We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place and its a 24hr open joy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mi Tierra Cafe & Bakery

Mi Tierra Cafe & Bakery
218 Produce Row, San Antonio, TX 78207-4554 (Downtown)
210-225-1291
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 4,093 restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, Mediterranean, Mexican, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Downtown
Nuevo Laredo, Mexico
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place and its a 24hr open joy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I know that one or manye say, if you are from MExico, why go to a mexican restaurant when your are in a trip, well its to keep in touch with home, and this place makes sure one feels that home cooked meal, it even has it own bakery :), my entire family was happy with the choice of eating there. Its opened 24hrs so that a plus for those that want something late at night. Its gets packed really fast during breakfeast hours so be ready, the bar area well it just hits 12 and people comes charging in for some of their margaritas and the bakery well the line never stopped, get to some of traditional like empanadas. I will go back again and next time I will enjoy the bar area.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,671 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    743
    539
    246
    88
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Aahhh, Mi Tierra. You just have to go.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Aahhh, Mi Tierra. Over the top colors and lights, a continual parade of locals and tourists, mariachis singing in the background and good texmex comfort food. Brings back warm memories of many previous visits with family over the years.

Today it was enchiladas verdes con pollo, an excellent choice! Great flavor! Guacamole a bit thin but fresh, typical rice and beans.

Also Tacos de Mercado with Chicken fajitas, came wrapped in foil rather than on a comal, so not quite as flavorful. Borracho beans were excellent.

Yes, its touristy, yes, its often crowded, but if you have never been or have visited a 100 times, you just have to go.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Tourist Trap but GREAT BAKERY”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

It's an interesting restaurant to visit just for the décor. I've never been impressed by their Mexican food. Very average. But, their bakery is fabulous and you don't need to eat at the restaurant to visit their bakery!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The food and drinks were excellent, complete with fast and attentive service. The margaritas tasted very fresh, which I like! The ambience here is great- very colorful and fun! Only two minor complaints: parking was very hard to find, so be prepared to get a little creative if you cant find a space directly in front AND consider enjoying the mariachi band from afar. They asked for more money after we generously tipped them... Other than that, no complaints!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Do not know what the hype is about this place.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We decided to attend this restaurant because of all the good reviews and because it was situated near our hotel. We have been coming to Texas for a number of years and have had the opportunity to eat at many Mexican, Tex Mex Restaurants during this time and we were excited to try another location.

We were in the San Antonio Market Square and decided it would be good to eat early and have a relaxing night watching NFL. We signed up and received the buzzer and were told that it would be about 1/2 hour and that the buzzer would take about 5 minutes to reset.. We went into the bar and ordered a couple of bud lights and the buzzer started. Thankfully our waitress went to check it out and our table was ready (3 minutes?).

The decor of the restaurant was dreadfully tacky compared to other Mexican restaurants we have dined at. We ordered the fajitas for two with a combination of chicken and beef. The flavour was good and we enjoyed it but at a cost of $32.00 compared to better plates in the RGV for 22.00, It was not a great deal.

If you have previous experiences at other good restaurants, pass this location up and buy a burger on the Riverwalk. It would be cheaper and more satisfying.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mi Tierra Cafe & Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Mi Tierra Cafe & Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mi Tierra Cafe & Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.