We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch to your Saves list
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9700 West Military Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251 (Far West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 352 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed 2 nights beginning on Thanksgiving night. We had 6 adults and 4 children in one of the 2 bedroom apartments. Great room. Very comfortable. The facilities for kids are great. We loved the water slides, the heated pool and even the lazy river (too cold for this grandpa but the grandkids loved it). One of the best features was the fire pit we reserved the last night for roasting hot dogs and making s'mores. What a great memory. I enjoyed the fact that it is more low key than the Hill Country Resort across the street. Guests do have access to the amenities of that resort if they care to use them, however. Overall, a great place for a family gathering.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    125
    30
    14
    17
See reviews for
330
79
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orpington England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We spent a week in November at the Wild Oak Ranch. Great place to stay, the apartments are first class and we enjoyed the facilities on site. Great heated pool and lazy river, very well laid out and well run with regard to a plentiful supply of towels, good showers and two good slides. The lazy river has cabanas and a hot tub.

There is a fire pit,outdoor cinema, a gym and a well equipped children's club. We particularly liked the barbecues located alongside our accommodation. Just a call to reception, ensured that thy were lit and ready for you to cook your dinner on. Tables were provided, but at this time of year you needed a little extra light to see what you were eating. Walmart provided a candle after the first night, which was more than adequate.

There were two disappointing aspects to our stay, but as they were optional, I have not factored them in when awarding five stars. The Smokehouse shop was ridiculously expensive and our one meal at the on site restaurant was not very good.

You do have access to a linked site, just over the road that has apparently several good dining establishments. They also have their own lazy river and other facilities. We did not visit the site on this occasion, so can only take into account the comments of other guests who had.

Will certainly go back next time we are in San Antonio.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch is a great place to stay! The condos are very nice. There are a lot of activities for the family such as an indoor/ outdoor pool, water slides, water volleyball, volleyball, lazy river, and playscape. If you want a romantic trip, this would also be your place to stay. The outdoor hot tub is hidden away from all of the family activities. Antler's Lodge has an elegant dining atmosphere. There are trails to walk and smores under the moonlight.

The resort service is wonderful. Two of our guest were arriving late. When they went to check in, they weren't on the list to be given a key. After the manager looked into it (5 minute wait), our guests were given a key. Two bottles of wine were placed in our room from the resort to appologize for the inconvenience.

I highly recommend this place for both family or a romantic get away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol TN
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Were there first week of November. In our 20+ years of timesharing, this was one of the nicest resorts we have been. Lucky that temperatures were in the low 80's which made our stay pleasant. Also this time of the year meant it was very uncrowded. The 2 bedroom unit was large and well decorated. 3 HD flatscreen tv's. The grounds were impeccable. We even saw them buffing the sidewalks. Nice rec facilties - pool, lazy river, gym. Hammocks and private sitting areas placed thruout. Staff was friendly and accomodating. Had a daily trash and towel service and a midweek cleaning. Checkin and checkout only took minutes. It's about 8 miles from downtown but everything is easily accessible via interstates. Plenty of shopping and restaurants very closeby. Can't say enough of how much we enjoyed our week here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this resort for 4 nights. The resort is beautifully landscaped and clean. The staff is very nice and helpful. The studios are large and have comfortable beds, furniture and patio area. The lazy river was awesome- we enjoyed floating around for hours. The indoor and outdoor pools are large and nice although they are very shallow and really more conducive for kids. They have activities going on regularly for families and we enjoyed roasting s'mores over the fire pit. The resort is about 20 minutes outside of the downtown area. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone visiting San Antonio.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My family and I stayed here in the two bedroom condo for one night while visiting Six Flags Fiesta Texas for a quick getaway with a little fun mixed in. As this was our second time staying, the first time being just my wife and I, I already knew what to expect. We had a wonderful time staying here again and we will be returning probably every time we come to San Antonio. It is perfectly located about five minutes from Sea World, twenty minutes from Six Flags, and just far enough away from the city to feel like you're getting away from it all. Next time the family and I will be doing a bit more on the resort grounds, as there is a lot to do onsite as well, such as swimming or enjoying the outdoors. We can't wait for our next trip out there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We are just leaving here today and will definitely return. Loved the Texan feel and of course there will be country music you are in Texas! As the previous review said the music was nauseating then they should of brought their own and put in ear plugs, we loved it! After the pool we would go and sit on the porch by the reception area or in the rockers on the porch of the general store and the music there was a little bit of everything from country to blues to classic rock.

We loved the layout too! There are little nooks off of the lazy river to lounge and make it a little private.there are fire pits spread throughout the complex, not just one big one. People are so friendly and polite, it was amazing. I liked the fact that the pool and jacuzzis are open until 11pm unlike our home resort at Coconut plantation in Bonita Springs FL.

Room Tip: We originally had a ground floor room but changed to a third floor. Otherwise we would of been star...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#1 of 352 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 902 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
Far West Side
Courtyard San Antonio SeaWorld/Westover Hills
Omni San Antonio Hotel
#11 of 352 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 stars 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Address: 9700 West Military Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Venere and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt Wild Oak Hotel
Wild Oak Ranch Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.