We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting and over priced” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - San Antonio / Lackland AFB

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn - San Antonio / Lackland AFB to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn - San Antonio / Lackland AFB
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - San Antonio / Lackland AFB
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2435 Pinn Road, San Antonio, TX 78227   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #239 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
TX
1 review
“Disgusting and over priced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

I made the mistake of making my reservation through Priceline.com. I have always gotten quality hotels with priceline.com and this time... they missed the mark. First upon arriving I see a sign that says $35 and up (we paid $50 a night per room through priceline.com). The neighborhood made us fear for our items in our car so we hauled EVERYTHING up to our room. The room is smaller then a cell. Its maybe 6X6. It barely fit the bed. The beds had tears in the bedspreads, mold growing on the night stand, the fridge and microwave were something out of the 70's. Then our towels had holes and small stains on them. We are fighting right now with Priceline.com and ABVI to be refunded part of our money. We well overpaid for what we got. Its disgusting. You are better off anywhere but here. Dont let the pictures on the website fool you. You do NOT get what you pay for here! Also be leary of ANY America's Best Value Inn - They give this place 4 checks... their highest rating. If this is a 4 check hotel... imagine what a 1 or 2 check hotel is ::shudder::

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mankepore, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn - San Antonio / Lackland AFB, responded to this review, December 18, 2009
Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay at our hotel in San Antonio. I appreciate you taking the time to advise us of your dissatisfaction. There is never an excuse for providing a valued guest, such as you, with anything less than a perfect experience.
First off, you got two rooms with one queen-sized bed, which is what your reservation was for. A room for $35 is room with a twin-sized bed, no microwave and refrigerator, only available from Sunday to Wednesday, and is only for one person and for walk-in basis. The walk-in rate and on our other websites the rate was $65 plus tax, since priceline is a wholesale buyer, they charged you $50 plus tax and their service fees. You stayed two nights and not once did you complain to the staff about anything. Why now?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    4
    1
    7
See reviews for
3
4
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dp, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2009

We got to the motel, and our room was SO SMALL, there was barely enough room to move around the queen size bed. There was no where to hang clothes, or put suitcase....it was SOOO SMALL. When we asked to move, we were put into a larger room, but dirty. My daughter had requested 2 beds, and they didn't have any...they didn't have any cots...they offered the sofabed in the room. When we cancelled the rest of our stay, they charged an exorbitant fee. We didn't cancel, we couldn't stay in a dirty teeny place.

  • Stayed February 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mankepore, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn - San Antonio / Lackland AFB, responded to this review, July 15, 2009
Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your visit to our hotel. There is never an excuse for providing a valued guest, such as your self, with anything less than a perfect experience. We credit our success in the lodging industry to providing good service and quality accommodations at affordable prices. We appreciate your willingness to take the time to let us know where improvement is needed so that we may continue to maintain our high standards. When you arrived and noted your dissatisfaction, and we immediately took steps to correct the issue; unfortunately all of our other rooms were occupied. We hope that you give us the opportunity in the future to show you the hospitality that you deserve.


Sincerely,
K. Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2007

My son graduated from basic training and I was so excited to go but upon arrival, we checked in at the desk & got our keys. We drove around the building and grabbed some of our bags to go to the door and the door looked as if it had been kicked in previously. We reluctantly unlocked the door and went in and took the short few steps it took to walk through the room, turned around and got our money back. The room smelled awful, the floor was dirty, my husband pulled the covers back on 1 bed and they were far from clean. This place appeared to be an hourly motel for people who only need to use the room for illegal activities. We did not feel safe or comfortable.
DON"T DO IT!!!!

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - San Antonio / Lackland AFB, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We thank you for the time you spent to share your hotel experience with us. Our guest's privacy is very important for us as well and while we do not put our noses on every single guest's private activities within our rooms, we take precaution. Should you feel that there are illegal activities going on or any cause of uneasiness, please report them directly to the hotel staff and we will take necessary action. We can ask for proper assistance if called for. Please know also, that our guests have a choice should they want to leave earlier than their scheduled check out. We wish to leave our guests feeling comfortable and secure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2006

My wife and I stayed here while visiting our son who graduated BMT at Lackland AFB this past week of 6/17 thru 6/22. We found the motel room clean and not bad at all whatsoever. The motel staff was very extremely helpful and quite accommodating to our needs and questions. Our room was cleaned every day and the service was more then adequate. I read the review online of one customer seeing MICE running around the room and I personally find this absurd and quite unbelievable. The building is cinder block construction and I have yet to see any rodents being able to chew holes through CEMENT! There was not even any cockroaches or bugs in our room and I honestly cannot believe anyone would stoop so low and say such negative things. People want a motel room for pennies on the dollar and yet they expect the Sheraton Hilton for a room.

For the money we paid and the location being close to the AFB, we could not ask for a better deal. If our two daughters ever join the Air Force and they graduate from Lackland we would stay there again in a heartbeat. I highly recommend to ANY parents, who are planning a visit to Lackland to see their Airman graduate BMT to stay at Best Value Inn. For the price and just a inexpensive place to stay, you will not be disappointed because we sure weren't. If you want high class room with all the bells and whistles then spend the big bucks and stay at the Hilton. If you are just plain ol' common folks like us, then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay P, Guest Relations Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - San Antonio / Lackland AFB, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
We appreciate that you left a fair and realistic comment regarding our hotel. We do cater to people on a budget while providing more than basic accommodation needs. We also take pride in our friendly and warm staff. We make efforts to keep the hotel clean and free any form of infestation. We invest to have these done by professionals. We would not want to ruin our guests' most precious sleep and rest. We would hope one day you will stay with us again perhaps on a more leisurely purpose.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, tx
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2005

We had reservation at Best value inn 2435 Pinn Roda San Antonio, TX last week through ORBITZ.
When we got there in the rooms, those rooms were so small I have never seen so small rooms in any hotel/Motel.
We had reservation for non-smking rooms but both the rooms were smoking and stinky it was hard to breath there.
When we got in beds, we realized bed sheets and comforters are not only smelling bad but also dirty as well.
At night, we saw severl mice running around.
I believe, this Best Value Inn is the worst and most Dirty Motel in the whole United States!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mankepore, Owner at Americas Best Value Inn - San Antonio / Lackland AFB, responded to this review, July 3, 2011
Please allow me this opportunity to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your visit to our hotel. We appreciate your willingness to take the time to let us know where improvement is needed so that we may continue to maintain our high standards. Your reservation was for 2 rooms with 1 queen bed in each room. When you arrived you registered 2 adults per room. In the morning, you had 8 children running around the parking lot. We asked that you must get another room in the children's best interest, but you used profanity and argued and left. Of course 2 rooms with 1 queen bed is going to be too small for 14 people. When you left you also trashed both rooms and the parking lot by throwing milk, cereal, and other garbage.
Also we have never had any type of pest problem because we have a reputed pest control service.
This reviewer is misleading and taking advantage of this website because we did not allow him to stay with 14 people in a room designed for 2 people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - San Antonio / Lackland AFB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - San Antonio / Lackland AFB

Address: 2435 Pinn Road, San Antonio, TX 78227
Location: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #239 of 350 hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - San Antonio / Lackland AFB 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Americas Best Value Inn of San Antonio, TX. We are located near the heart of Lackland Air Force Base just outside their main gate. Our property has 28 beautifully furnished guestroom featuring cable TV with HBO, iron, free local calls, free calls within the US, Canada and Puerto Rico, microwave, mini-fridge, hairdryer and more. Complimentary continental breakfast is served fresh every morning to help start your day off right. Additionally, our Inn is located less than 10 minutes from San Antonio's beautiful downtown, the Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center, Riverwalk, the Alamo, and Sea World. San Antonio International Airport and Six Flags Fiesta Texas is a short 15 minutes away. Come relax and enjoy the value at the Best Value Inn near Lackland AFB. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - San Antonio / Lackland AFB reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lackland Afb Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - San Antonio / Lackland AFB, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.