We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Nicest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9700 West Military Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251 (Far West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 347 hotels in San Antonio
Bristol TN
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“One of the Nicest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Were there first week of November. In our 20+ years of timesharing, this was one of the nicest resorts we have been. Lucky that temperatures were in the low 80's which made our stay pleasant. Also this time of the year meant it was very uncrowded. The 2 bedroom unit was large and well decorated. 3 HD flatscreen tv's. The grounds were impeccable. We even saw them buffing the sidewalks. Nice rec facilties - pool, lazy river, gym. Hammocks and private sitting areas placed thruout. Staff was friendly and accomodating. Had a daily trash and towel service and a midweek cleaning. Checkin and checkout only took minutes. It's about 8 miles from downtown but everything is easily accessible via interstates. Plenty of shopping and restaurants very closeby. Can't say enough of how much we enjoyed our week here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    249
    92
    23
    12
    14
See reviews for
251
59
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this resort for 4 nights. The resort is beautifully landscaped and clean. The staff is very nice and helpful. The studios are large and have comfortable beds, furniture and patio area. The lazy river was awesome- we enjoyed floating around for hours. The indoor and outdoor pools are large and nice although they are very shallow and really more conducive for kids. They have activities going on regularly for families and we enjoyed roasting s'mores over the fire pit. The resort is about 20 minutes outside of the downtown area. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone visiting San Antonio.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My family and I stayed here in the two bedroom condo for one night while visiting Six Flags Fiesta Texas for a quick getaway with a little fun mixed in. As this was our second time staying, the first time being just my wife and I, I already knew what to expect. We had a wonderful time staying here again and we will be returning probably every time we come to San Antonio. It is perfectly located about five minutes from Sea World, twenty minutes from Six Flags, and just far enough away from the city to feel like you're getting away from it all. Next time the family and I will be doing a bit more on the resort grounds, as there is a lot to do onsite as well, such as swimming or enjoying the outdoors. We can't wait for our next trip out there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We are just leaving here today and will definitely return. Loved the Texan feel and of course there will be country music you are in Texas! As the previous review said the music was nauseating then they should of brought their own and put in ear plugs, we loved it! After the pool we would go and sit on the porch by the reception area or in the rockers on the porch of the general store and the music there was a little bit of everything from country to blues to classic rock.

We loved the layout too! There are little nooks off of the lazy river to lounge and make it a little private.there are fire pits spread throughout the complex, not just one big one. People are so friendly and polite, it was amazing. I liked the fact that the pool and jacuzzis are open until 11pm unlike our home resort at Coconut plantation in Bonita Springs FL.

Room Tip: We originally had a ground floor room but changed to a third floor. Otherwise we would of been star...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here because we had a free week and couldn't get into our highly coveted Key West property. I don't mind experiencing new places at all and this place was fine. It has nice amenities like the golf course, pools and lazy river. Jb's cafe at the pool area was also nice to have there. It is a very quiet place to relax with the exception of the construction of large condo buildings next door. There were a few young families around but most guests were of retirement age.

The only real "bad" thing was the music at the pool area was rather loud and all they played was country. After awhile you can tune it out but it was rather nausiating. I would have expected at least a little cross over once in a while.

Our condo was nice for a studio. drawbacks were the bed. It was rather soft. The room was also a little dark. There was a nice terrace however.

We had to escape the dryness of the landscape and drove to Corpus Christi for the day. Padre Island is just such a nice place to visit. But that should be another review...

Room Tip: The Studio size was ok but I think a one bedroom, which adds a kitchen would have been more to my li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minooka, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

this by far was the best family vacation ever,the one bedroom suite was soooo nice,the bathrooms were unreal, it was the cleanest place we have ever been too, the staff is every where for you and the pools and water slides were the best,so much too do ,you do not need to leave, the store on property was just what we needed and the food was great at the bar area. we did not want to leave.my children cried when we did. We would stay here every time. I wish they had this resort in illinois ,we would go for just get aways. Thank you so much staff and pool staff and grounds and house keeping you made our vacation.

Room Tip: any where or room at this resort would be a great stay for you or family
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Enjoyed this property when it was Brand new and recently. They have keep it up 5 star quality. Enjoyed the lazy days and lazy river. Beautiful venue for a resort property. Everyone I encountered from the staff was wonderful.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Also Known As:
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch Hotel
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt Wild Oak Hotel
Wild Oak Ranch Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt
Address: 9700 West Military Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.