We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort with all of the amenities you need” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Save Saved
You added Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9700 West Military Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251 (Far West Side)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort with all of the amenities you need”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this resort for 4 nights. The resort is beautifully landscaped and clean. The staff is very nice and helpful. The studios are large and have comfortable beds, furniture and patio area. The lazy river was awesome- we enjoyed floating around for hours. The indoor and outdoor pools are large and nice although they are very shallow and really more conducive for kids. They have activities going on regularly for families and we enjoyed roasting s'mores over the fire pit. The resort is about 20 minutes outside of the downtown area. I would definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone visiting San Antonio.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    107
    27
    13
    15
See reviews for
283
63
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Louisiana, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My family and I stayed here in the two bedroom condo for one night while visiting Six Flags Fiesta Texas for a quick getaway with a little fun mixed in. As this was our second time staying, the first time being just my wife and I, I already knew what to expect. We had a wonderful time staying here again and we will be returning probably every time we come to San Antonio. It is perfectly located about five minutes from Sea World, twenty minutes from Six Flags, and just far enough away from the city to feel like you're getting away from it all. Next time the family and I will be doing a bit more on the resort grounds, as there is a lot to do onsite as well, such as swimming or enjoying the outdoors. We can't wait for our next trip out there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We are just leaving here today and will definitely return. Loved the Texan feel and of course there will be country music you are in Texas! As the previous review said the music was nauseating then they should of brought their own and put in ear plugs, we loved it! After the pool we would go and sit on the porch by the reception area or in the rockers on the porch of the general store and the music there was a little bit of everything from country to blues to classic rock.

We loved the layout too! There are little nooks off of the lazy river to lounge and make it a little private.there are fire pits spread throughout the complex, not just one big one. People are so friendly and polite, it was amazing. I liked the fact that the pool and jacuzzis are open until 11pm unlike our home resort at Coconut plantation in Bonita Springs FL.

Room Tip: We originally had a ground floor room but changed to a third floor. Otherwise we would of been star...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bemidji, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here because we had a free week and couldn't get into our highly coveted Key West property. I don't mind experiencing new places at all and this place was fine. It has nice amenities like the golf course, pools and lazy river. Jb's cafe at the pool area was also nice to have there. It is a very quiet place to relax with the exception of the construction of large condo buildings next door. There were a few young families around but most guests were of retirement age.

The only real "bad" thing was the music at the pool area was rather loud and all they played was country. After awhile you can tune it out but it was rather nausiating. I would have expected at least a little cross over once in a while.

Our condo was nice for a studio. drawbacks were the bed. It was rather soft. The room was also a little dark. There was a nice terrace however.

We had to escape the dryness of the landscape and drove to Corpus Christi for the day. Padre Island is just such a nice place to visit. But that should be another review...

Room Tip: The Studio size was ok but I think a one bedroom, which adds a kitchen would have been more to my li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minooka, Illinois, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

this by far was the best family vacation ever,the one bedroom suite was soooo nice,the bathrooms were unreal, it was the cleanest place we have ever been too, the staff is every where for you and the pools and water slides were the best,so much too do ,you do not need to leave, the store on property was just what we needed and the food was great at the bar area. we did not want to leave.my children cried when we did. We would stay here every time. I wish they had this resort in illinois ,we would go for just get aways. Thank you so much staff and pool staff and grounds and house keeping you made our vacation.

Room Tip: any where or room at this resort would be a great stay for you or family
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Woodlands, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Enjoyed this property when it was Brand new and recently. They have keep it up 5 star quality. Enjoyed the lazy days and lazy river. Beautiful venue for a resort property. Everyone I encountered from the staff was wonderful.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Caveat: This property is a vacation ownership and we own one week in the summer. We rarely use it on the week that we own, but instead go back for repeated short stays.

Our most recent stay was in early August with our family and a sister's family all staying in a 2 bedroom unit. These units have plenty of space to spread kids around, a full kitchen for meals and snacks. It doesn't have daily room service, but we utilized housekeeping to get extra towels, sheets, pillows. Response is prompt and courteous.

Check-in and Check-out is pretty smooth, the hours aren't usually as favorable as a hotel, but they are pretty accomidating when you ask for an early room or more time to check out.

We spend most our days on the property in the 2 pool areas that are available - either the lazy river or the upper pool which has 2 slides and more kid's activities. Service is usually OK, but expect the premium prices for food and drinks. It would be nice to have more serving staff available, but it hasn't ever been crowded so the few staff are able to get around pretty good. They've always been courteous and helpful.

We've done the movie nights on the lawn, which have recently been popular so get there early for the good seats - and the popcorn is free.

My family have also used the sister Hyatt property as a free shuttle is provided (Hyatt Hill Country) which has another pool with lazy river, more lunch/dinner options, a bar, and the golf clubhouse.

The golf course was beautiful in early August, and although it was a hot afternoon, shade was abundant the beer cart made several passes. The only downside is that the golf shop could not charge our room, but every other place on either Hyatt property could.

The rooms, we've stayed in mostly just the 2 bedrooms which are nicely appointed with tile, granite, stainless steel appliances. The flat screen TV's are starting to show there age as is some of the carpet, but not a big deal for a big family that mostly want to be relaxed and not worry out messing up some expensive fixtures, etc.

I like the relaxing location the resort provides - kinda out of the downtown area. Most of the views are of Oak trees and hills - and SeaWorld roller coasters. We've taken advantage of nearby restaurants, gocery stores, and in the past we've gone to SeaWorld since it is literally across the highway - to convenient to pass up - only wish there was a shuttle.

Room Tip: I've not yet seen a bad room. 2nd and 3rd floor rooms are most accesible via stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch

Address: 9700 West Military Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#23 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo and Orbitz so you can book your Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt Wild Oak Hotel
Wild Oak Ranch Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.