We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would only go there for the beers!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Saucer

Flying Saucer
11255 Huebner Rd, San Antonio, TX 78230-1684 (Northwest Side)
(210) 696-5080
Improve this listing
Ranked #418 of 4,137 Restaurants in San Antonio
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Northwest Side
London
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“I would only go there for the beers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Beers choice is great, staff very attentionate, but food is no more than OK. That';s the kind of place which if you love beer you will adore and if you don't then maybe try something else!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    21
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great beers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great little place with a really good selection of beers from around the world. The food was ok, although a bit limited for my tastes, but that said was what you would expect to eat in a bar. If you're not into beer this place isn't worth a visit, but if you are then its perfect!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Mostly A Beer Joint, But Try The Soup!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Met a business client there for an afternoon meeting. His choice, not mine. It was sort of loud and more of a college hang out. The "Beer Goddesses" (that's what they have written on their chests) come by often enough, but since we were working and not drinking, refills of tea were sparse. The cheese soup in a bread bowl was quite good. I was pleasantly surprised. I had eaten here a couple of years ago and wasn't all that impressed. This visit was much better and they had wi-fi. If I were to describe the interior it would be a relaxed Benigan's. An upscale picnic joint. I wouldn't recommend it for working lunches, though. Go there and get rowdy. Go there and drink beer with your friends and gossip about the latest brouhaha at work. Younger guys will especially like the atmosphere and the server's scooped tees with writing that encourages them to look at their chests.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SAN ANTONIO, TX
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Volumes of Beer Choices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Visited the Flying Saucer with friends for a holiday get-together. The server seemed a little slow on the uptake, but was friendly. The crowd was lively as usual and the selection of brew is outstanding. We enjoyed the burgers - I would suggest splitting a burger between two.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville, Texas
Top Contributor
618 reviews 618 reviews
412 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
“Great for beers, poor for food and service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Went here to watch a football game with my wife and adult sons. It is famous for having an amazing variety of beers on draft - and it did. Dozens of beers of numerous nationalities and types with detailed descriptions on the well-organized menu. Where it fell very short was in the quality of the seating, food, and service.

There are basically just wooden benches and the bar at which to sit (except of one or two bar couches) and the service was inattentive. What was VERY surprising was that they offered virtually no wines (my wife doesn't drink beer.) The night we were there, they only had one house red and one white - nothing else! Equally disappointing was the poor quality of the food. We tried the cheese fires, chicken wings, bratwurst sandwich, and a burger. All of us thought the food was average at best.

If the place is "the only game in town" for serving a wide variety of beers, and that is your primary focus - then you'll probably like it. However, if you are in a town with a Yard House or similar place - you'd be much better off going there.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Saucer also viewed

 

Been to Flying Saucer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Saucer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.