We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgustingly filthy” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tong's Thai Restaurant

Tong's Thai Restaurant
1146 Austin Hwy, San Antonio, TX 78209
(210) 829-7345
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #299 of 3,892 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Texas
1 review
“Disgustingly filthy”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

A waitress licked a spoon then threw it in the sink then picked it up again to stir bubble tea that she was serving me. Needless to say, I did not take it. I walked out and will NEVER return there again. I'm calling the health department.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    12
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Thai food and sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Plus, they have boba tea. All the food is delicious. I've tried soups, sushi, dishes with meat and dishes with tofu. The only thing I've noticed is sometimes they're not as quick even if they aren't busy. Food is worth it though.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best Thai food in San Antonio!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Eat here! The atmosphere is perfect, not too casual but not too fancy either. We went back twice in one weekend and tried something different. We were happy with everything! :)

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“MMMMMM good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This was my second visit to Tong's and I loved it! A bit of an odd location, but the inside and patio are lovely.

Try the crispy spring rolls - to die for! We were eating light, but also had a shrimp and pecan dish that was out of this world. Topped the munchies off with Bubble Teas (I tried the cantaloupe and he did the mango - rocked!). I am hooked on those drinks now. Can't wait to go back and try the sushi. The lady at the table next to us kept ooooing and aaaahing over hers and the sushi bar is lovely.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of my favorite Asain places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

I love the Pad Thai! Oh, and the bubble tea is amazing. I have to eat dairy-free, so I thought I would never be able to get bubble tea, but they made me some without milk! Yay! The waiter was really nice and very attentive (patient, too, with our indecisiveness). May seem a bit pricey, but the portions are big and you can easily get two meals out of one trip.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tong's Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Tong's Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tong's Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.