We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dining Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen

Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen
76 North East Loop 410, San Antonio, TX 78216-5801
(210)340-7143
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 4,197 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Came out to eat with a friend and was initially hesitant because I don't eat at restaurants located off of a freeway ramp. This place was TOP NOTCH, The service was A PLUS - Food was pricey for what it was but the quality was there. I even tried Fried Alligator. ;-)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    192
    97
    23
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Our Favorite Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We love this restaurant ! We even plan part of our stay close so we can just walk from the hotel to eat here! We drive 3 hours at least once a month to spend the weekend and eat here! Always great food and service!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Excellent service, generous portions, and delicious food. The halibut was fantastic as well as the steaks. Offered a free dessert for my husband as we were celebrating his graduation from Air Force basic training that weekend and offered a sizable discount on his meal. The prices are a tad high, but the large portions and delicious flavor made it worth it!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Overcrowded, overpriced and poor timing of food coming out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We went with a party of four on a Friday evening. I don't believe they take reservations, we didn't have any, but walked in and were told a wait time of about 30 minutes. Once seated, we waited about 10 minutes before our server came to the table. Drink orders were taken, and then wait again for drinks to arrive. Wait again for bread and butter. Finally the salads came out, and before I was even 1/2 way through it, the entrees were arriving. Timing was poor and the table is so small it is hard to accommodate all the plates, plus bread plates and salad bowls. I had the cedar planked salmon, others in our party had the Mississippi catfish opelousas and the shrimp and scallop orecchiette pasta. All the entrees were excellent. Don't bother with the house salad. The caesar looked better. The house Greek dressing is served on the side in a small cruet but was completely separated and would not mix back together, so I ended up with oil only all over my house salad. No flavor at all. We were never offered additional drinks and our water glasses were not refilled. We did not order apps or dessert. Don't know if I would go again. Maybe on a less crowded night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A wonderful new experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We chose this restaurant because it was in front of our hotel and we did not want to take the car out into traffic again. What a great idea that became.
We did not have to wait although the restaurant was very busy. Our server was a delight and brought our beverages very quickly and then took our order. As we were waiting for our appetizers we dug into the wonderful fresh baguette and butter.
Our appetizers were delicious and so were our entrees. They specialize in seafood and you can tell. I had two scallops in my entree and I gave my husband one and he crooned!! We had been on the eat coast of Canada and in a place that has the world's best scallops and these were every bit as good.
We were really pleased with everything and will recommend it to anyone going to San Antonio.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pappadeaux Seafood Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.