We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some of the Best Mexican food in SA” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Barrios Mexican Restaurant

Los Barrios Mexican Restaurant
4223 Blanco Rd, San Antonio, TX 78212-1107
210-732-6017
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #79 of 3,892 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Some of the Best Mexican food in SA”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We are local and we love this place. The family is present most of the time and the wait staff has been with the Barrios family for years. One of our favs for dinner or lunch.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    43
    14
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Waht happended to this place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place used to be good. We had dinner on Saturday night this past weekend. The chicken fajitas for two barely had one 1/2 chicken breast that tasted sour. The margaritas (house0 were watery and not frozen. The service was terrible and several folks in our party had to keep asking where there food was.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great tex-mex food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

this was the first time we tried this restaurant. We've tired of the market and the riverwalk places and wanted to try something new. We were a little skeptical when we drove up but once we entered the restaurant we were at ease. The food was excellent and the service was great. The food was out long before we got hungry. i will go again!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Trip Advisor did not let me down!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

We looked on Trip Adviser, as we always do, when looking for a good Mexican restaurant while in San Antonio. Overall, the meal was wonderful! The service waitress was very friendly, had good chips and salsa and the enchiladas were really wonderful!!
Overall, this was a good choice at reasonable prices. We will be back again!







  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Aurora, Illinois
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“The food is phenomenal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is not to miss. We went there because Bobby Flay had done a Puffy Taco throwdown on the Food Network with the owner. Large restaurant with a HUGE menu. Very generous portions and the food was excellent. I don't eat spicy food and our waiter was very helpful with the menu (I had the Carne Asada and it was delicious) and he also brought me a dip for the chips because I thoughtg the salsa was too hot (I am a huge wimp). Great value for the amount of food. I would definitely go back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Barrios Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Los Barrios Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Barrios Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.