We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rudy's Barbecue

Rudy's Barbecue
24152 W Ih 10, San Antonio, TX 78257-1156 (Northwest Side)
210-698-2141
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 4,141 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: Northwest Side
Boscawen, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Casual. Order at the counter: choose the meat, side & dessert (only peach cobbler). The cream corn is very very good. We enjoyed the ribs turkey & brisket. A good place to go for good BQ

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    131
    39
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Best "Fast Food" BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

For the price and convenience, I have yet to eat better BBQ. Outside of driving to Luling, Rudy's is the best place to grab some authentic Texas BBQ. I have also noted they have good consistency between locations, assuring me a tasty meal whenever & wherever I stop by.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bring Enough for Everyone!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Rudy's catered our unit picnic today. Set up/service was good to handle the crowd. The food I got to eat was OK (turkey breast was dry...). 30 minutes into the feeding, they ran out of beef brisket (we are in Texas...), and an hour in, they're out of food. With their reputation, I thought that they would've come better prepared to handle 1000+ people. I want some BRISKET, darn it. I might give Rudy's restaurant a shot for dinner, but don't know if I'd have them cater for me. I'm giving them an average rating for good quality, but poor quantity. I hope everyone got to eat...

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
329 reviews 329 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great 'Cue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The moist brisket stars here. Slaw and corn are also good. Fast food that was smoked for hours. At a gas station. You will go again and again.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Unionville, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Mixed Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Good BBQ. The best part was the creamed corn. It was the best I've ever had! The peach cobbler, however, was very disappointing. The peaches were definitely canned, not fresh. The seats are uncomfortable metal chairs. Next time, I'll take the food to go.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy's Barbecue also viewed

 

Been to Rudy's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rudy's Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.