We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort of home, stellar amenities” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch to your Saves list
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9700 West Military Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251 (Far West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Springfield, Missouri
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Comfort of home, stellar amenities”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with a full kitchen. My kids loved the amenities: the indoor and outdoor pools, and especially the lazy river. The hammocks along the lazy river allowed me to relax and read a book while still keeping an eye on the kids periodically. We roasted smores over a bonfire one night too.
The rooms are so modern and beautifully decorated. It is near Sea World and did visit but would have had just as much fun staying at the resort that day.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    109
    28
    13
    15
See reviews for
292
66
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
waco, texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I title this review "Mixed Feelings" because we had a bit of a bad experience with our room but the amenities on the property were top notch. First I will get the bad out of the way. We booked a king room with a pull out sofa. The sofa bed was the most uncomfortable thing ever. I don't know how a human being could get any sleep on it. I managed to get a few hours each night with the help of some medication. The noise level was unacceptable. There was some sort of teenage girl sleepover in the next room and they had a stereo blaring and were loud until we called the desk. The set up of the resort is several freestanding blocks of rooms so the front desk was not just a hop away. I assume they sent someone in a golf cart to quiet the guests down, but they started up again shortly after. Our room was a connecting room to them and it was just too loud. I would ask for a non-connecting room next time I go, and we will return, we will just book a two bedroom instead of relying upon the sofa bed for sleeping. And we will DEFINITELY request a NON-connecting room.
Now, the amenities of the hotel were lovely. The pools were heated and there were lots of things for the children to do. The nature walk was a huge plus, you really feel as if you are in the middle of nowhere. We dined at JB's which was tasty and the staff were all so friendly. The only improvement I think this resort needs is a few tennis courts, other than that, it was great.

Room Tip: Request a non-connecting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Many people book condos or time/share to get kitchen facilities or enough room to spread out. But these facilities do not come with the hotel/resort facilities. But the Hyatt Wild Oaks allows guests to use the Hyatt Hill Country Resort and that makes this an excellent choice for families looking for a resort experience but with enough room to spread out.

The rooms are luxurious. We had a 2-br "standalone" unit (which has 1 king and 2 twins) and the master bedroom and bath were great! Nice large bathtub (may be whirlpool but we didn't try it), separate shower, double sinks. Large kitchen with everything (including mixers, etc and specialty items on request). Portico amenities like in the other Hyatts. Living room with dining table that fit 10. Even high chairs on request.

As far as vacation clubs go -- the facility was a cut above the Hilton club and other time share places we'd been in the past.

There was a media room that we used that fit our party of 20 around a large screen TV. Indoor pool which was great in the winter. And 2 water slides and a lazy river. That was a big HIT with the kids. They even had a recreation director for kid programs and smores at the fire pit.

The lobby was pleasant with the spectre of the time-share reps hovering over. But they didn't try to give us the "hard-sell". Everyone was so friendly and the service was GREAT!! They really took care of us.

And when we wanted a spa experience or wanted a huge lobby, we drove to the Hill Country Resort and used the facilities there (we were there over Christmas, but understand there is a shuttle bus in the summer/busy season).

One thing to note: No daily housekeeping (as is the custom for condo type rentals). But they came every day to exchange towels and take out the trash. And they came mid-way through our 5 night stay to do a cleaning.

Room Tip: If you want room with 2 doubles -- book early and call the front desk to make a request. Otherwise y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed three nights at this resort after Christmas. We were very impressed with the level of service at the resort. We originally booked two nights but after spending time here we wanted to stay an extra night. The front desk was very accommodating and we were able to book an extra night at the same rate. We stayed in a studio which is a nice size for a family of three. Our friends booked a one bedroom, which I preferred over the studio. I liked that it had a separate living room, dining room, and full kitchen. Next time we'll book a one bedroom. I only gave the resort four stars because of the bed linens and blankets. The linens have been used and washed too many times. They don't have the crisp look of nice hotel linens. The blankets are thin and also worn. On a cold evening it would've been nice to have a thicker more plush blanket. It's a shame because the rooms are very nice, but the bed linens do not do the room justice.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed 2 nights beginning on Thanksgiving night. We had 6 adults and 4 children in one of the 2 bedroom apartments. Great room. Very comfortable. The facilities for kids are great. We loved the water slides, the heated pool and even the lazy river (too cold for this grandpa but the grandkids loved it). One of the best features was the fire pit we reserved the last night for roasting hot dogs and making s'mores. What a great memory. I enjoyed the fact that it is more low key than the Hill Country Resort across the street. Guests do have access to the amenities of that resort if they care to use them, however. Overall, a great place for a family gathering.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We spent a week in November at the Wild Oak Ranch. Great place to stay, the apartments are first class and we enjoyed the facilities on site. Great heated pool and lazy river, very well laid out and well run with regard to a plentiful supply of towels, good showers and two good slides. The lazy river has cabanas and a hot tub.

There is a fire pit,outdoor cinema, a gym and a well equipped children's club. We particularly liked the barbecues located alongside our accommodation. Just a call to reception, ensured that thy were lit and ready for you to cook your dinner on. Tables were provided, but at this time of year you needed a little extra light to see what you were eating. Walmart provided a candle after the first night, which was more than adequate.

There were two disappointing aspects to our stay, but as they were optional, I have not factored them in when awarding five stars. The Smokehouse shop was ridiculously expensive and our one meal at the on site restaurant was not very good.

You do have access to a linked site, just over the road that has apparently several good dining establishments. They also have their own lazy river and other facilities. We did not visit the site on this occasion, so can only take into account the comments of other guests who had.

Will certainly go back next time we are in San Antonio.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch is a great place to stay! The condos are very nice. There are a lot of activities for the family such as an indoor/ outdoor pool, water slides, water volleyball, volleyball, lazy river, and playscape. If you want a romantic trip, this would also be your place to stay. The outdoor hot tub is hidden away from all of the family activities. Antler's Lodge has an elegant dining atmosphere. There are trails to walk and smores under the moonlight.

The resort service is wonderful. Two of our guest were arriving late. When they went to check in, they weren't on the list to be given a key. After the manager looked into it (5 minute wait), our guests were given a key. Two bottles of wine were placed in our room from the resort to appologize for the inconvenience.

I highly recommend this place for both family or a romantic get away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Address: 9700 West Military Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#19 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt Wild Oak Hotel
Wild Oak Ranch Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.