We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even while extremely busy, the pizza was great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Big Lou's Pizza

Big Lou's Pizza
2048 S WW White Rd, San Antonio, TX 78222
(210) 337-0707
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #80 of 4,093 restaurants in San Antonio
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Even while extremely busy, the pizza was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had a group of nine people and Big Lou's was extremely busy the night we went. We chose not to order the table top pizza and instead ordered two 20 inchers. The restaurant was packed! The line was long but moved very quickly. There seemed to be a lot of big groups that night. The owner came by to thank us for our patience even though we didn't feel that we had to wait that long. Apparently other people were complaining. Maybe we were just enjoying each other's company and it didn't bother us but the wait didn't seem out of line considering how many people were there that night. I would think that when you saw the full parking lot and the lines that you would understand that there would be a long wait for your food; especially if you ordered a table topper pizza. Our pizza was fantastic, the pitchers of drinks kept coming and our waitress was quick to help us out with to go boxes and such. I would (and will) definitely go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    81
    80
    24
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Yummy pizza but the BEST part was the price!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We ordered the 20" pizza (which seemed MUCH bigger than that. There were 3 of us and almost half the pizza was left over! :) The pizzas are super thin, which is how I like it! All 3 of us got pizza and drinks for $20 total. Also, the happy hour was 3-7pm with $1 pint Ziegen drafts (other options too). YOU COULD order a 40" pizza too, just saying!

Pros: Cost, taste, accommodates large groups, can wait at bar while table is getting ready, free refills on soda
Con: Can be a long wait (very popular)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The pizza is phenominal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We were recommended by the desk clerk at our hotel. She never hesitated when we asked where to get good pizza. So glad we took her up on the suggestion! The wait time was not bad at all (lunch). We had the 16" for 2 ppl and had left overs. Wished we lived closer to have it again!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great place for large groups!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

LOVED IT! Their pizza is awesome! Thin crust, good sauce and lots of cheese! Plan on waiting a while, they can get really packed!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
“Wow! What a fun, yummy place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A fantastic place for big parties. The atmosphere was lively but over bearing. There was 9 of us and we and we spent about $16 a head: drinks, sandwiches, and their 42" pizza... there was so much food left over. We could have just order the 42" and that would have been enough.
One member of our party ordered the White Pizza, it was one of the best White Pizza's I ever had. Big Lou's is fun and pretty good food... it's not NY pizza but it was good, was it's own style.
We for sure recommend this place, especially if you have a big party.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Lou's Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Big Lou's Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Lou's Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.