We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Vibes for TexMex” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acenar Modern Texmex

Acenar Modern Texmex
146 E Houston St, San Antonio, TX 78205 (Downtown)
(210) 222-2362
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Acenar Modern Texmex is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #112 of 4,136 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: St. Mary's
Transit: Yes
Description: Acenar...A culinary explosion of flavors created by restaurateur Lisa Wong ...an expression of Latino Passion and Pizzazz! This blend of authentic Mexican recipes and culinary artistic flair has created unique tastes that will ignite your senses... Savor our crab tacos, duck tinga, cabrito, four versions of tantalizing enchiladas, seafood fideo, or three-mole ossobuco. Then cool down the spice with a little ice and sip on a mescal elixir, melon mojito or Acenar's signature hand-shaken margarita. Enjoy these taste sensations in the most unique space on the River Walk - whether you choose to dine on the scenic patio or the below the linticular mural offering up a slice of Latino life... Acenar will serve up an unforgettable sensory experience. Located on Houston Street along the eastern bank of the San Antonio River Walk next to the Hotel Valencia. Acenar... Hot Mex - Cool Bar. Ignite your senses!
Batavia, Illinois
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good Vibes for TexMex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

This restaurant is on the riverwalk with an extensive outdoor overhang that makes it scenic and fun to dine. If you sit inside, you are treated to a very modern, vibrant decor. The tables are colorful and welcoming with brightly colored napkins. Occasionally a group of musicians comes tableside ($10) to serenade with your favorite Mexican songs. The menu is fairly extensive and so there is sure to be something for everyone. Prices are moderate. Enjoy.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    268
    106
    43
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Your taste buds will say "thank you!"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I took a group of 10 to this restaurant, after having increased my reservation from 8. When I called the restaurant to reflect two additional attendees, they greeted my call with humor and enthusiasm. "Of course we'll add two more! No worries."

A nice lively atmosphere. Tableside preparation of guacamole. Great appetizer, entrée and drink choices.

The food was terrific. The service was excellent and I am eager to return at some point in the future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burnie, MD
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD & GREAT LOCATION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This one is not to be missed...The Acenar was recommended to me by several folks. The menu choices were very enticing...The atmosphere is warm and inviting, plus there is an outdoor deck since they are located near the Riverwalk. The salsa w/chips that comes automatically was a surprisingly interesting mix of flavors. I had the small beef fajitas and had to take a doggie bag.
I could not even squeeze in dessert. They do a lot of business, so go early or make a reservation. The waitstaff is very attentive, and even with a full room they manage to take care and not neglect anyone!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Expected More”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stopped at this restaurant on the recommendation of our concierge. The service was fantastic but we weren't wowed by the food. I like to get combination dinners when I go to a Mexican restaurant but this wasn't on their menu. The food was okay, we just expected more.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food, but watch out for the birds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The food was very good and the patio was very nice. It is elevated and overlooks the river walk on a less busy part so you don't have a lot of people walking right by your table. If you dine on the patio, beware of the birds flying around trying to get the food scraps from tables that were just vacated.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acenar Modern Texmex also viewed

 

Been to Acenar Modern Texmex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acenar Modern Texmex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.