We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, modern, reasonable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acenar Modern Texmex

Acenar Modern Texmex
146 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)
(210) 222-2362
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Acenar Modern Texmex is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #112 of 3,892 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: St. Mary's
Transit: Yes
Description: Acenar...A culinary explosion of flavors created by restaurateur Lisa Wong ...an expression of Latino Passion and Pizzazz! This blend of authentic Mexican recipes and culinary artistic flair has created unique tastes that will ignite your senses... Savor our crab tacos, duck tinga, cabrito, four versions of tantalizing enchiladas, seafood fideo, or three-mole ossobuco. Then cool down the spice with a little ice and sip on a mescal elixir, melon mojito or Acenar's signature hand-shaken margarita. Enjoy these taste sensations in the most unique space on the River Walk - whether you choose to dine on the scenic patio or the below the linticular mural offering up a slice of Latino life... Acenar will serve up an unforgettable sensory experience. Located on Houston Street along the eastern bank of the San Antonio River Walk next to the Hotel Valencia. Acenar... Hot Mex - Cool Bar. Ignite your senses!
jackson ms
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Nice, modern, reasonable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We enjoyed an early dinner here, as it was close to the Embassy Suites where we were staying. My husband and I shared an appetizer plate with chicken flautas, guacamole, and beef skewers for about $15. The chips/salsa were not my favorite, very different texture to the salsa, but they were free, so who's to complain. Our appetizer was good and generous. The guacamole in particular. It's right by the River Walk and we had no wait on a weeknight at about 6 p.m. Service was fine, atmosphere very nice.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    341
    307
    116
    44
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great for large groups!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

The folks at Acenar were able to accommodate 100 of us with dinner and drinks. They were able to feed us in time for our river cruise. Great chips and salsa. Awesome margaritas. Another great place to eat on the RiverWalk!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solon, Ohio, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ripoff!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Menu is OVERWHELMING. Way too many choices and the servers push the most expensive dishes. The server said choose Especialides de la casa if you want a chef prepared meal. So, all the other food was prepared by whom? Weird.

I was talked into the “Cabrito en Chile Ancho / Baby Goat 25.50”. HUGE disappointment the flavor was good but it was a huge ripoff. The plate is piled on one side with cartilage and bone and very little meat. I would guess I had 2-3oz total. For 25.50 they should be ashamed. I informed the server and he just stared at me as if I spoke in a different language. On the other hand, the non-chef prepared Enchiladas Verdes were good. The enchiladas had a nice crunch and the verde was above average. Their award winning Margarita was disappointing and too sweet with little tequila in it.

Also, the place is getting old. The outdoor seating felt a bit dirty and the chairs were cracking and the tables rocked because they were uneven.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great food, atmosphere and service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had drinks here two nights in a row and dinner on the second night (by recommendation). The drinks are great. Mike, one of the bartenders, is very friendly and makes some of the best cocktails I've ever had. Our dinners were absolutely fantastic. My husband had the goat and I had the Acenar steak with Mexican risotto. My steak could compete with the best of them and was cooked to absolute perfection. My husband's meal was incredible. Being from Jamaica...he knows his goat...and this was an interesting twist that turned out to be a huge success. We will be back here the next time we are in San Antonio!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch or dinner.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Excellent food. Went there twice. Fish Tacos (the real thing, not like what you may be served up North) and Citrus Salad both delicious! Nice modern feel.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acenar Modern Texmex also viewed

 

Been to Acenar Modern Texmex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acenar Modern Texmex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.