnecessary but very thoughtful.

Pros: pool is nice and there is a portion for indoor use if it's too cold outside
Fire pits for s'mores
Restaurant is overpriced but good
Beautiful places to walk
Lazy river and "beach"
Playground and treehouse

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    92
    23
    12
    14
See reviews for
251
59
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with a full kitchen. My kids loved the amenities: the indoor and outdoor pools, and especially the lazy river. The hammocks along the lazy river allowed me to relax and read a book while still keeping an eye on the kids periodically. We roasted smores over a bonfire one night too.
The rooms are so modern and beautifully decorated. It is near Sea World and did visit but would have had just as much fun staying at the resort that day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waco, texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I title this review "Mixed Feelings" because we had a bit of a bad experience with our room but the amenities on the property were top notch. First I will get the bad out of the way. We booked a king room with a pull out sofa. The sofa bed was the most uncomfortable thing ever. I don't know how a human being could get any sleep on it. I managed to get a few hours each night with the help of some medication. The noise level was unacceptable. There was some sort of teenage girl sleepover in the next room and they had a stereo blaring and were loud until we called the desk. The set up of the resort is several freestanding blocks of rooms so the front desk was not just a hop away. I assume they sent someone in a golf cart to quiet the guests down, but they started up again shortly after. Our room was a connecting room to them and it was just too loud. I would ask for a non-connecting room next time I go, and we will return, we will just book a two bedroom instead of relying upon the sofa bed for sleeping. And we will DEFINITELY request a NON-connecting room.
Now, the amenities of the hotel were lovely. The pools were heated and there were lots of things for the children to do. The nature walk was a huge plus, you really feel as if you are in the middle of nowhere. We dined at JB's which was tasty and the staff were all so friendly. The only improvement I think this resort needs is a few tennis courts, other than that, it was great.

Room Tip: Request a non-connecting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Many people book condos or time/share to get kitchen facilities or enough room to spread out. But these facilities do not come with the hotel/resort facilities. But the Hyatt Wild Oaks allows guests to use the Hyatt Hill Country Resort and that makes this an excellent choice for families looking for a resort experience but with enough room to spread out.

The rooms are luxurious. We had a 2-br "standalone" unit (which has 1 king and 2 twins) and the master bedroom and bath were great! Nice large bathtub (may be whirlpool but we didn't try it), separate shower, double sinks. Large kitchen with everything (including mixers, etc and specialty items on request). Portico amenities like in the other Hyatts. Living room with dining table that fit 10. Even high chairs on request.

As far as vacation clubs go -- the facility was a cut above the Hilton club and other time share places we'd been in the past.

There was a media room that we used that fit our party of 20 around a large screen TV. Indoor pool which was great in the winter. And 2 water slides and a lazy river. That was a big HIT with the kids. They even had a recreation director for kid programs and smores at the fire pit.

The lobby was pleasant with the spectre of the time-share reps hovering over. But they didn't try to give us the "hard-sell". Everyone was so friendly and the service was GREAT!! They really took care of us.

And when we wanted a spa experience or wanted a huge lobby, we drove to the Hill Country Resort and used the facilities there (we were there over Christmas, but understand there is a shuttle bus in the summer/busy season).

One thing to note: No daily housekeeping (as is the custom for condo type rentals). But they came every day to exchange towels and take out the trash. And they came mid-way through our 5 night stay to do a cleaning.

Room Tip: If you want room with 2 doubles -- book early and call the front desk to make a request. Otherwise y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed three nights at this resort after Christmas. We were very impressed with the level of service at the resort. We originally booked two nights but after spending time here we wanted to stay an extra night. The front desk was very accommodating and we were able to book an extra night at the same rate. We stayed in a studio which is a nice size for a family of three. Our friends booked a one bedroom, which I preferred over the studio. I liked that it had a separate living room, dining room, and full kitchen. Next time we'll book a one bedroom. I only gave the resort four stars because of the bed linens and blankets. The linens have been used and washed too many times. They don't have the crisp look of nice hotel linens. The blankets are thin and also worn. On a cold evening it would've been nice to have a thicker more plush blanket. It's a shame because the rooms are very nice, but the bed linens do not do the room justice.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed 2 nights beginning on Thanksgiving night. We had 6 adults and 4 children in one of the 2 bedroom apartments. Great room. Very comfortable. The facilities for kids are great. We loved the water slides, the heated pool and even the lazy river (too cold for this grandpa but the grandkids loved it). One of the best features was the fire pit we reserved the last night for roasting hot dogs and making s'mores. What a great memory. I enjoyed the fact that it is more low key than the Hill Country Resort across the street. Guests do have access to the amenities of that resort if they care to use them, however. Overall, a great place for a family gathering.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We spent a week in November at the Wild Oak Ranch. Great place to stay, the apartments are first class and we enjoyed the facilities on site. Great heated pool and lazy river, very well laid out and well run with regard to a plentiful supply of towels, good showers and two good slides. The lazy river has cabanas and a hot tub.

There is a fire pit,outdoor cinema, a gym and a well equipped children's club. We particularly liked the barbecues located alongside our accommodation. Just a call to reception, ensured that thy were lit and ready for you to cook your dinner on. Tables were provided, but at this time of year you needed a little extra light to see what you were eating. Walmart provided a candle after the first night, which was more than adequate.

There were two disappointing aspects to our stay, but as they were optional, I have not factored them in when awarding five stars. The Smokehouse shop was ridiculously expensive and our one meal at the on site restaurant was not very good.

You do have access to a linked site, just over the road that has apparently several good dining establishments. They also have their own lazy river and other facilities. We did not visit the site on this occasion, so can only take into account the comments of other guests who had.

Will certainly go back next time we are in San Antonio.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Also Known As:
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch Hotel
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt Wild Oak Hotel
Wild Oak Ranch Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt
Address: 9700 West Military Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.